Interview logo

Interviews with my friends

Louis Rudy

By Karolyn Denson LandrieuxPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
1

In this series I get to sit down with some of the most interesting people on the planet. I am lucky that I get to call them my friends.

Louis Rudy, Lou, has been my best friend for 37 years. Lou is a very successful restauranteur in New York, New Jersey and DC. Along with his business partners, Lou owns Hudson Hound in the West Village, Hudson Hound Jersey City in New Jersey, Trinity Place in the financial district NY and The Hunter’s Hound in Chevy Chase Maryland.

KDL: Hello Lou! Thank you for taking the time to talk with me about your story. Tell me something that I don't know about you. Although since we’ve been friends for over 37 years, there isn’t much that I don't know. Surprise me!

Louis Rudy: I ran long distance, by default

KDL: Oh. That’s something that I didn’t know about you.

LR: As a young person I was extremely shy. It developed as a result of being bullied. In the 7th grade I was teased and called names. I was being constantly harassed. I was called names like “little girl”, “queer”, “fag”and “sissy”. It started at about 12 years old. 6th grade to 9th grade. My four brothers stuck up for me and got into fights for me almost daily. I became extremely shy to the point that I couldn’t walk through groups or talk to teachers. I had a speech impediment which caused me to lisp so that wasn’t helping me. Gym class was particularly difficult. My gym teacher understood and would allow me to run around the periphery of the gym instead of playing team sports so that I wouldn’t be bullied further. So I became a long distance runner, but not on a team just individually.

KDL: That must have been so hard for you. I’m sorry.

LR: Around this time, I became best friends with the head cheerleader. Diane. She saved my life. Constant attention without expectations.

KDL: What ever became of Diane?

LR: She got married in 1987. They have 4 children and loads of grands now. They live in Florida.

KDL: Thank you for sharing. That had to have been hard for you.

So, Lou... how did you get into the restaurant business?

LR: My very first job was in a restaurant. I was 16 years old. Throughout my life I would always bounce back and forth in the restaurant business, bar tending, waiting tables and managing.

KDL: What was the catalyst that turned you into an entrepreneur?

LR: I had a blind date that wasn’t going great there was a guest at the same party that was a restauranteur. We instantly clicked. That was 1999. His name is Tony. He said that he was going to open a restaurant. I had forgotten about it when he reached out 6 months later and invited me to be a part of the team. I am a natural for the business because I am detail oriented and know how to manage staff. I helped him open Jarnac, a French Bistro that was in Greenwich Village in Manhattan. I managed there and started putting in my time.

KDL: What is the hardest part of the restaurant business?

LR: Managing employees! By far. Also with any business, you have to wear many hats. In the restaurant business you have to be everything to everyone on your staff. Not just their boss but sometimes like a parent or a friend. It’s also necessary to build your brand. Consistency is key along with service standards.

KDL: What was your biggest hurdle?

LR: Finding dependable staff. Especially managers. Finding a quality manager that will give you longevity is extremely difficult. Also, life balance. Being able to find time off is hard to do. You become married to your business. It basically becomes your entire life.

KDL: What does a typical day look like for a busy restaurant owner?

LR: An hour before opening I go into the office and look up the sales of the previous day. I look for any issues, incidents, etc. then I meet with the staff. Once service starts, I transition to being the staff’s assistant. They run any questions and concerns by me. At the end of service, I do a review. Cash out then have a laugh with the crew. It’s a very long day.

KDL: What is your advice for anyone wanting to open their own restaurant?

LR: DON’T DO IT!!! (laughing)

If you are willing to put in all of your time, effort and money then by all means go right ahead. It’s a tough business. You have to be hands on and willing to live that life. It has to be your passion. If you’re going to be an owner then you need to “act” like an owner. Too many times people have a romanticized idea of owning a restaurant but do not understand the sacrifice and hard work that comes along with it to make it successful. Also, try to use other people’s money but don’t have a lot of investors either. Too many hands in the proverbial pot... well you know the rest.

KDL: Thank you Lou for sitting down with me. I did learn a lot. Much continued success! I’ll be seeing you soon at one of your restaurants, I’m sure. It’s always a treat.

If you’re looking for a fabulous meal and exemplary service check out one of these restaurants.

https://hudsonhoundnyc.com/

https://hudsonhoundjc.com/

https://thehuntershound.com

https://trinityplacenyc.com/

HumanityCreatorsCelebrities
1

About the Creator

Karolyn Denson Landrieux

Karolyn lives in Paris and Pittsburgh. She loves travel and has travelled most of the world, she enjoys time at home with family. Whether it's cooking, painting, designing or writing, creativity is her passion. @karolynd88 @maxineandbeanie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Karolyn Denson Landrieux (Author)7 months ago

    Thank you Alex!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great interview! Love learning about people! Good work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.