Interview logo

Interview With a Lifetime Star: Randy Thomas

Last seen on Lifetime playing a seduced father in last year's Evil Stepmom, we're having a virtual chat with actor Randy Thomas!

By Trevor WellsPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
9

Trevor Wells: Hello Randy! Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions. To start off, the basics: what first drew you to acting?

Randy Thomas: I am a big Tom Cruise fan. When I was in high school, I watched Risky Business and Top Gun, I said to myself, "That's awesome! I want to do that!"... BUT I did nothing about it until I was 27 years old and moved to Montreal to start pursuing a career in acting.

Trevor Wells: Nice! Never too late to start pursuing a dream. I see that prior to acting, you were a semi-pro soccer player and played competitive hockey. What was the experience like and how has it shaped your current career path?

Randy Thomas: Growing up in Moncton, New Brunswick, it was normal for kids to play sports rather than join drama clubs or take dancing/singing lessons. There were very few artistic opportunities and it was the late 80's-early 90's and the internet didn't exist yet, so becoming a "star" in soccer or hockey seemed much more realistic than becoming a "movie star". I loved both sports, but in the end, I focused on soccer and got hurt during my pro tryout in 1991. What has been extra special for me is the fact that I got to play roles in several hockey movies/series (The Rocket, Canada-Russia '72, Lance & Compte) and also played soccer coaches in a couple as well (21 Thunder, Evil Stepmom).

Trevor Wells: Sorry to hear about your injury, but it's good to hear that acting lets you remain involved in sports to a certain degree. Overall, how would you characterize your foray into the acting world?

Randy Thomas: I am grateful that I earn a living doing what I love, but I missed a few opportunities when I was younger. This might sound odd, but I wasn't selfish/focused enough. Like any specialized career, it takes sacrifice in ways that can often affect the people that you love. I still think that I need to be more selfish sometimes. When I started, I "didn't get it". Meaning that I didn't work hard enough on the right things or follow advice very well. Also, I wasn't a very good actor, so progress was slow and many great opportunities were missed or lost. As I matured, I started to "get it" and learned how to sustain a successful career.

Trevor Wells: I can see what you mean; glad to hear you've grown towards more actively pursuing what you want. What would you say has been the most memorable/inspirational moment of your career?

Randy Thomas: Learning to shoot left-handed for the film The Rocket. I was originally cast in a smaller role AND I am naturally a right-handed shot. But when this role became available, my agent (at the time) lied to casting and said I was left-handed. I worked all weekend, and when I showed up for my try-out, I brought both a left-handed stick and a right-handed stick. When the director noticed, he immediately asked me "What's up?" The star--Roy Dupuis--was not happy and rolled his eyes at me before skating away. I said to the director I shoot both ways, but did not want to slow rehearsal down, so I brought both sticks. He groaned and said "Let's not waste any more time," so we started practice.

After a half hour or so, we took a break so I skated over to Roy Dupuis and said to him, "I am not a star of your caliber, BUT I am a professional. So let me ask you, if you had 3 months to learn how to shoot the opposite way, could you do it?" He stared at me coldly for a moment and nodded his head. Then I said to him "I am a professional too, so I promise you: in 3 months, I will be shooting the opposite way." He skated away and we finished rehearsal. When I was driving home, I got a call that I got cast in the role. I am 100% sure that it was Roy who spoke with the director immediately after practice and encouraged the director to cast me.

Trevor Wells: Wow! Awesome move standing up for yourself against a more experienced performer, and it certainly paid off. Bravo! Apart from that incredible experience, any other memorable co-stars/co-workers?

Randy Thomas: 20 years ago, I was Robert Downey's stand-in and body double in the film Gothika. Being so close every day and watching Robert & Halle Berry work was an amazing experience.

Trevor Wells: I've heard of that movie, but never saw it. Must've been great being near a pair of incredibly talented people; I'm jealous! Before we get to Evil Stepmom, I have to say, I noticed on IMDb you've been in a good handful of made-for-TV Christmas movies--some of them being for Lifetime. What led you to the TV movie realm?

