Interview logo

Job Interview As A Document Controller In One Of The International Consulting Firms In The Mandaluyong City, Philippines Area

On Becoming a Document Controller

By Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.Published about a year ago 9 min read
1
Job Interview As A Document Controller In One Of The International Consulting Firms In The Mandaluyong City, Philippines Area
Photo by Van Tay Media on Unsplash

One of my coworkers sent me a photo of the opening at the mentioned company. I am thrilled to apply because the offer is double that of my current employer. I applied for the job right away through Jobstreet. It took a few months after I received feedback from one of the company's HR representatives. In order for them to process my application, they asked me a few questions via email. I instantly responded, and it took a few months before they called me again, this time asking for my availability for the first scheduled interview. But, prior to this email, I had gotten a rejection notice from Jobstreet advising me that the position I was seeking for at that company had been filled. But they were opening the door for me again, so I decided to go through.

My first interview was scheduled for October 7, 2022, after HR called me. 2 to 3 p.m. Unfortunately, the meeting time was not adhered to because the panel of interviewees were in another meeting. To be honest, I was disappointed because the interview was scheduled for that day and time. I waited 30 minutes for the MS team. Surprisingly, the interview began at 3:00 p.m. The panel asked if I was still interested in pushing the interview, and I decided to do so because I had allotted the time they had scheduled. In fact, I was at work at the time and had asked my Site Manager for permission to be excused for an hour for an important matter. I then instructed the interviewee to conduct the interview. The interview went well, and I gave my best answers to all of their questions because I needed to be at my best at the time. I was also not informed that the first interview was also the final interview. I was also surprised that the panelist for the interview was only one person, as I had assumed from the email that there would be three or four interviewees.

Here are a few of the questions I recall them asking me during the interview. I hope that this line of questioning on the consulting firm will inspire those aspiring DC candidates.

1. Introduce yourself. Share any information that is not included in your CV.

I began my response by telling the interviewer my full name and why I was there.

Example: "My name is [complete name]. I'm here for the 2 p.m. job interview for the position of Document Controller."

Then I began sharing my experiences in various industries that I had worked in for almost 8 years. I also emphasized my DC certifications. more so than my academic credentials.

"My experiences and academic credentials have instilled in me various learning and techniques that allow me to be flexible in any field or department that I may impart or contribute to your reputable company in the future. If given the opportunity to be a part of your team, I will do my best to maintain the camaraderie, professionalism, teamwork, and leadership."

2. What are your strengths? or What are your strong points?

I began by mentioning my professional experience from previous and current employers. I also included my educational achievements, knowledge, and skills. I also tell the interviewer that I am a multitasker and emphasize my higher order thinking skills, which are based on Bloom's taxonomy: remembering, understanding, applying, analyzing, evaluating, and creating.

Example:

  • "Experiences
  • Academic Qualifications
  • Knowledge
  • Skills
  • I am a multi-tasker in the sense that I can do a job or perform a job beyond the scope of my JD.
  • I can also consider my strength my higher order thinking skills based on the Bloom’s taxonomy: R, U, Ap, An, E, and C. or the Remembering, Understanding, Applying, Analyzing, Evaluating, and Creating."

3. What is your day-to-day process as a DC?

In terms of document management, I assured the interviewer that as a DC, I always follow the company's rules and regulations, policies, standards, procedures, processes, and work flows. Then I began sharing my responsibilities and routine throughout the document life cycle. I listed the 12 processes of the Documented Information Control System that I am responsible for as a DC. In addition, I mentioned my routine for maintaining the BCP File Structure or the 11 Modules that we have in our organization.

Example: "As a document controller, I adhere to the company's rules and regulations, policies, standards, procedures, processes, and work flows in terms of document management. I am the overall responsible person for managing the Documented Information Control System with the following 12 processes throughout the document life cycle.

  1. Creation
  2. Identification
  3. The definition of responsibilities
  4. Approval
  5. Versioning
  6. effectivity and release.
  7. Distribution
  8. Storage and protection
  9. Periodic Review
  10. Revision
  11. Retention
  12. Disposition

I am mainly responsible for maintaining the 11 modules that include: Project management, Contracts, Technical Topics and Scheduling, Equipment, Human Resources, Logistics, Drawings and Design, Suppliers and Subcontractors, Commercial Administration, Quality, and lastly, the HSE, or Health, Safety and Environment."

4. How many documents can you process in a day?

Expect bulky documents or large volumes of documents in a day as a DC, especially if you work in the construction industry. Because my current employer provides all of the resources (printers, own scanner, etc.), processing 30 or more documents is simple.

Example: "I can complete 30 documents or more. That is, of course, dependent on the number of attachments, as we are all aware that there are documents with fewer attachments and those with bulky attachments."

