Interview logo

Talking With D. Elliot Woods about Audiobook Thriller “Rise of the Unicorn”

Interview with actor and author D. Elliot Woods about writing his new high-stakes tale, voicing the audiobook, and what inspires him creatively.

By FierceScribePublished 4 months ago 7 min read
Like
Actor and Author D. Elliot Woods

This edition of Talking With focuses on actor and author D. Elliot Woods, who wrote and narrates the suspense-thriller “Rise of the Unicorn.”

The five-hour audiobook turns an intense Los Angeles bank heist into something unexpected when Lt. Gus Martin, a worn but empathetic police negotiator, is forced to go toe-to-toe with the terrorist group, The Unicorn. Time is running out and bodies are adding up for Gus and Police Commissioner Evelyn Kennedy, who eventually realize the negotiator's past is at the center of the issue -- which is not a heist at all.

D. Elliot not only wrote the book, but he also voices over 50 characters throughout the intense tale. He brought in seasoned actress Nicole J. Butler to voice the first female Police Commissioner of the LAPD, Evelyn Kennedy.

Audiences will also recognize D. Elliot from his appearances as human and alien in the “Star Trek” universe. His credits also include “S.W.A.T.,” “NCIS: LA,” “Ballers,” “Hot In Cleveland,” “Friends,” and “Drake & Josh.” Under his production company, Fly Free Entertainment, he wrote, produced and directed the 2020 domestic violence psychological thriller short film, “Life And Lemons.”

To learn more, we are Talking With D. Elliot Woods:

Why did you want to write this story?

D. ELLIOT WOODS: ‘Entertainment’ can help people temporarily forget tough times OR can shine a light that can affect folks in positive or constructive ways. When this story first came to me, I realized it needed to come through me to reach the audience that most needs it. I can’t tell you the number of people who ‘magically’ appeared or intentionally stepped into my life along the way to help or encourage me to get past ‘life stuff.’ But I’ve always wanted to repay the wisdom and energy others poured into me by fully using my talents and skills like a prism to tell stories from my heart as opposed to playing a part or singular role in stories that come from someone else. “Rise of the Unicorn” is my first real step in that direction.

Did you start with the theme or the concept?

DEW: The theme or central issue has always been there but it’s not an easy one to put forward in an interesting or compelling way. So, one day while sitting my bank’s lobby, I realized that a bank robbery was exactly the metaphor and structure the theme needed to build a good story on – and once my mind gets going on something, I start seeing things and reverse engineering stuff – such as, ‘Is there a plausible way that this bank could be robbed given its location, surroundings and architectural design? And, if not, what needs to be added or taken away, so it will make sense?’ Once the right mental structure and imagery is there for me, the characters kind of just show up to tell me their stories and if I can literally feel what they’re saying emotionally, it goes into the soup. By the way… I’m really not crazy.

Do you have a favorite moment in the story? And, was it also your favorite to voice?

DEW: Aw man… tough question but yeah. When Gus Martin (the lead protagonist) realizes that HE is the actual target of the terrorists/failed bank robbers and what they really want and why… while the whole world watches via TV news reporting and social media? When that one came to me, I knew I had something that would grab an audience’s attention and make them forget they were listening to a book. My favorite to voice was a scene between the main antagonist and another character who is close to death.

What do you hope readers or listeners take away from this story?

DEW: That we, as a society, MUST try harder and do better when it comes to providing protection for our most vulnerable. Otherwise, much of the ugliness in our world will only continue and worsen. In my wildest dreams, I hope that this story starts a conversation that will ultimately lead to changes in some of our existing laws because there is a gap between what certain laws say folks can and cannot do and what’s actually happening. There are lots of innocent but invisible people in that gap who are being sacrificed and irreparably damaged.

You narrated the audiobook yourself. What was that like?

DEW: I do narration for commercials and have played roles in books, podcasts and corporate training content, so I thought I knew what I was getting myself into. I had no clue. To say ‘I was overwhelmed initially’ is the understatement of the next thousand years. Fifty-five characters plus being the story’s narrator? It was all ‘fun and games’ until I actually stepped into the booth. I flailed and stumbled through initially until I remembered my ‘why’ – my motivation for doing this project and those who needed to hear it done well and done ‘right.’ Between that and doing scene work opposite Nicole J. Butler, who absolutely SLAYS the role of newly hired LAPD Commissioner Evelyn “Lynn” Kennedy, is a monster on the mic and a VO consummate professional, I had to make the decision to be the best version of myself or this train wasn’t going to run.

As an actor, did you approach it the same way as you do an on-camera project?

DEW: I approached it the same but this level of intensity was something I’d never encountered before. As an on-camera actor, I have to bring my character’s history, fears and feelings into the scene before I speak the words or else the audience, rightfully, will not believe what my character does and says. But for this project, I needed to do that same amount of work for FIFTY-FIVE characters who speak with one another during incredibly difficult circumstances and/or involving very high stakes. Some characters have voices different from my own – which brings a separate set of challenges - but ALL of the characters have different histories, motivations and spirits that needed to be conveyed. Had I fallen short on any of those, then the audience would be distracted, at best, or think I ‘suck’ – which means a really good story and message is never heard. So… this project was far more difficult but the reward is also so much greater because I think we pulled it off.

Any plans to write another book or is it more like one-and-done?

DEW: Oh, y’all ain’t getting rid of me! I’m about 3/4ths of the way through an inter-dimensional love story I hope folks will enjoy and although I didn’t set out to do this, the response for Augustus ‘Gus’ Martin’s character in “Rise of the Unicorn” has been so tremendous, I’m plotting out a sequel and, I’m leaving the door open to turn him into a ‘franchise.’ That said, as an audience member myself, I will always do my best to keep the quality level equal or greater than what was presented before.

So, which is harder: acting or writing?

DEW: Yeesh… I’d have to say Acting because it involves collaboration with other people – Actors or department heads of behind-the-camera disciplines - who may or may not be operating from the same frequency I’m on. Writing is a solitary get-down where you, the page and the characters battle it out or sing beautiful arias but it’s still one person being the big decision decider. Now if you’d asked me about the ‘editing’ of my writing, then I’d say that, for me, is harder than acting OR writing.

What inspires you the most creatively?

DEW: I honestly enjoy seeing people be affected, be it via the laughter and messaging that can come through comedy or the emotional and intellectual impact that comes with truthful or truth-filled drama. Going back to something I said earlier, there’ve been a lot of people who saw things in me that I didn’t yet see in myself. I want to thank them by making them ‘right’, so they’ll know how grateful and appreciative I am for their support and encouragement.

Finally, is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

DEW: Next stop for “Rise of the Unicorn” is the big screen. Once the strikes are settled and meetings between factions can resume… we’re gonna tell the same story in a different medium… but the audiobook is, clearly, the blueprint. So there’s that. Also, I love my four kids to pieces and like I always tell them, don’t wait on someone else to “allow” you to live your dreams. Get busy now – even if it’s only for 15 minutes a day because that’s all you can squeeze in between life stuff, work and sleep. Yes. You. CAN! Stay grounded but fly free.

Connect with D. Elliot Woods at FlyFreeEnt.com Instagram: @DElliotWoods X: @DElliotWoods FB: /elliot.woods.7

“Rise of the Unicorn” audiobook is available on Amazon, Audible and iTunes; also book and eBook format on major digital platforms.

Thought LeadersCreatorsCelebritiesAuthorsActors
Like

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.