Interview logo

"Sweet Hart" Interview with Author Rae Marks

Rae Mark talks combining an action adventure with a heart stopping romance

By Ted RyanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

It was an absolute pleasure to get the chance to host Rae Marks for an interview about her latest gay romance novel - a Mr and Mr Smith set up with a slow-burner romance and the suspense of danger looming over these characters' heads.

What inspired you to write this novel?

Writers are strange creatures. We have all these characters inside our heads, trying to get out. When it comes to this series, it was Mase —Bray’s older brother — who inspired me to write this story.

I love writing dialogue and I think part of that is because it’s what comes to me first. Little snippets of conversations play in my head and I scramble to write them down before they get lost or toned down by my memory.

All three brothers have unresolved issues with their father and it was Mase’s conversations with his father that evolved first. And yet his story will be third.

What is your writing process like?

This is my first series, so I fleshed out their world before I started writing the first book. I have sketches of their building, Timelines of the history of the family. A lot of research was done before I even had the basic outline of Sweet Hart.

How do you approach writing your characters and bringing their relationships to life?

Bray and Sam are the main characters in this novel, but they’re not the only important characters. What makes us human is where we come from and the ties we have to others. I know where my characters come from, why they do what they do, and where they’re trying to go. I also know that’s not necessarily where they need to be. I feel for them, I understand them even if they might do something I disagree with. I hope the reader feels the same.

What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

I wish I had some lovely story for you, but the truth is, I’ve known for a long time that words can cause pain. I’ve always been shy and there were occasions where I was teased. I knew then that words had power.

What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Revision, revision, revision. It’s a very necessary step and the story is better for each revision. But when I write ‘the end,’ the next story is already calling to be written. It’s hard to go back even though I like the characters. New characters are pushing to the front of the line wanting their stories told.

What do you hope readers take from this story?

I’m a romance writer, so I hope first and foremost, they understand that everyone deserves love. When it comes to Sweet Hart specifically, I hope readers will see that when someone loves you, they see you, they make allowances for the pain from your past and they show you that your past makes no difference in their love for you. That’s the core of Sweet Hart.

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Keep writing. Share your stories. Don’t keep trying to make them perfect because nothing is ever perfect. Not everyone will like what you write, but that’s okay. The point is to do what you love and share what you love just in case you inspire someone else.

What’s your favourite under-appreciated novel?

That is so hard. I’m going to stick with romance because that’s what this is about. I grew up reading Vicki Lewis Thompson’s Nerd series, Nerd in Shining Armor, Talk Nerdy to me. I loved that series and I totally fan-girled when I got to meet her in person at a romance writers conference. If you enjoy hot M/F romance, check them out.

What would your advice be to any aspiring writers?

The same advice I give myself; keep writing, keep reading, read books on writing craft, take constructive criticism with grace, truly examine your writing after getting feedback, and learn what works for you. But in the end, it’s your story, tell it your way.

What are you writing next?

Book two of Hart Consulting Series, Nick’s story, is written and with the editor. There will be revisions, but I’m in the middle of Mase’s story, book three. Mase has a heart that’s strong and true and beats for one man alone. It’s been a rough road for Mase. He deserves a happy ending and so does the man he loves.

Blurb

When Brayden stumbles into a covert operation, Sam has to keep him alive. Together they navigate their unexpected attraction and the world of the Ukrainian mafia.

Brayden Hart needs to find his older brother Mason and time is running out. Mason disappeared after being discharged from the military two years before. While on leave from the army, Bray follows a lead his friend has been able to find. When he knocks on the door of a dingy apartment outside Miami, the last person he expects to meet is the gorgeous but grumpy Sam Wheeler.

Sam denies knowing Bray's brother and turns him away. But Sam is Bray's only lead. Luckily, Bray's childhood friend is one of the best hackers in the country and helps Bray follow Sam to Ukraine.

In Kiev, Bray falls blindly into the fray of a covert operation and Sam steps in to keep him alive. While navigating the choppy waters of the Ukrainian mafia, Bray and Sam fall into the bedroom. But what happens when the mission ends?

Details

  • Title: Sweet Hart
  • Author: Rae Marks
  • Publisher: Pride Publishing
  • Cover Artist: Erin Dameron-Hill
  • Genre/s:. Contemporary M/M Romance (Action/Adventure)
  • Trope/s: Fake boyfriend
  • Themes: Finding belonging, Moving on from the past
  • Heat Rating: 4 flames
  • Length: 79 900 words/ approx. 300 pages
  • This is the first book in The Hart Consulting Series, but can stand alone.

Add it on your Goodreads!

This book is available to purchase here:

Amazon US | Amazon UK | First for Romance | Barnes & Noble

About the Author

Rae has been secretly penning romances since high school. It started with short stories that grew into full-length novels. When she received her first Kindle and had thousands of books at her fingertips, she became a little distracted from writing. Then one day she read a book that she would have written a different way. She began writing again and hasn't stopped since.

When she's not writing, Rae can usually be found reading, walking along the beaches of Half Moon Bay, or taking her geriatric dog to the vet, yet again.

Author Links

Website and Newsletter | Facebook Group

Twitter | Instagram

Authors
Like

About the Creator

Ted Ryan

When I’m not reviewing or analysing pop culture, I’m writing stories of my own.

Reviewer/Screenwriter socials: Twitter.

Author socials: You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Goodreads as T.J. Ryan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.