Interview logo

Interview With a Lifetime Star: Mea Wilkerson

With the "Wrong" franchise getting a new batch of films, I thought I'd revisit some fresh-to-Lifetime stars from Wrong movies past. First up: The Wrong Cheerleader Coach's Mea Wilkerson!

By Trevor WellsPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

Trevor Wells: Hello Mea! Thanks again for taking the time to talk with me. So, to begin with, let's go back to the beginning: what first drew you to acting?

Mea Wilkerson: What first drew me to acting...hmm. The story starts in my sophomore year of high school at Wake Forest, determining which elective class I would take. I was already in a computer class, but I had a few more days to change it since I did not like that class. My best friend, Khala McCollum, told me about an acting class I could enroll in and how you would not have to do much in the class--basically saying it’s an easy A! So I went for it and while everyone sat around not paying attention, I was like a sponge absorbing everything my teacher said. I fell in love with the idea of playing with imagination, committing to another world, and exploring! It was so much fun to me. My teacher also knew I participated in modern dance and loved to sing, so she introduced me to musical theatre. When I found out I could sing, dance, and act all together at the same time on stage, that is when I knew what I would do for the rest of my life!

Trevor Wells: Wow! Bet you're glad your friend Khala told you about that class, seeing as how it was where it all started. And speaking of musical theatre, I found on your IMDB bio that you have quite a bit of experience in the field going beyond high school. You won an award for a lead role in Mirandy & Brother Wind and even co-starred in a production of Hairspray. What's your experience in the music theater scene been like?

Mea Wilkerson: My experience in the musical theatre scene came natural to me. The love I have for music and storytelling was transcendent in every musical I was a part of. I went to three different high schools and two out of those three is where I studied and performed in musical theatre. I was always one of the few Black people or sometimes the only Black person performing on a stage. Usually, that put me front and center or I would receive a special role. I believe that is what also made me keep going. There were not many people who looked like me, so I had to become an example.

After high school I joined a regional theatre, Raleigh Little Theatre, and joined the cast of Hairspray as one of the Dynamites. A director fell in love with me through that performance and cast me as the lead in Mirandy and Brother Wind, which was the best experience! I was 18 at the time and had sold out shows with so many different supporters, and then had a radio interview and won the award for Best Female in a Leading Role. I felt like a star! I really connected with the audience, they felt and believed me, and was able to follow and go on a journey with me through the whole story that I telling. That confirmed that I needed to go to NYC and get on an even bigger stage to touch more people.

The beginning of my second year living in NYC, I booked Hairspray again! This time it was as Little Inez and it was in Montpelier, Vermont. I lived in Montpelier for a few months working on Hairspray and here is where I learned that I have what it takes to deal with different climates, vocal rest, getting enough sleep, performing night after night, staying fit while training my body in yoga and Pilates, and committing to everything I did. I believe the most beautiful part about musical theatre is becoming a family with everyone. I do still dream of performing on Broadway one day, but after that production I came back to NYC, joined a girl group, signed with Sony Red, and began acting on screen.

Trevor Wells: Excellent! You certainly went a lot of big places before you reached the screens of Lifetime. So about this girl group you joined in New York: what else can you tell me about that?

Mea Wilkerson: MAJIX is a girl duo - [consisting of] me and Taylor Jones. When joining the group after Hairspray, I went through a series of auditions to showcase my vocals and dance abilities. After being chosen to be a part of the girl group, I was signed to Sony Red and began writing music, recording in studios, working with different producers, rehearsing with our dance instructor, and preparing for shows. It was such an amazing experience performing at SXSW (South by Southwest) Music Festival and meeting other artists who we admire. I have learned so much about the music industry and how versatile I am.

Trevor Wells: Excellent! And from the clip you sent me, I'd say you're really good. So looking back at your music theatre roots where your music journey started, what would you say is your favorite or most influential memory from that time?

Mea Wilkerson: My favorite/most influential music theatre memory was always having my mom in the audience laughing, applauding, crying, and always sending me flowers and a sweet note in my dressing room for EVERY show I performed in.

