Interview logo

My Interview With Jason Ray Morton

Mariann Carroll’s Father’s Day Vocal Blog Interview #3

By Mariann CarrollPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 6 min read
14
Jason Ray Morton ‘s Having Fun Photo

Jason Ray Morton join Vocal in June 2018. He has over 660 stories on Vocal. He was a runner-up in Time Capsules Haiku Poem Challenge. He received over 15 Top Stories recognition on Vocal.

Jason is a retired uniform officer, now he works remotely from home. He is a proud father and a grandfather.

Here are encouraging words from Jason Ray Morton to his fellow creators:

“ Ultimately, like many, I'd like to publish a book to say that I pulled off that accomplishment. But, even with the rougher patches, I hope whatever goals people have in writing, they keep going.”

Mariann : My question, can I interview you for my vocal interview blog?

Jason (Illinois): Sure

Mariann: Really, this is awesome. What days are best for you ?

Jason : Evening hours during the week m-thur Sundays I’m usually pretty open. Fri and Saturday are a little hit and miss.

Mariann: I will just send you three question at a time and you can answer them on your free time, ok? First question, Where are you from?

Jason: Galesburg, Illinois for the most part but I was born in New Hampshire.

Mariann: What do you like to write ( literary genres)about?

Jason: Whatever strikes my interest, or pops into my head that sounds interesting. When it comes to fiction, I enjoy darker subjects, the supernatural, and non-contemporary history. Right now I'm mid way into a piece about the lithium rush out west, and what three companies appear at the forefront of the California lithium boom.

I have tried to have a little fun in all the genres be it poetry, fiction, current events, sciences, true crime, or whatever the case may be. I don't have a niche like some writers because I haven't let myself become limited, even though there's an argument I should.

Mariann: How long does it take you to write your story?

Jason: It honestly depends on the story. I'm in the middle of one that's been growing for eight months. I decided to go full manuscript with it before I release any more of it, or self publish. With the micro-fiction challenge, I've done a couple of those in five minutes. If I was to guess, my average would be around 3 to 5 hours from the time I can sit down with my idea to the point I am ready to read it and edit it, unless I write it in Grammarly, and then it's a little longer.

Mariann: What does your writing space look, like?

Jason: I've got everything I need. Two screens for multi tasking, a laptop for work related tasks, some note pads, and I'm surrounded by me. My (funko ) *****???pops are off to the side and my favorite Halloween masks hang just out of camera view in case of meetings.

Mariann: What does your real life schedule and how do you fit your writing in it?

Jason: I have the most inconsistent schedule. When it comes to writing, there are days I can't, and there are days that I have to make it work, scheduling wise that is. I try to write in the mornings for a while, or do some reading and making notes for ideas. Then, at night, I write from 8 to midnight some days. Every other Saturday I have grandson over for the night so the kids can have a night of freedom, and on those days I turn it all off unless I get a great idea and then it's after he goes to bed.

My basic work hours are from seven to three, but like yesterday, I was out from 4:30 to 3:00. Some days, I might start at 7 and not get done til 10 p.m. if I'm in the field, then on others I'm at a desk hoping for an assignment.

I work from home as my companies offices are in Georgia.

Fun fact: Jason also a writer on Medium

Mariann: If you were a book, What title would you give yourself? Why?

Jason: "Product of a Misspent Youth", Because I had such a misspent youth I beat some odds and lived a far more colorful life than even I want to believe. Coming from a small community and not "escaping it," even I can't believe some of the things I've seen and done.

Mariann: What is your main goal in writing?

Fun Fact : Jason have over 15 Top Stories on Vocal

Jason Ray Morton , Top Story Photo

Jason: My main goal, to get better, to continue to grow, and to continue to learn from writing.

Mariann: What was the most outrageous thing you ever seen in your life?

Jason: A 124 pound girl throwing a five hundred pound bed across a room and then spearing me like she was Bill Goldberg as she drove me through security doors.

Mariann: What accomplishments are you most proud of?

