Interview logo

Introducing

Colt Henderson

By Colt HendersonPublished 4 months ago 5 min read
5

“Hello everyone. Let me welcome Colt Henderson to the table. He is a member of vocal.media, has stories in three anthologies, and is apparently working on his first novel.” The host of the show said into the microphone in front of him. “This is where you talk, Colt.”
“Oh, right. I, um, I'm 35, from north Texas. I have a dog named Sir Cottonwood III and a parakeet, Buddy Boy. I live …”
“Let me stop you there. This isn't a dating site.” The host interjected. “This is about the coming year and your plans for your writing.”
“Well, one thing I need to work on is my dialog.” The handsome man smirked. “But what else would you like to know?”
“You usually write horror, correct?”
“Yes.”
“What are some other genres you would like to try out? Branch out from the horror scene.”
“I am going to try and branch out on Vocal. They have so many options it's hard to narrow down, so I am going to try a few different genres.”
“That's a bit dry, but it's an answer.”
“What do you mean dry?”
“It's just informative. What's your character? Who are you?” The host asked through his aviator sunglasses.
“OK … what's your next question? I will try a bit harder.” Colt sat back in the comfortable chair and waited.
“What else do you think you should work on?”
“That's an easy one! I need to show more and tell less. I am still guilty of it now,
unfortunately.”
“How often do you write now? Can you write more?”
“I currently write a little bit everyday, but I can and will write more this year.”
“You brought up Vocal. What is it for people unaware?”
“It is a platform for writers of every type. There are poets, novelists, short story writers, tech writers, and so many other things it is easier to visit the site at vocal.media. Click on Communities and there is a long list.”
“Are there any other benefits to being a part of Vocal?” The host asked as he leaned back in his chair and took a sip of whatever was in his plain black mug.
“There are several benefits to being a member. One would be the ability to read other members' pieces. I always comment after I read something. The second would be the ability to collaborate with fellow Vocal members. I have done it once and loved it. I just haven't been around much to be in another. Third is the challenges for members. I have been writing for the challenges for a few years now. I have Vocal to thank for getting me started to write again.”
“Is there anyone on Vocal you would like to collaborate with?” The man asked, getting closer to the microphone.
“The last collaboration I was a part of was about climate change, and the one before that was mental health awareness. I don't know many people on Vocal and the few I do are constantly pushing themselves. I wouldn't want to possibly mess up their flow.”
“What kind of impact are you going to have if you are afraid to interact with other creators?” The host asked as he picked up the mic and rolled his chair closer to Colt.
“I wouldn't say afraid. I would s …”
“You're a shy and sensitive guy.” The eccentric interviewer said low and slow with the microphone pressed to his lips.
“No, I would say I am trying to respect their space.” Colt asserted with confidence.
“And then you get to stay in your bubble.” The flamboyantly dressed man stated.
“I guess so.”
“So what do you want your impact on Vocal to be?”
“I want to be known for good horror, but I think being good at building solid stories overall would be nice.”
“Tell us more about those Vocal challenges you mentioned.”
“Sure! They have different writing challenges all the time. They have short story challenges and poetry ones. 1st prize is always different, but it is usually money. They also have sponsored challenges sometimes. I have been entering for a few years now.
“How has that shaped your writing?”
“Like I said, I have Vocal to thank for me writing again. I have always had stories running through my mind, but Vocal got me to write them down. I even enter random online writing contests now. It just depends on the prompt and if I find it interesting. It has allowed me to work through some stress.”
“Well, that is a good thing. Stress can kill.” The red three piece suit wearing man feigned interest until he asked his next question into a nonexistent camera. “What are you working on now?”
“I am working on my first novel.”
“Awesome! What's it about? What's it called? Tell us everything!”
“Well, it doesn't have a name yet, but it is about a woman turning into a wendigo. This isn't a mythological creature feature either. It's more of a psychological look into someone's mind. A study of one person's fall into madness.”
“That sounds like a great concept!” The host said.
“Yeah, it's a difficult subject. I just hope I am able to do it justice.” The guest replied.
“I can see the passion in your eyes. Where was that earlier?” The red man asked.
“I don't know.”
“You're a little scared. It's okay.”
“I am not scared.” The guest said louder than before.
“It's 2024, it is fine to be scared. I am scared of spiders and trampolines!” The host said as he leaned back in his chair, microphone in his hand.
“I am not scared!” Colt bellowed. “Stop saying that.”
“Okay, okay.” The man cracked a flashy smile. “I am just trying to help you work on you.” The chair rolled into the wall as Colt stood up abruptly. “Hey! Where you going?” Colt flung the headphones off and slapped the microphone in front of him. “That wasn't necessary.” He then kicked the chair, causing several holes in the wall. “You're gonna be billed for that.” Colt swung the door open, flipped the host the bird, and walked out of the room. “Well, that could have gone better. Next at the table is a dog lover looking for her long lost family. We are scraping the bottom of the barrel.”

Vocal
5

About the Creator

Colt Henderson

I usually write horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Colt, love your impressive & creative story for the Vocal challenge!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Test4 months ago

    The dialogue flowed well, and the characters were distinct and engaging. It successfully blended elements of humor, storytelling, and a touch of unpredictability. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.