Interview logo

Interview With Multi-Talented Creative Samuel Preston IV

Vocal Entertainment Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 2 years ago 14 min read
Like
Samuel Preston IV

Samuel Preston IV (Well Known as Sammie) [born May 5, 1991] New York, NY, Italian American who is a former Entertainment manager, current Model, Actor, Writer.

Early Life: Samuel is the youngest of three siblings, raised in Baltimore, Maryland. Spending most of his childhood developing his art skills. From drawing, to acting, and singing while attending grade school. Traveling with Primerica Investment Company in Atlanta, GA with his mother. Samuel learned the values of business management. While attending high school Samuel obtained graphic arts skills after school at a design studio in downtown, Baltimore.

Dance Management: During Samuel High School senior year, he was offered to manage an inner-city dance group. The dance crew Dramatics became the first to start in entertainment management. The work ethic of Show bookings, Promotional packaging, and more shown his business skills growth, later on earning the group bookings on B.E.T Blaze the stage, Universal Records, Concerts in Richmond Virginia, most importantly the biggest achievement for the group Headlining M&T Bank stadium Advance Auto Parts Monster Jam Show. Samuel managed over seven dance crews during his time in the Baltimore dance scene. He found success with dance crews like Kings of club, and Team Squad Up.

Selling out the world-famous New York Apollo Theater two years in a row TSU dance crew.

Dramatics and TSU dance crews are the only winners in the dance category at the Baltimore crown awards. Following with Samuel Becoming the only dance manager to win the Manager of the Year award at age 20. Preston created the web series We Are Baltimore Dancers, which created the biggest marketing for dancers at the time. During his start, he organized the Baltimore city dance tour for all middle-high schools. Samuel began appearing in TT the Artist, Mighty Mark, Dj Angel Baby music videos. As a dance pioneer, Samuel focused on expanding Baltimore club dancing, along with many other styles as New York region-style Lit Feet.

Modeling: After establishing himself as a manager, Preston signed with Model Rehab to begin his modeling portfolio in 2012. Once the studio closed a year later, Samuel Became a freelance Model. Modeling in Baltimore Fashion Week Year nine-eleven, and many more. Headlining New York Fashion during the fall of 2017.

Acting: Samuel First appeared on TV One For My Man TV Show Season One, followed by producing the YMCA of Baltimore Commercial. The Following year Samuel signed back on to return for For My Man Season Two. Samuel appeared in the Indie film Chula and played the role of a drug dealer in the Baltimore-based film Guns & Grams.

Writer/Poet: Samuel began writing many PR articles fighting for the dancers' media press, which later got him signed to blog site RepYoGrind. He began writing a variety of articles on upcoming or current established stars. Samuel signed on as a Writer for SM Magazine after gaining the attention of Entrepreneur Brandon Jones for his compelling storytelling, and biographic detailing in article form. Samuel released his first article for the publication based on ways to license artwork in the business market. Samuel wrote his first poetry book entitled The Love & Pain of Storytelling which will be available on his upcoming media website The Media Report.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Samuel Preston IV

You are such a multi-talented creative. What are some of the most memorable moments in your career so far?

Sammie: I started my Journey 13 years ago at 17 years old. I learned sound engineering and video production while attending Frederick Douglass High school. I enjoyed learning the fundamentals of the entertainment craft. After school, I hung around this graphic design studio in downtown Baltimore. I learned how to create designs to later press them onto shirts or other clothing. All those skills I honed helped me create shirts for Baltimore dance Crews such as Dramatics, Homicide, and TSU Dance Crew, I also created security shirts for Marlo Playwright productions The Baltimore Apollo staff, a local showcase created by Marlo Dorsey-Bond.

When becoming an entertainment manager I booked many shows for dance and music artists. I was the only dance manager from the Baltimore club scene that got club dancers to perform at the M&T Bank Stadium opening performance for the Monster Jam show and perform in different cities in front of Music executives A&R representatives. In nearly every big Baltimore performing arts or inner-city venues, I was able to obtain performance opportunities for Bmore club dancers to showcase our culture's most creative dance steps.

One of my favorite show performances was an event Wisdom Court Entertainment held entitled The 5th of July bash, I had the opening of the Performance start with R&B act Carlito, blends of hip-hop dancing from female dancer Tynisha Rice, dance duo Pacman & Ricky Williams, Bmore club dancing from Rakaun ending off the performance with Rapper Ray-man. It was one of my favorites because creatively I was able to give many forms of art genres that come from our city of Baltimore in one performance.

