Interview logo

Metamorphosis In Real-Time

My Interview With Christina DeFeo

By teisha lesheaPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
10
Metamorphosis In Real-Time
Photo by Krzysztof Niewolny on Unsplash

Have you ever met someone and thought to yourself, "wow, we have so much in common." Creating the Vocal Creators Saloon has allowed me to meet writers like me, who I've probably would've never met. I can say that I've met some unique writers that I consider friends in the writing space. The writer I wanted to spotlight today is Christina Defeo. I constantly thank her for taking a chance on my group and me. We instantly clicked because we had so many things in common, from profession to sharing a birthday with one of her kids. I never thought I would connect with a person like her before becoming a Vocal member. She and I have bonded way beyond writing. We've had discussions on spirituality, writing, offering encouraging words, and constantly uplifting one another.

She reached out to me to be a part of the writers she wanted to spotlight. When she asked, I instantly said, "why me?" but I wanted to use that opportunity to change my way of thinking and took this opportunity as a compliment. The piece she wrote came out beautiful. I admire a woman who cares enough to highlight black voices in the writing space. In December of 2020, I decided to reach out to Christina with the idea of interviewing each other and utilizing the Interview Community on Vocal. She agreed, and we started to exchange questions; and some of those questions turned into long conversations via text, but at that moment, I got a better understanding of her as a person. I asked her questions about her writing style and wanted to expand on pieces she's written. I also had to end the interview on a fun rapid-fire to keep her on her toes.

Stories on Vocal

Q: In your story "Angelica Gains Her Wings," you spotlight literacy. How critical is literacy to you?

A: Literacy is vital because it opens the pathways to knowledge, leading to wisdom gates.

Q: If you could write Angelica a letter, what would you want to say?

A: Not to allow negative feedback to discourage her for too long. Embrace feelings, understand them but keep going. Lost time is a person's biggest regret.

Q: In your "About Who? Me?" piece, you mentioned that you are "constantly learning and growing" what is the biggest lesson you've learned in these final months of 2021?

A:It may sound cliche, but confidence is key. You can say, do, and affirm all you want, but nothing will happen if you are not confident in those convictions.

Q: You also raised the question, "Who am I when I remove my trauma?" Who would you like to be?

A: I don't want to waste my talents or live half-ass because of discouragements; I want to fulfill my purpose. Part of my purpose is to be the difference I want to see in the world. I will always choose love against all odds, obstacles, and challenges I face [which I will always display in my writing].

Type of writer

Q: How has your writing improved since your first story vs. your most recent one?

A: My writing has improved because I have stepped out of my one-track, fiction comfort zone. Vocal exposed me to worlds that have allowed me to incorporate my need for expression with imagination.

Q: What are some of your writing goals?

A: Writing is my art, so I would love to make a career. Becoming a technical writer and published author are two career goals.

Q: If you wrote yourself in a comic book series, what would your character be?

A: I would be a female variant of Dr. Strange.

Ways to Improve Vocal

Q: What's one piece of advice you would give Vocal to help them improve?

A: Make Vocal more interactive between writers, publishers, and readers. If the Vocal creators could hear the voices of the community they formed, the improvements could be grand.

Q: What is your favorite Vocal community?

A: Fiction

Vocal Achievements

Q: Do you have any Vocal accomplishments? Such as Top Story, challenge winner, hitting a reads goal, or being able to cash out your earnings?

A: I have hit the 1,000 read goal and am eligible to cash out, but I have not yet. I am letting it build up.

Personal

Q: If failing wasn't an option, what would you do?

A: A veterinarian

Parenting

Q: What's the biggest lesson your children taught you?

A: Ironically, it's how to be disciplined. I never realized how undisciplined I was before being a mom. I was too carefree and needed the discipline of a routine and self-control.

Q: When was the last time you did something for the first time? [Participating in this interview]. I have always strived to do this throughout my life, from minor to big, so I do a lot of 'firsts' frequently.

If you could give the twenty-five-year-old advice, what would it be? Stop stressing! It's not going to work out.

What is your favorite quote? "Maybe some women aren't meant to be tamed. Maybe they need to run free until they find someone just as wild to run with them." - Carrie Bradshaw.

Favorite Vocal writers?

Abbey Street, 7 Cubed, Mirelle Benefitte, Sheila L. Chingwa, Ali SP, Nefarious Darrius, Nathalie Clair, and Teisha LeShea. These are some of my favs which I read consistently. Each writer speaks to me differently and invokes a different feeling- it's almost like I can feel their words and experiences.

Each experience speaks to me with its message, covering a topic that another writer doesn't. They each complement the writing game with their magic, and I am grateful to be a part of it.

In-Depth

Q: What do you think your purpose is in this life?

A: I always struggle with this question because my purpose is undefined. I wish I knew what I meant by this; it's more than a job or career and more than just a role in someone's life; my purpose is to light a room where there is darkness, love where there is hate, and bring peace where there is turmoil. My goal is to be the difference.

Q: What is your dream vacation?

A: Africa. If I could, I would move to the motherland.

Q: If you were stranded on an island and could bring three things, what are those items and why?

A: Some sunscreen because my skin needs protection, a pencil, and a notebook to write my thoughts and experiences.

Q: What's the most memorable lesson you learned from your parents?

A: My most memorable lessons come from their irresponsibility. As a child, I witnessed many of their mistakes, hardships, and struggles, which taught me everything I did not want to do with my life.

Q: What footprint would you like to leave on the world?

A: A footprint that changed the course of something I don't want to follow in anyone's prints, I want to start my trial.

Rapid Fire

Q: Sunrise or Sunset?

A: Sunset

Q: Coffee or Tea?

A: Tea

Q: Waffles or Pancakes?

A: Waffles

Q: What's your favorite food?

A: Chocolate

Q: Wine or beer?

A: Neither.SHOTS!

Q: Summer or Fall?

A: Summer

Q: Water or Soda?

A: Water

Q: If you had the opportunity to choose someone to write your story, who would it be and why?

A: My younger sister, Julia. She would know what to write without an outline from me.

Q: If you could no longer write, would you be satisfied with what you've written so far?

A: Why or Why not? Yes, because I will always have ideas, and I still have my voice.

I'm so thankful that Christina agreed to participate in this interview. You can view her Vocal portfolio below. Happy Reading!

Creators
10

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.