Randy Thomas: You have to go where the fish are. MOWs [Movies of the Weeks] for Hallmark & Lifetime are where I get offered my largest roles (10-12 days). Therefore, they are very rewarding because I get to create full characters. Of course, I love blockbuster Hollywood films and TV series. But most of the time, they are cast out of LA, so I am only offered smaller day-player roles like in Moonfall. They are great, but usually exist just to move the plot forward. C'est La Vie! But truthfully, I really enjoy filming Christmas movies because to my family, it is the most important holiday of the year. So for me to be able to come home for the holidays and watch a Christmas movie I play a role in with my family and friends is very special.

Trevor Wells: I can imagine so. Of your MOWs, which would you pinpoint as your favorite (if you could even choose)?

Randy Thomas: Evil Stepmom and Baby, it's Cold Inside. Evil Stepmom because it was a supporting lead and I got to experience something I have never done before: [being] a father. It was very emotional for me playing a role that filled a void in me, even if it was only for two weeks. Baby, it's Cold Inside because I love comedic characters, so playing with an accent and being the accident-prone Mr. Greene was a lot of fun.

Trevor Wells: Awesome! I might have to check out Baby, it's Cold Inside sometime. But speaking of Evil Stepmom, let's talk about that. What's the story behind you being cast as Tim Lasky? And what was filming Evil Stepmom like?

Randy Thomas: It was my lucky day! Originally, someone else was cast in the role, but had to be recast due to a last minute schedule conflict. The producer called me directly on a Thursday and asked me if I was available for the next two weeks and BAM! Monday, I was in Ottawa as Tim Lasky. I loved that shoot and I love the production team in Ottawa. They are always great to work with and all the actors they cast were fabulous. Like I said, even though it was only for two weeks, playing the role of a father was a very emotional experience for me.

Trevor Wells: Happy to hear the role was so great for you, and props on the good fortune that led to you being cast! Though as you might've read, I wasn't that much of a fan of Tim. What did you think of my critiques of Tim Lasky and Evil Stepmom as a whole?

Randy Thomas: "I wish someone would have killed the father!" ...LOL. You weren't the only person or critic to wish that fate upon poor ol' Tim. Which means I did my job. Certain characters are written to incite certain reactions from viewers. I had several reviews and countless people contacting me on social media expressing their frustration with Tim's naivety and unwillingness to believe his daughters. My goal was to play an "adorkable" and believable father within the confines of the script. I did my best. The worst thing a critic could say about me is that they were indifferent towards me and/or my character. So regardless of the rating, I am very grateful that you and any other reviewer who took the time to publish a critique. Trevor, yours is a great read. Well done!

Trevor Wells: I appreciate that! But yeah, as much as I didn't like Tim, you gave a good performance under the circumstances and actually made me feel a little bad for the guy at times. And if it's any comfort, I disliked Annabelle much more than Tim lol! Outside of Lifetime, I see you've also been in quite a few short films. Do you recommend I check out one of my short film review lists?

Randy Thomas: Definitely watch Patient. A student film produced in 2010 shot on 35mm film! YES!!! Produced by Neil Huber, written & directed by Dan Clements.

Trevor Wells: Sound great! I'll get it on my queue. Any future projects you can tell me anything about?

Randy Thomas: I have a nice role in Feeling Butterflies being released on March 12th, directed by one of my favorites Marita Grabiak. I also have a role in Moonfall that is currently in theatres. It's a nice role as a lawyer defending the lead's son in court. It was nice to work with Roland Emmerich, even if it was for only one day. More to come ;)

Trevor Wells: Neat! Glad to hear you're doing movies with people you enjoy working with. Before we wrap up this interview, what advice do you have for any aspiring actors who may end up reading this?

Randy Thomas: It's called show-business not show-art. So understand that learning the business is equally as important as learning the craft. Unfortunately, schools spend very little time teaching actors how to manage and sustain their careers. The business is so competitive that you need to be laser-focused on what you want. Everything must serve your goal(s). Especially early on during your career. If it doesn't serve you and YOUR dreams... get rid of it.

...Oh...and if you are an actor, I would be very cautious about dating or marrying another actor. The highs & lows can be very hard on any relationship let alone, two actors in the same house. LOL

Trevor Wells: LOL! Sound advice regarding showbiz, and I can see why two actors dating might lead to personalities clashing. Thanks again for taking the time to talk to me, and I wish you the best with whatever the crazy world of acting has in store for you!

Actors
9

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.