Another favorite was in Providence Rhode Island at Ultra Nightclub, I had the Baltimore club dancers on a tour and after the Kings of Club dance crew performed, Universal Records A&R Rep Anthony Jones gave the dancers some of the best advice. Speaking of the Baltimore club scene, as a club community we all met up at Baltimore nightclub The Paradox every Friday night held some of the best dance battles there and we just had so much fun together. It was some of the best times before the closing of the nightclub.

I remembered being contacted for the YMCA commercial that aired during the 2017 super bowl commercial. The opportunity came a little after the Baltimore unrest Freddie Gray riots; it was one of the first paid production gigs outside of my acting career. I cried a bit because as a Baltimore club community between club dancers, club producers, and many more we worked so hard for the world to see the talents within the club culture. They didn't show a lot of dancing but the opportunity itself was a blessing. I was also blessed through hard work and faith to have been the only dance manager in Baltimore club history to win the Manager of the year award when I was 21 years old (2012).

To been a dance manager in the Baltimore club scene, I was never the best dancer (laughs) but I still had fun with the dance artists yet the confidence to still try to dance came in handy because when certain music artists wanted dancers for performances there were times when dancers weren't feeling the artist music selections, and I had taken the stage to get business done. Dancing behind Artists like female Baltimore rapper DatGirlKesh or House Music group The Socialytes was an experience! and being around the group The Socialytes I had the opportunity to experience my first rave party I'll never forget that.

When it comes to acting, One of my memorable moments was on the set of 2015 Season Two of the TV series For My Man. During the filming break one of the actresses helped me perfect my model walk for an upcoming fashion week audition. I retired from Runway modeling in 2018 (I miss it a bit).

What are some of your latest projects and what are you currently working on?

Sammie: I have been doing print modeling for BlockBoy Apparel, Noviamen (Fashion Nova Men Collection), BooHooMen, and Forever21 Men collection.

In 2017 I had created a series of video interviews entitled The Media Express (I was inspired by The Breakfast Club) during the first episode I interviewed Boxer Tyrell Boyd who later started doing photography and videography under his company named Black Leaf Productions since 2020 to present the majority of my modeling image has been produced by Tyrell Blackleaf company. October 2021 I received the opportunity to model for BlockBoy Apparel (Since then I candidly joke that he's like my modeling manager). When doing a photoshoot with him, he's a perfectionist. He knows exactly what he's looking for when getting a photo shot and I trust him. I don't even pick the photos after the shoot. I'm looking to work with more designers and create more projects under Black Leaf Production. Yes, I'm still focusing on my acting journey once the timing is right.

Who are some people in the entertainment industry that inspire you and why?

Sammie: When it comes to managing dancers in the Baltimore club scene I took inspiration from Russell Simmons. He wasn't just behind some of the biggest artists of Def Jam, He also had a good adoption of fashion in the industry as well.

Acting I will have to say Ms. Viola Davis I become a fan of hers after How To Get Away With Murder show and the way she delivers the emotions behind each character she portrays it's the same when it comes to the men how Eddie Murphy was so versatile in his roles.

When it comes to fashion I'm very different so I have to honor Alexander McQueen who made Art Pop out at you and made you go back to your sketchbook to be more creative. Virgil Abloh, Kanye West, The House of Gucci, Tom Ford, and Oh Yes I can't forget Rick Owens they all brought something different to the table. Art is changing every day. When it comes to Poetry Tupac & Nikki Govvani are influencers. As a Writer, Omar Tyree, Nikki Brooks, Zane, Eric Jermone Dickey all told great stories and some even mentored me. I had the opportunity to work with Eric Jermone Dickey before his passing.

What are some fun facts about yourself that many people are not aware of?

Sammie: I am very mystique and free-spirited. When I'm not working or doing anything in the business.

I love racing cars (laughs). Meet me on the Go-Cart track. I love words so when I joke with people or write poetry I use a lot of metaphors. I have been an art lover since I was a kid so I enjoy museums, traveling to new places, and just creating with other creators. I literally grew up in the business. I started relationships late in life like in my mid-Twenties. I dated an American Idol contestant that I met while attending a meeting with one of my dance crews in Baltimore.

My first long relationship came when dating a backup singer for the R&B Group NEXT(Songs as Too Close & Wifey), which ended after two years, I gave a lot of sacrifices and good qualities to my people of interest so I know one day I will get that good relationship I deserve (Laughs) I do have a crush on one of the owners of the fashion brands I model for.

Also, I went to community college for Paralegal 2015 and Online college for IT 2020.

A fun fact about my writing journey is I did old-school marketing. Omar Tyree became my mentor after I mailed off my poetry to him and many other public figures even the same for Eric Jermone Dickey I sent his to the Penguin Publishing Group.

