Interview logo

WHY QUIT BEING A FINANCIAL ADVISOR, AND WHAT I STARTED DOING INSTEAD I

WHY I QUIT BEING A FINANCIAL ADVISOR

By Global InfomistPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
https://globalinfomist.com/why-quit-being-a-financial-advisor-and-what-i-started-doing-instead-i/

In this article, I will share my personal story about why quit being a financial advisor and what I started doing instead. My story will inspire you to think critically about whether or not becoming a financial advisor is the right career for you.

Before becoming a financial advisor, I worked as a software engineer. And while the pay was good, it wasn't what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I knew I had the skills and temperament for financial advising, so I decided to try it.

But after just a few months of being a financial advisor, I realized it wasn't the right career.

Here's why:

1. Its hours-long workdays. Financial advisors typically work around 50 hours per week - which is long for someone who wants a balanced life outside work.

2. It takes a lot of work to make money as a financial advisor. The average income for financial advisors is only $60,000 per year - which is needed to support a comfortable lifestyle.

3. Its stressful work. Financial advisors are constantly under pressure from their clients to make more money and invest. therefore why quit being a financial advisor

Why I Became a Financial Advisor

I started my financial advisor career in 2007. At the time, the markets were booming, and I was making a ton of money. I thought I had it all figured out... and I did for a while.

But then things changed. The economy went south, and my clients started losing money. I should have seen it coming in hindsight, but I didn't.

I was too busy chasing commissions and prestige to pay attention to what was happening around me. And as a result, my clients lost a lot of money.

So in 2015, I decided to why quit being a financial advisor and start doing something else. And that's how I became a personal finance blogger. It's been working out so far!

Now, if you're reading this, I assume you're looking for advice on becoming financially independent. And that's exactly why I wrote this blog: to help people achieve their financial goals.

So if you're ready to start making real progress in your financial life, I invite you to check out my website and subscribe to my newsletter. I'll send you tips and tricks weekly to help you get on the right track.

My Experience as a Financial Advisor

I'm a financial advisor, and I quit. It was challenging, but it was the right thing to do.

In my previous career as a financial advisor, I helped people save for their future. But I want to do something else now.

I want to help people live their best lives right now. That's why I've switched to assisting people in investing their money in ways that will give them the most return possible.

And that's where my new career as an investment advisor comes in handy. I can help you find the investments that will give you the biggest return on your money. And I can do it without putting your life at risk.

So if you're looking for someone to help you grow your money safely and responsibly, give me a call. I'd be happy to discuss what I can do for you.

The Things I Didn’t Like About Being a Financial Advisor

A few things could have worked better for me as a financial advisor. The main one was that it wasn't my thing. I was good at math and numbers but needed a passion for investing or money advice. This meant that I couldn't put my heart into it, and as a result, my clients didn't either.

Another area for improvement was that the hours required to be successful as a financial advisor were long. You need to be available 24/7, which can be tough when you have other commitments. And finally, many fees associated with being a financial advisor are high - particularly if you need to make more money yourself.

So overall, I was not too fond of most aspects of being a financial advisor - from the hours required to work to the high fees. After two years of this kind of work, I decided to switch gears entirely and start doing something that I cared about.

PodcastDocumentaryCreatorsAuthors
Like

About the Creator

Global Infomist

We Provide Information About

Business Ideas

Business Plans

Business Models

Business Branding

Business Fundraising

Real Estate

Finance

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.