5. What are your hobbies?

I just simply enumerate my likes and interests, which include singing, dancing, writing, researching, teaching, farming, and travelling.

Example: "Singing, dancing, writing, research, teaching, farming, and traveling are some of my hobbies."

6. When asked who you are, what will your coworkers say about you?

The interviewer is interested in knowing how you treat your coworkers. Then I listed all of my qualities in general.

Example: "My coworkers will cite my assertiveness, dependability, ability to maintain focus, reliability, and trustworthiness as strengths, particularly when it comes to documentation."

7. What will your manager say about you if you ask him or her, "Who are you?"

The interviewer is interested in learning about your strengths as an employee reporting to your immediate superior. Then I listed my qualities as a DC.

Example: "My manager will describe me as a detail-oriented, organized, knowledgeable, and competent DC."

8. Have you been recognized as a document controller?

A DC rarely received an award as a document controller, particularly in the construction industry (Certificate of Award or Plaque of Appreciated).

Example: "I did not receive a Certificate of Award but only a Certification as a Certified Documented Information Controller, but I do consider the statement of my Project Manager when he told me that I would be his Document Controller for the duration of his project in the company."

9. What system are you currently using or have you previously used?

The interviewer expects you to discuss the system you are currently or have previously used. The interviewer expects you to be familiar with electronic document management systems (EDMS).

Example: "When I was working in the manufacturing-food service industry, I had three years of experience with Electronic Document Management Systems (EDMS), specifically the ACONEX System. However, I am currently using manual documentation and Microsoft SharePoint, a secure place to store, organize, share, and access information, in my current company."

10. What is your level of Excel knowledge and functionality?

The interview will assess your knowledge of Microsoft Excel. They will ask you a few questions to see if you are familiar with spreadsheets.

Example: "In terms of usage, features, and functionality, my level of knowledge in Excel is 8 to 9. However, despite having received advanced Excel training, I can still say that there are other functions in MS Excel that I am not familiar with, and that this requires me to try them on my own, explore them, and implement them for myself."

11. How do you double-check your paperwork? Both electronic and paper copies?

The interviewer is interested in knowing how you check your documentation: electronic copy (e-file) or hard copy.

Example: " I've been manually checking physical copy documents for almost 8 years, and I usually prepare a list of documents to be checked. I use both the manual and systematic approaches for soft copies, such as the MATCH formula in Excel."

12. For example, how do you handle a problem with documentation in order to solve the problem?

I began my response by mentioning a problem I've been dealing with as a document controller for several years. Proper communication is critical in this situation. Raising and immediately communicating your concerns to your immediate superior or supervisor As a DC, we not only present the problems, but we also lay out strong and solid potential solutions.

  1. Have you noticed that someone has improperly copied a document that contained sensitive information?
  2. DC is not included in the correspondence.

Example: "If I noticed that someone had improperly copied a document containing sensitive information, I would immediately notify my supervisor so that they could address it, and then I would make sure to properly copy the document myself before sending it out, ensuring that the original document is not sent out again and that no one else sees the sensitive information."

Example: "Sometimes the DC is overlooked in some of the correspondence going on within the organization. We can't give what we don't have as a DC, so to avoid this happening again, there must be an established distribution plan or distribution list to follow to avoid overlooking important personnel to be included in all formal correspondence."

13. What PDF are you working with? Do you know what Adobe is?

The interviewer is interested in knowing what PDF you use and are familiar with.

Example: I've been a document controller for over 7 years. I've had to do a lot of PDFing. I'm familiar with PDF 24, Nitro 9 Pro, and Adobe Acrobat. These tools are beneficial to DC in my viewpoint."

14. Why should we hire you? What sets you apart from the throng of people?

The interviewer wants to know what sets you apart from the other candidates for this position. Your novelty factor as a Document Controller emphasizes your professional experience, indicating that you are confident in your ability to do the job well. Furthermore, your academic credentials, as well as your work experience and academic credentials, have prepared you to be a successful document controller.

Example: "You should hire me because I am the right person for the job. I am confident in my experience, academic qualifications, knowledge, attributes, skills, training, seminars, and certifications. In the future, I hope to contribute more to the enhancement of your document management system. If you hire me, it will provide me with an excellent platform to demonstrate my abilities. Whatever goals I set, I will make sure to complete them within the time frame."

AuthorsCreatorsDocumentaryThought LeadersHumanity
1

About the Creator

Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.

.Professional Member of the Mechatronics and Robotics Society of the Philippines

.Certified Documented Information Controller with TUV Rheinland Qualifications

.Master of Science in Engineering (on-going) with Professional Teacher Certificate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.