I even received Poetry reviews from the White House (The Obamas Era).

What impact do you want to make within the entertainment industry?

Sammie: I started in the business at 17 years doing entertainment management for Baltimore Club Dancers and became known as one of the best managers in the scene's history. Now I just want to create and thrive as a creator. As an actor, I want to be in the most challenging scenes, even those emotional scenes or action-packed scenes. As a Model, I even style most of my model shoots if the designers don't do it and I wanna continue to push the creative looks. As a writer, I wanna just to tell some of the most loving, compelling, storytelling poetry there is to be written.

What advice would you have for aspiring actors?

Sammie: Always be a student in the Industry no matter how much experience you may have. I remember in 2015 Hollywood Actor Clifton Powell taught us the importance of delivering a good scene on the set of the movie Guns & Grams movie. Also to mention, go to school, take some classes, anything helps you become the master of our craft.

During 2018, I was on set of Web-Series Harlot's Webb after filming the first scene of the episode and changing clothes it was time for the final two scenes, I focused on delivering my lines with strong emotions that I stumbled on my lines and it taught me to practice more and relax get more comfortable with the character. Yes, please study the craft as much as possible and be consistent as much as possible, hold on to your faith as the journey has its ups and downs.

What are you looking forward to in 2022?

Sammie: I'm looking to get more acting projects if the pandemic allows it. I'm looking to come out of retirement as a Runway model just for a little. I miss Fashion Weeks and the good energy of the show designers, models, the crowds, etc. Plus I enjoy working with photographer and videographer Tyrell Boyd, he's like my creative partner when I do my model shoots. I would like to start doing more video projects such as interviews again. I have been working on publishing my poetry book The Love & Pain of Storytelling since 2016. I even had help from author/director David Marcus.

Samuel Preston IV

Hold On To Me (A True Love Poem)

Written By: Samuel Preston IV

Featured in The Love & Pain of Storytelling Book

You're that coffee I need in the morning

A dose of you is the sweetest thing

You come with many layers

Like pedals to a rose

All I see is the beauty beyond imperfections

That's why every part doesn't go unnoticed

You're that comfort I need

After long days of labor

You're my peace when life troubles

Get the best of me

You remind me of the sunrise

Giving me every reason to smile again

Your voice is so sweet like melodies

Of my favorite song, I knew all the words

Your kiss told many things

Like I love you without any words spoken

You're the air my lungs needed

Just so I can breathe this love again

Give me the gospel

So that I know all of your truth

Without no regrets

Give it to me raw and deep

Just so I know how you feel for me

Tell me those seconds, minutes, hours

Is what you desire together

I'm going to love you in every kind of way

Just hold on to me like I'm yours forever

Samuel Preston IV

Poem: All I Ask of You

I ask of you,

To be comfort, be my peace

When times get hard be my stress relief

Feed me that good energy, and watch our souls mate

I abstained from all toxic

No more random dates, or giving up my wood just to subtract a nut

Waiting for the one who is truly for me

Pleading and praying to the lord

To tailor this new love to fit me well

Custom made kind of love

That it feels so good

I knew you were made just for me

I ask of you

To make yourself evident

Bad times will come, don't block the sun

I will be your rock, if you can be my light

Words would be exchanged

Sins would be made

If you can truly love

Could you forgive and love again?

You see I've been hurt, damaged, and my reflection told me I knew pain

I ask of you

To love me selfishly, and unconditionally

Be the math that adds to me

To make me whole again

Samuel Preston IV

The Nosey Neighbor

Share

Written By: Samuel Preston IV

Edited By: Gennifer Jones

What's the fuss, I'm all ears to hear the news

What you so sick, and sad for?

I'm up to hear all of your blues

I wouldn't tell a soul

As long as you tell me all the drama that unfolds

Sweet talk me all the goods

Sitting on the front stoop

Sights and chats of all the troubles

I just hum my tunes, while I tap my shoes

I have been here all my life

I know who's been sleeping around this town

That's why it's more new mothers than wives

Before they can vow to give one person their true love

Spreading legs so much everyone knew their business out in these streets

They loved the whole neighborhood so much

After they gave the love up, out of sight out of mind

They quickly moved away

I sat in this fine cherry wooden chair

Looking out into the world views from my window

Little girls popping that gum

Sang songs as they jumped for joy through the rope

I knew it all, and if you were good to me I told it all

Just remember you didn't hear it from me.

Samuel Preston IV

Get connected on Social Media @sammiethelegend

Actors
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.