Journal logo

15 Truths They Don’t Tell You About Entrepreneurship (and then some)

Only the strong survive!

By Lyrical Value Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Not for the weak-minded

1. Don't float along with every “shiny” opportunity that comes your way.

2. Many people come into this industry for the wrong reasons (girls/guys, cars, basically lots of DUMB SHIT). Get out of the game now if you have this mindset.

3. As a businessman/woman you need to be one of the most humblest people on the planet because you’re at the service of others.

4. It’s a lonely ass road out here, and you just have to be okay with that.

5. Document, don't always try to “create” or be the “first” at something.

6. Don't force everyone to think like you because it’s not going to happen, that’s just the way this journey goes.

7. Make sure you remember/give back to those who cheered you on along the way.

8. TAKE YOUR TIME! It’s a MARATHON, not a sprint.

9. You’re going to be broke/not see great results your first couple of years especially if you’re truly starting from the bottom.

10. Trust the process COMPLETELY!

11. Don’t stretch yourself out too much with the tasks of your business(es)! Know your limits because we all have them.

12. So you have this bright idea that’ll “change the world” right? EXECUTE!

13. Don't be afraid to work a 9-5 in the beginning because you need funding for your dreams.

14. You can’t do business with just anybody because everyone CANNOT be trusted with your vision.

15. Don’t become Mr./Ms. Politician on social media while you have a business/brand reputation. Separate the two.

I wanna be raw with you guys for a moment..

Everything will be worth it in the end. This is something that I’ve been telling myself for the last two years. Now I’m not impatient with this process by any means but sometimes it’s difficult to get out of that “worker bee” mindset that we’ve been so conditioned to think like.

It’s made me say shit like, “If I didn’t own a business, I’d have so much money right now.” You know what that is...complaining. And let me tell you, I’m usually not the one to complain because I’ve been through a lot of crazy shit in my life and the LAST thing I did was complain.

I guess lately in my life from when I transitioned out of the military November 2018, then stayed in the foreign country that I was stationed at for the active duty term I did to run a business that’s in the baby stages and dealt with the fact that I only had ONE source of income to supplement all my business/living expenses...yeah this adult shit is difficult when you’re in my space.

I say all of that to say this...MOST PEOPLE DON’T GIVE A FUCK!

A mentor of mine told me years ago that “people don’t care about what you know, but they just want to know that you care.” And this basically means that the market doesn’t really care about your woes, they want to see the end result.

You can’t fault the market for wanting what they want, which means you have to tap into that intrinsic human instinct—adaptation.

Adapt without compromising is the best way to sum up your journey through entrepreneurship. Once you’ve nailed this concept, this lifestyle will go pretty smoothly I believe.

With all this being said, don’t take it personally when no one wants to care about the trials you experience on this journey because I’m willing to bet that a certain amount of people will listen.

And this is why I’m doing things differently. I want you all to directly be a part of my come-up process.

Stay tuned for next week’s story of “How To Stay Motivated In Adversity”

advice
1

About the Creator

Lyrical Value

Your writing aficionado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.