Interview logo

Interviews With My Friends

A series of interviews with some very interesting people that I am happy to call friends

By Karolyn Denson LandrieuxPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
2
Photo by Kenji Gunderson

Interviews With My Friends

~ Throughout my travels and over the span of my lifetime I have had the pleasure to meet and get to know some of the most diverse and interesting people on the planet. Some are characters, some philanthropist, some creators, doctors, scientists, entrepreneurs and even some royals! Through this series you will get to meet just a few of my favorites. I hope you will enjoy~ Karolyn Denson Landrieux

Welcome to Interviews With My Friends!

In this series I get to have conversations with some extremely interesting individuals that I am delighted to call my friends. I am blessed to have a diverse and interesting group of people in my life. In this series I will interview some of them and share their stories. I am so excited to share these amazing people with all of you.

I am so honored to share my first guest with you… my friend and brother Cesar Condé. Cesar is an award winning artist, actor, writer and my dear friend. He is also a flight attendant for a major carrier where we originally met; although we bonded through art.

Karolyn: Cesar tell me something about yourself that I don’t know.

Cesar: I was born in Manila and came to Chicago in 1965. In 1976 I went to Seattle to live and was part of the first busing program in the city. My first encounter with an influential teacher was Ms. King, an African- American educator who dispelled myths and negative stereotypes which I learned from the Imperialist and the Hollywood exported media to the Philippines. I was part of the first race program ( a summer camp where we students of color were introduced to tools to combat a systemic racist society.)

KDL: How did you get started as a painter and an actor? What was the catalyst?

CC: I have always wanted to be an artist. I have always loved theater and the arts but I was discouraged from the beginning. Growing up in a poor country, we were never encouraged to do art but to always focus on Math, Science and the English language. So I developed a big sense of insecurity that I was not good enough. (You) Can’t live and survive as an artist. I’ve developed self sabotaging behaviors which destroyed opportunities and kept me from being successful. I compromised to satisfy my folks and get a college degree. It made my parents happy and now it was time to live my life. Although I had partaken in cultural artistic movements - I was a member of a Filipino Dance troop in high school and had acted in high school theater, it was never encouraged. My folks felt it was a good way for me to stay out of trouble.

After college and earning my degree in Communication, I became a flight attendant. I was only going to do it for 3 years. I moved from Seattle-to Detroit - then Chicago. It was in Chicago where the muses awoken and said “Pick up a charcoal and draw. Get the camera and take pictures. Start auditioning for plays.”

Of course that happened after my airline probation which was 6 months. Now it was time to live my life and nurture my creative side.

KDL : What was your biggest surprise about being an artist and an actor?

CC: The biggest surprise about being an artist is finding out and discovering that though I had the desire, I did not have the skills. I took workshops. I studied with masters in both acting and painting. I started taking painting classes and drawing classes and acting classes from the best. I found that art and flying was a perfect marriage for my artistic career. I am a nomad at heart. Always accompanied by Michelangelo and Frida Khalo. The museums and artists I’ve visited around the globe have been educational and left a profound wisdom in what I do now.

KDL: What did you find to be your biggest hurdle?

CC: I am my own hurdle. My fear and insecurity keep me from achieving more of what I want. Other people’s expectations and their judgement affected me. Impostor syndrome as an artist and actor haunts me. Then one day, I woke up and looked at myself long and hard and my exhibition and performance CV’s…..I yelled out “ F***the world! This is my life! Who I am is who I am! What I am surrounded by is what makes me me. I am an artist, an actor a flight attendant. It is who and what I am. I know that the career as a flight attendant is a means to an end and I know that the end is soon for that. My being an artist will always be in my heart and soul and my wings are always ready to fly.

KDL: When did you know what you wanted to do?

CC: I always knew that I was different since I became conscious of my surroundings. I have always been an introvert and observed my world. I have always been sensitive and wanted to make people happy. When that space was available I knew I wanted to create, see different places and be my own person. I also knew that the journey was not going to be easy. Life was hard for young queers like me in those days because the spaces were not available for that. Art has always been my safe space. I have always loved getting a new box of crayons and paper. I was born to be an artist and I was born to fly.

KDL: What is a typical day like for you?

CC: A typical day depends on how bad my jet lag is. There’s no consistency. My body dictates how things go. My projects dictate where I have to be and when I have to be there. When I was doing theater full time and flying full time, I would come from Osaka, land in Detroit and then catch a flight home to Chicago to then get on a plane, then a train, then a bus just to go to a rehearsal. Sometimes I would still be in my uniform when I was rehearsing.

As a visual artist, I am surrounded by canvases that are always in need of attention in both my home studio and a studio which I rent. My world is small. I’ll come from Europe then home then wake up at 2 am then go to my studio. No day is the same for me.

KDL: What part of your career brings you the most joy?

CC: Discovering gives me joy. Every person is a perfect broken art. I get my energy and ideas from people and world events. Starting a painting is exciting and getting an audition and killing it is exciting. I am never bored. Because there’s so much to do. Living gives me joy. Painting gives me joy. A stage light hitting my face gives me joy. Talking to people gives me joy! I have dealt with death at an early age so I know we’re here in a flash so I am in joy 100 per cent of the time even when I’m feeling down, sad in grief, because joy is just taking a break and is standing by our side when sadness leaves. I live in the moment. My dog, Tidus, is a great source of joy. But I know he is here temporarily as am I.

KDL: What would your advice be to someone that wants to become an artist or an actor or a flight attendant?

CC: If you want to be an artist- just do it. Start small and always remember, the eraser is your friend. Making mistakes are the best discoveries and keep your hands moving at all times. Someone is always going to be greater than you, better than you. It’s okay, learn from them and mostly, celebrate them. Because that is how it rolls. I am no longer competitive. Know your worth. Develop a good relationship with your agent/art dealer. You’re only as good as the last sale and show. Success breeds success. There are those who will trip you along the way. Get up and don’t linger. Create works that are meaningful to you. Be honest and true to your vision- and never give up.

If you want a real good career in the airline business, research and find the ones with a union to give you a voice in your career.

Cesar Conde’s works can be viewed at…. www.cesarcondeart.com

Thank you all for joining me to celebrate my good friend Cesar. I’ll be back with another interview soon.

~Karolyn Denson Landrieux

Creators
2

About the Creator

Karolyn Denson Landrieux

Karolyn lives in Paris and Pittsburgh. She loves travel and has travelled most of the world, she enjoys time at home with family. Whether it's cooking, painting, designing or writing, creativity is her passion. @karolynd88 @maxineandbeanie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.