Interview logo

Mike Singleton-MikeyDred, Wizard Behind The Knowledge Of The Music World

Mariann Carroll’s Part 2 Interview

By Mariann CarrollPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 5 min read
10
Mike Singleton- MikeyDred, YouTube Channel page

Mike Singleton-Mikey Dred part 2 interview, this might be a little longer than the first one. He is a loving father of two daughter who are now grownups. He also has a granddaughter whom he loves to read books to.

Mike is also a beloved Creator and Top Creator on Beat and Confession Communities on Vocal. He has his own YouTube Channel, Pinterest account, and He Created most of his images for his stories from his NightCafestudio AI website. He has a couple publications on Amazon.(Compilation of his stories/poetry on Vocal)

Mike Singleton’s publication on Amazo

Mariann: What do you like most about writing?

Mike: It is both palliative and inspirational. If I don’t feel good, writing makes me feel I am actually ok. It is also a way to share my opinion without being shouted down. I love that I can share and explore poetry and fiction.

I find it simplest form of creation. Making music and painting has to be perfect and it is difficult to alter creations, but if you make mistakes in writing, creations are easily adjusted. Maybe this is just my inherent extreme laziness?

Mariann:What’s your main goal in your writing ?

Mike : Really just to be read and reciprocate with others. To make connections and to do new things. I have learned many new poetic and fiction formats. I like to share my creations with others. Vocal and Facebook group have allowed me to share and I still do on a daily basis.

When writing Seven Days In, I hope I would get an idea for a book, but two and half thousand post over fifteen years never resulted in a book, but being on Vocal has resulted in four published anthologies.

Once I thought I could write a book but my focus has change, it’s about sharing and interaction. The book may come but my focus has change, it’s about sharing and interaction. The book may come but Vocal platform allows me to write what I want to when I want.

Mike surrounded by his music treasures

Mariann:What does your writing space look like?

Mike ‘s music room/ writing room

Mike: I will send you some pictures, but a desk with a computer and CD player, then in the room I have an Himalayan Salt Lamp, which I believe helps my creativity, plus a keyboard, acoustic, electric guitars and a mandolin that I like to play thinking about what I want to do next.

Fun Facts: Mike , has about 200 vinyl records , about 4,000 CDs no cassettes or 8 Tracks 🙂

Picture of Mike’s Records and CD’s collections

Mariann:Where do you get your ideas to write about?

Mike: From talking with people, often my muse and other friends. From reading, listening to music, watching TV, and walking, the things I see when I am out .

Richard Osman’s “House of Games” often throw up things that completely unaware of and inspires, there are three stories, I created :

Mariann: How long does it take you to write a story ?

Mike: Anything from thirty minutes to a day. It really depends on the complexity of the story and often I have parts of it that I have figure out how I can fit them together. That happened with the “ Blind Vision

Story where I knew what happened and why it happened but not how I could tie the two together, which took about two days to figure out. I often set myself apparently impossible challenges.

Mariann: If you can change the world what will you change ?

Mike: Eliminate hunger, poverty, exploitation and war. Also stop money from being a god. There is enough to go around for the whole world but most is sitting in an offshore accounts doing nothing.

Marian : What Facebook groups that you are an Administrator in?

Mike: The Vocal Social Society which was the first group where I felt encouraged and loved, and still feel that now as an admin in the group.

Also Dharrsheena’s True Crime, Horror Story and Dark Poetry, but I just keep an eye on things there, where as in VSS, Indo a lot of back office work.

Fun Facts: Mike is a collectors of Vinyl Records

Mike sells records and CD’s online

Mariann : Answer this tomorrow, If you were an album, what title would you give yourself? Goodnight sweet dreams.

Mike: Probably "Here For You" , that would describe the album content , but is what I am for my friends. Two other song titles that came to mind are "Who Knows Where The Time Goes?" and "Tomorrow Never Knows" ♥️

Fan Facts: Mike is a Top Creator in the Beat and Confession community on Vocal

Mariann: Can I asked which part of the interview story you like best ?

Mike: That is a question I can't really answer. Yes I have fave albums, films etc, but see the interview as a whole, and I know others will probably have fave bits that they didn't know about before. That it is all good and thank you for sharing links and pics and videos as I think they enhance the whole thing, but I see it as a complete entity and thank you for it ❤

Mariann: I am enjoy creating your interview. It’s very different from everyone else ❤️

Mike: I tend to be different , which confuses some people 😀, thank you for doing this , I really appreciate it ♥️

Fun Fact : Mikes’s 🎂 Birthday is on October 1

Thank you , Mike for your patience, I finally completed your second interview, it is longer than the first one for sure.

MusiciansAuthors
10

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Missed this one and came back to read part 2!!! Loved it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I enjoyed this second part so much! What a wonderful way to get to know Mike more. I'm always amazed at where you draw your inspiration as you have so many different ideas. Loved seeing the work space :) Great work the both of you!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Great interview!

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Enjoyed seeing his writing space!

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Loving your series of interviews! Will someone interview you? 😁

  • Whoaaa his music collection is phenomenal! I enjoyed reading this!

  • Another good interview. And yes, I agree. Mike is an amazing guy. Thanks again for sharing.

  • Deasun T. Smyth10 months ago

    What a great guy, good work.

  • Thank you for this Mariann , absolutely excellent and worthy of another Top Story, despite the subject matter :)

  • He’s an Amazing guy 🫶🏾💯❤️‼️📝Mariann, this is a great Interview 🎊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.