Jason: My son is going to get married and is on an Engineering team. He's found someone that loves him and puts up with him. He's not filled with angst like so many his age. Considering I was a single dad, cursed by a unnatural immaturity at 21, and somehow 29 years later I have him as a son, he's my greatest accomplishment.

Jason with his son Photo

so many kids are filled with an internal anger. I can't blame them. Single parent homes are tough to grow up in. The world's ugly and hard.

Fun Fact : Jason loves Fishing, video games (Call of Duty), swimming and working out.

Mariann: Who is your favorite Vocal creators and why?

Jason: Favorite writer on vocal? That's a really tough one. After a couple of years I've seen so many talented story tellers on Vocal that I'd hate to pick just one. I love your stuff, Judey Kalchek, Mikeydred and so many others.

Mariann: What Facebook group you created and why you created the group?

Jason: I put this group together. https://www.facebook.com/groups/257029949601423 At the time I was doing stories to push the great stuff I was seeing on Vocal. They were the magical links stories. Then things got crazy and I slowed down. I wanted to still do something to give back to the folks that supported me here.

Mariann: What was your favorite assignment during your Uniform career? Why?

Jason: I'd say I liked patrol the best. When i was a patrol officer, it was more about helping people than locking them up. Corrections paid the bills, and occasionally I got to make a difference, but on patrol you're going to accidents, disturbances, and getting to talk to people more.

Mariann: What’s your favorite color?

Jason: Lol, black, It’s been that ever since I heard Wesley snipes say always bet on black in passenger 57.

Mariann: What was favorite color before that, lol ?

Jason: Sea blue, like the waters in French Polynesian.

Jason: And a big thanks to everyone that took the time to read things, encourage me when I was down, and that's shown me things I didn't know about writing or life.

Mariann: I have a few more questions, what do you like most about being a parent ? What do you like most being a grandfather?

Jason: Being a parent...being a parent is an adventure. By that, I mean you are out on a limb, responsible for someone else's safety, security, and future. It's the scariest thing in the world, and the most fun thing in the world at the same time. As you raise a child, you get to vicariously live another life through their eyes. While they go out into the world and experience successes, you see the value of your sacrifices, your worry, and your time all paying off. If you've done your job as well as you could, ,with what you had to work with, you'll see at least part of their inner self is better than you. That's what all parents should want, their kids to turn out better as adults.

Jason having fun with his grandson Photo

Being a grandfather is equal parts great for different reasons. One, you have the wisdom of having made mistakes with kids and being a mentor. So you're more comfortable and less worried about if you're doing the right thing or not. Spending time with a grandchild breathes life back into you. Everyone wants to hold onto their youth, or feel young again, and time with a young 5 year old that's still enjoying the world more will make you remember being young. Lastly, being a parent was one of the most fun parts of my life, but now, at this juncture, it's more about fun and teaching and bonding opportunities because I'm not the primary. As a grandparent, you're really there to back up the parents, and you get to enjoy spending time with the young ones more than having to worry about them.

Mariann: Thank you, Jason for this interview. It is a pleasure to get to know you more. Maybe a part two ?

Happy Father’s Day to All the Fathers out there !!!! 🏆📣

Authors
14

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wonderful interview!!! Applause!!! Mariann and Jason take a bow!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Blessed Father's Day to both of you, Mariann & Jason. Great interview.

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    I found this article fascinating and am definitely going to check out some of this work. I would love to learn more about the petite-girl-bed-throwing situation, but ultimately, what a wonderful story! Thanks for sharing!

  • Great Interview😉❤️ You guys are Both Awesome❗

  • I was missing these interviews! So glad you're continuing them. I enjoyed reading this one!

  • Excellent interview from both of you and thank you for the shoutout Jason , most appreciated

  • Jason Ray Morton 11 months ago

    You did great Mariann, and if you decide you want to do a part 2 just let me know.

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    What an awesome interview!! Mariann, you had some awesome questions. I loved reading Jason's answers! Especially the part about his son. This was so touching and well done. Thank you so much for putting this together! ❤️

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    Very nice, Mariann! So great to get to know Jason better!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.