Interview logo

Episode 8) Interview with River Joy

Podcast

By Jazzy Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
18

I want to start by thanking everyone for the support and ask that if you haven't rated the podcast in your podcast player, please do so! I'm more familiar with Spotify and if you're on the title page of the podcast there should be stars underneath on the left-hand side! Please go ahead and rate us five stars! Now on to the interview!

RIVER JOY (Pronouns they/them)

What strikes me about River Joy is their intentional style of work, which I elaborate more on later. River talks about everything from love to sensory overload to climate change; which we explore in the interview and here in their work! River’s energy was simply divine and calming; as soon as the Zoom call cut us off, I was left with this empty feeling, like the light had been sucked out of the room. A great interview and a lovely person to talk too!

Let's explore some of their pieces!

One of my favorite pieces by River is “The Walk”. They convene the love between two people without words; and instead through intentional action. Intentional is an adjective I would use to describe all of their writing. This particular piece really hit home for me when the character needs a no words day, and I’m reminded of times my husband has asked for moments like this and I haven’t been understanding. I loved how the story is built on this conscious and deliberate action of no words and it a fantastic entry to the challenge!

This particular poem, to a young poet, struck me in my humanity due to the vulnerability. Inside all of us is this young poet, and sometimes, we need to be reminded.

Some of my favorite quotes while doing the interview!

David Lynch is a beautiful wack job!

Our relationship grew out of quietness

Having someone's voice there for me

Now this poem is my FAVORITE. This poem is in all of our voicemails and heads. I have so many saved voicemails from my loved ones; one from my Gramma who isn’t with us and one from my Dad, who is my hero. I save them from my husband, and my friends. This poem speaks to this, and River did a phenomenal job incorporating the real messages they have and leaving us teary-eyed emojis in real life.




These next poems are a part of the climate series that is older for River. I loved the feeling of these poems, sad with a hint of hope. These poems gave me Bo Burnham's “That Funny Feeling” vibes. the I think it's a beautiful way to remind us that the world is sending us signals that it needs help. We need to listen.

Finally, closing thoughts for this episode. River’s voice is so soothing, as I listened back to that raspy calm voice I wanted to meditate. River showcases their poems on TikTok, a form of social media I don't possess but if you do should check out their account! Featured at the bottom of many of their work, River reads their poems for all of our delight. River is a super supportive car ea for here on Vocal and can be found on multiple Facebook groups and Discord.

Public Service Announcement

I want to thank everyone who supports the work being done here on Vocal, I apologize that I haven't been as active but I've been focusing on other things. I have reached out to Vocal to see if Vocal would like to be a part of the podcast, however, I have not heard back. I am looking for a partner if you are interested, email [email protected].

PodcastCreatorsAuthors
18

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    I will have to check out their work. I’m very intrigued. Thank you for continuing to connect creators on here.

  • On my way to read all your pieces searching for hidden Pieces of Eden 👀 Great interview!

  • StoryholicFinds6 months ago

    love it! ❤️

  • Oh yes, I've heard River read their poem on TikTok before and I love their calm voice so much! Oh you're looking for a partner? Hopefully someone comes along. Also, I hope Vocal gets back to you!

  • Cendrine Marrouat7 months ago

    I wish I had the time to do the podcast with you. But let me tell you this: You were born to be on radio. It was a wonderful interview. The conversation flowed effortlessly. You know how to make your guests comfortable.

  • Mohammed Darasi7 months ago

    Looking forward to listen to this episode 😁

  • Bradley Ramsey7 months ago

    Amazing episode! Will listen to more, so Spotify lets me give it 5-stars.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Excellent guest and excellent interview, Jazzy. Congrats to you both! PS: I also loved the climate poem series. 💖

  • Test7 months ago

    Bloody fantastic! You and River Joy have the best voices ever! I loved how easily the conversation flowed between you and the insights about writing fets done ie walking the dog! 🤍🤍🤍

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    💞

  • Test7 months ago

    It was a joy to be interviewed by you. You are also a light, and I felt a very similar feeling when zoom cut us off. Thank you again! I'm so honored to be part of this ♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.