Trevor Wells: Beautiful memory, and I'm happy to hear you had a lot of support along your journey! Jumping ahead to your TV roles, Your bio also mentions your work with SYFY's The Internet Ruined My Life and Netflix's BrainChild--the latter of which you starred in. For some reason, IMDB doesn't list TIRML in your credits, so what can you tell me about that experience--as well as the other TV roles you had before The Wrong Cheerleader Coach?

Mea Wilkerson: Yes, The Internet Ruined My Life on SYFY was my first acting job. I played alongside Ashleigh Tai Ellis and made great friends with the writer, Adam Davis. On screen, I learned to replicate reality. I did not find it challenging. I found acting on screen as a new way of acting. The camera, lights, boom mic, and all of the unrealistic things outside of the frame did not make me uncomfortable. If anything, it challenged me to stay focused on my story that I was telling. After that production, I did web series and really anything to keep me going so I could study different characters and learn more about film, all while singing and dancing in MAJIX.

I remember right after a performance we had at SOB’s (Sounds of Brazil) in NYC, I received an email from Adam Davis notifying me that he is writing a show on Netflix, Pharrell Williams is the producer, and he wants me to be a part of it. Unfortunately, I did not have the chance of meeting Pharrell, but working with Adam again was a blast. We first worked on Episode 8 - Memory, which was fun because it was almost like a period piece, so the wardrobe was cool and it was shot in black and white. Also, breaking the fourth wall and speaking directly into camera was historical. This project taught me how lines could be changed on spot and you have to erase everything you previously memorized and deliver exactly what the director gives you. I love a challenge and love the thrill of taking directions and wowing the director by giving him/her exactly what they ask for. In fact, I did just that. Episode 7 - Creativity was the next episode we worked on. This episode involved singing, which is what I love to do. Working on that episode came easy and fun to do.

Trevor Wells: Sorry about not getting to meet Pharrell, but it sounds like it was still a fun experience. Now, for the project that officially introduced you to me: The Wrong Cheerleader Coach. What's the story behind you becoming a part of the "Wrong" family?

Mea Wilkerson: I have been living in Los Angeles for a year and a half and with my new agent, Leigh from Sovereign Talent Agency. She sent me out on my first audition, and I booked it. It was such a pleasure working with Vivica A. Fox! Watching her in iconic movies growing up, and now working alongside of her was a dream come true.

Trevor Wells: Excellent! Vivica's become a staple of the Wrong franchise, it seems. And as many of my readers know, David DeCoteau is a fairly prolific name in the indie/made-for-TV movie market. What was it like working with him and his crew?

Mea Wilkerson: Yes, David DeCoteau is a prolific name and working with him and his crew was fast and straight to the point. David reminded me of NYC, how you tell it like it is and get it done. He is very loving and the crew was very attentive. I was well taken care of. Even while filming during the pandemic, I felt safe and in good hands.

Trevor Wells: Glad to hear it! So looking back at my review of The Wrong Cheerleader Coach, was there anything you wanted to comment on?

Mea Wilkerson: I love your review, Trevor! Looking back on your review for The Wrong Cheerleader Coach, I admire you for seeing me as a heroine through the character I played. I would love to lead in films and TV shows!

Trevor Wells: I can definitely see that as well, you've got the charm and talent for it! So with 2021 just beginning, are there any future projects of yours you can talk about? Could you see yourself being involved in future Lifetime movies?

Mea Wilkerson: I am so excited for 2021. There are some new projects in the works that you will be seeing later on through the year, so stay tuned! And yes, I could see myself being involved in future Lifetime movies. I love storytelling!

Trevor Wells: Great! I'll keep an eye out for them. Now to wrap up this interview, what advice do you have for other aspiring actors?

Mea Wilkerson: My advice for aspiring actors is to really love what you do. Love it with all your heart and then some. Study! When you love something, you study it, experiment it, explore, and let having fun take you on a journey. Stay true to who you are. Discover more things about who you are and never stop going for your dreams!

Trevor Wells: Stellar advice, Mea! Thank you again for taking the opportunity to speak with you, and I look forward to seeing what you have cooking for this brand new year. Wishing you all the best!

Actors
1

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.