Interview logo

Women In Business Spotlight: Tiffany Smith-Boasman

Visionary Entrepreneurs

By Tammy ReesePublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

Happy Holidays everyone! As we continue to support Black Women Business Owners, we would like to introduce you to Tiffany Smith-Boasman who is the owner of Styld Accordingly, LLC. Her services consist of event planning, decor and rentals, party designs and favors, and custom designs.

Tiffany genuinely has a passion for event planning and being creative. She wants to make her clients and customers happy with her designs for them. Tiffany's goal is to bring a little bit of her personality into all that she does so she can shine some light in everyone's lives.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Please tell us about your company and how it came about.

Tiffany: My company name is Styld Accordingly, LLC. It came about because of the push of my husband. I fell in love with event planning when I was pregnant with my son who will be ten years old soon. I have been doing event planning and design since 2012. In 2020, I lost my job like everyone else and I decided to start my own company because I enjoyed being creative. My husband pushed me by buying me my first Cricut machine. I bought my LLC and started to make custom designs and a year later I decided to make party designs and favors. Now fast forward to October 2022, I quit my management position to run my company full-time with no backup plan.

What inspired you to become a business owner and pursue a career in the event planning industry?

Tiffany: When I was pregnant with my son, I didn't take it seriously then because I was always told that event planning is not a real career. But as more time passed, I planned more events and loved them even more. I decided that it can be my career.

I got my certificate in event planning and event decor. I decided it was time for me to be a business owner because I wanted to do something for myself but I also wanted to show my children, that no matter what, you can do and be anything you wish. Everyone will have comments about you but it is up to you to choose to ignore them and do what makes you happy.

What has been some feedback from some of the clients that you service?

Tiffany: Some feedback I have received from clients was that I have attention to detail, I work well and quickly, and the quality of my work is really good. I loved getting feedback, good and bad because it helps me grow as a person and a business owner and to make sure I give the best quality, no matter what.

We would love to hear about some of your latest event projects. What can you share with us?

Tiffany: As of right now, I do not have any event projects for clients on the books. I am currently planning my own wedding though and that's been crazy lol but I am trying to plan a women's (preferably a minority-owned only) pop-up shop and networking event for next summer.

Have there been any challenges in your career? If so, what kind and how did you overcome those moments?

Tiffany: There have been many challenges. For starters, I could have started the event planning career and been further in my career. But I let others control my thoughts on what was best for me at the time. But now, I am not doing that and now the only challenges I am facing (at this current time) are myself and putting myself out there to gain clients and do what I truly love to do.

What are some of the most memorable moments in your career so far?

Tiffany: One memorable moment I had so far is helping decorate a wedding of 300 guests in a matter of a few short hours. We were able to pull it off and it turned out beautiful. The bride and groom were happy.

What are you looking forward to in the new year?

Tiffany: I am looking forward to growing my business. Putting myself in the room, gaining clients, and being booked and busy all year long.

What else would you like our readers to know about you?

Tiffany: I would like them to know I am a hard worker and will get the job done. I am doing this for my family. I have a wonderful husband who supports me in every way. Two beautiful children who are my world and it is because of them that I work so hard. Them seeing myself and my husband work hard for our companies show them that they can do and be anything they want to be. The two of them want to start their own companies and they are nine and seven years old.

But also would like them to know that no matter the roadblocks that were put in front of you, you can get over it and be the very best person you can be. According to my childhood and the past (mistakes and all), I shouldn't be where I am. But look at me, I am married 10 years, with two children, multiple businesses between my husband and I, and looking to grow and venture into more fields and start our children's businesses.

Give it to God first and then go for it.

What is a piece of advice you would give to an aspiring business owner?

Tiffany: The best piece of advice I can give is, if you have a passion for it, go for it. Do not let anyone stop you, including yourself. Even if your field is oversaturated. GO FOR IT. There is no YOU in your desired field. It is never to let start either.

How can we keep in touch via social media?

Tiffany: Mainly Instagram. My business page is @StyldAccordingly and my personal page is @tif.mcgrif

But I do have a Facebook as well and its @StyldAccordinglyLLC and my TikTok is @StyldAccordinglyLLC

I am doing a giveaway once I hit 1,000 followers on IG! So be on the lookout for that. I am almost there.

Creators
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.