Interview logo

Get to Know British Music Artist Joshua Lloyd

Joshua Lloyd's "Heartless" is out now!

By Meikhel PhilogenePublished 2 years ago 4 min read

Joshua Lloyd, the musician from London, UK, has been firing energy into the newly reinvigorated Pop Punk scene as of late. With the release of his latest EP, "Sick when I wake up," having such tremendous feedback within the rock community, he has now brought us his latest single.

With his single, “Heartless,” out now, we took some time to hear more from Joshua Lloyd. Read below to learn more about Joshua Lloyd, the story behind his single, and what’s to come.

Hi Joshua Lloyd! Let’s start with how did you get your artist name?

Hi there. My artist name is my first and middle name joined together. Thought it sounded good, so I rolled with it.

What city are you from and where are you based now?

London, UK - currently still here.

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music? How did you get started?

Well, I've been writing my own stuff since age sixteen, but only really started chasing it, so to speak, for the last three or four years.

Has your upbringing played a role in shaping who you are and defining your sound today? If so, how?

Yes, of course. I was brought up by loving parents who did their best to make sure that I had what I needed and always tried to help me in my mission to make music. They still do now. Their influence and guidance shaped who I am now. While I didn't always go the easy route to get here, I'm happy with who I am now. I'm proud of me and that's down to them.

How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you?

Pure Pop Punk. Darker subjects sometimes, but always energetic guitar riffs and overall radness.

Do you have any hobbies outside of music? What do you do to stay creative?

Yes, I do. I'm a big gamer, and I love to stream with my boys and just have a laugh really. Pubs always a good shout too, haha.

Who are some of your main musical influences?

That's very varied, but within the genre I make, I could list a few. Blink 182, of course. Fall Out Boy, MCR. I love ModSun and MGK. I'm really into Blackbear too. I just love the scene new and old.

What are some of your future music career goals?

I would really love to collaborate with Sueco and a few others. I obviously would love to play massive venues, but mainly, I just wanna keep making people feel. Like when you release a song and get messages about how you make people feel and how it helps them - that's it, and that's when you know what your doing is right and good.

Now onto your release, “Heartless.” What inspired this song?

A breakup from my past. The heartache and the entire mess it did to my life at the time. It sent me on huge ride that still to this day I'm feeling the effects of. Yeah man, relationships are hard. Don't rush in kids, haha.

What is “Heartless” about in your own words?

It's about how someone you loved can be so damaging, so evil and so ruthless.

What is your favorite lyric in “Heartless” and why?

"Fooled me once, baby you fooled me twice, said that you loved me too while f****** other guy." I just thought, wow that's a really real line when I wrote it. I wrote it on the page, and then it hit me in my chest!

What message do you hope fans take away from your music and from “Heartless?”

Love hurts sometimes, but that's okay, and it's not your fault if you've been cheated on. It's theirs and only theirs.

What’s one of your proudest moments of your music career so far?

When I went back to my roots and made the switch to Pop Punk from Rap. I was very much a product of who I was around my entire life and wasn't happy being in that genre anymore. I knew that I needed to get back to my real self and the kid who grew up making Rock and Pop Punk. I knew some people wouldn't like it, but I did it for myself. Now, I'm happier. So, yeah that.

What would you say are the greatest lessons you’ve learned so far?

The mix is just as important as the lyrics, haha. Also, to always trust your gut and not constantly overthink everything. Usually, the base idea is the right idea!

What’s next for you? Are you working on any upcoming projects, or do you have any upcoming shows that we should be on the lookout for?

No shows currently planned, but I am working on my debut album.

Where can we follow you on social media?

Joshua Lloyd on all major platforms. @realjoshualloyd on Insta and Twitter.

Musicians

About the Creator

Meikhel Philogene

https://meikhelphilogene.com/

@meikhe1

@meirecordings

@psalminfinity

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Meikhel PhilogeneWritten by Meikhel Philogene

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.