Interview logo

Chat With Les: Breanne Patten

Mother, saxophonist, avid outdoorswoman & a pioneer in returning to our roots by raising her children under open skies.

By Call Me LesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
5
Breanne and her family enjoying their 1000 hours outside challenge.

This interview is part of a series of interviews collected for the ongoing column "Chat with Les" by Vocal Media author Call Me Les in the new Vocal Creators Chronicle. The Vocal Creators Chronicle is a free, online magazine. Les is both a columnist and a co-founder. Her column presents candid interviews with people from all backgrounds, and aims to examine the finer points in the lives of those around us, such as Breanne Patten: mother, saxophonist, avid outdoorswoman & a pioneer in returning to our roots by raising her children under open skies.

Breanne and her family recently celebrated their milestone of 1000 hours outdoors—way ahead of schedule. They had until the end of 2021 to finish their journey and yet they completed the hours by mid-August and then celebrated it in early September. Here they are at their beach party:

From Left: Tyler, Breanne, Blake (about to be 6), Logan (4) & front and center is Riley (2).

Breanne was inspired to complete the challenge from a Meta (Facebook) group. You can join in the fun with your family in the coming new year. Personally, Breanne says she finds parenting outdoors "1000 times easier"!

Check out the website for tools, tips and ideas.

The entire purpose of 1000 Hours Outside is to attempt to match nature time with screen time. If kids can consume media through screens 1200 hours a year on average then the time is there and at least some of it can and should be shifted towards a more productive and healthy outcome!

Breanne's Social Media: Instagram

Interview

Q: What is an average day like for you?

A: My life tends to revolve around the timing of my kids: waking up around 7 am, nap for my youngest after lunch and bedtime at 7 pm. In between is a beautiful chaos of meals, beaches, fights, snacks, parks, hockey, drama, visits with family and friends, more snacks, camping, bike rides, swimming, dancing, and yet again more snacks. We keep to a general schedule and routine but are also fairly laid back and go with the flow. We prioritize time spent outside and as a family and let things fall into place after that.

Snacks for hockey.

Q: What or who inspires you?

A: My children inspire me. When I stop to think about it, it amazes me that literally multiple times a day they are experiencing something new for the first time. And they approach that with excitement regardless of how minute it may seem to us at first glance:

“I tied my shoes for the first time!”

“It sounds really cool when I throw rocks in the water!”

“I went to the big gym at school today!”

And when they are feeling unsure they place their absolute trust in my husband and I to guide them. How cool is that?!? To get to be the person that is so completely trusted by someone else. So I try to soak that up and find moments in my day to really appreciate the smaller details that can still be new experiences for me to enjoy.

Q: Do you feel called to a cause of action? If so, what should readers know about it?

A: I don’t think it’s quite a call to action (yet?) but more of an evolving journey that I continue to see the positive impacts that reduced screen time and an increase in outdoor time can have on children’s well-being. I see so many benefits in my own children’s lives that I want to share that with others. To make a commitment to not just sit down in front of a screen but rather go for a walk, play at a park, have a campfire, ride a bike—they aren’t big, hard things to do, but for some reason most people choose not to and I would love to be able to show people how great it can be for their family.

Q: Why do you pursue your career and what is your niche?

A: What I do for a living currently is be a pretty great mom to 3 awesome little people. My educational background is in Developmental Services, Autism and Behavioural Science, as well as Inclusive and Therapeutic Recreation and Leisure. So while not specifically related, I definitely draw on those skills in regards to my parenting. I have the background knowledge to look a little deeper when my kids are feeling frustrated and acting out and figure out why and how to help them navigate that. We teach that different things work for different people and there isn’t one right way to do something. I’m proud to say that at least at the young ages of my children currently they are openly accepting of everyone regardless of their differences. We also actively choose to spend time engaged in recreation and, most significantly, outdoors.

So, when I take a step back, I can see that although I don’t work a typical job, my education is definitely still being put to good use as it is ingrained in how I choose to parent.

Q: What is your best accomplishment?

A: My greatest personal achievement can be seen in my three children. I may be biased, but I think they are pretty awesome little humans who are empathetic, kind, confident, silly, loving, genuine, caring, and brave.

Blake Patten

Breanne with her eldest son Blake.

Logan Patten

Breanne with her middle child Logan aka Logie Bear.

Riley Patten

Breanne with the littlest addition, Riley aka Riley Bean.

Q: How do you pick yourself up after a failure?

A: My husband is always my rock if things are falling apart. There isn’t much that can break his calm, easy going demeanour. We have known each other for 22 years, almost two thirds of our lives and the comfort and familiarity in his presence can almost always right a topsy turvy turn in the adventure of life.

Breanne and her husband Tyler Patten.

Q: What quotes get you through the hard times?

A: A quote I discovered in high school that resonated with me was

“To the world you are one person, but to one person you could be the world.”

At the time it felt significant to me as I worked as a support worker for a young girl who was diagnosed with autism and was also non verbal. We spent a lot of time together and it felt like she could often rely on me as her “world” to help her navigate life. The quote evolved and changed meaning for me when I lived in that happy newlywed phase where the world seems to just revolve around the two of you. It has since changed for me again as I realize that I am often the centre of my children’s universe. So, when I feel small and insignificant, I can remind myself that to 3 little people I’m pretty darn important.

Q: What would you like to have remembered about you?

A: I would like to be remembered as someone who was genuine and kind, a great mother. I don’t feel a need to be remembered by something hugely significant but that I was there and I showed up and helped people when they needed it and was a happy and welcoming presence.

Q: If you could have a superpower, what would you choose and why?

A: I think I would choose super speed as my super power. I could just speed through the mundane necessary tasks of life and get right to the fun parts where I get to enjoy my friends and family without the never ending list of tasks looming over me.

Q: What is one message or piece of advice you would give to your fellow humans?

A: Be kind. I don’t think there is any advice I can give that is more genuine than that. There really isn’t a reason to be anything but kind to someone. We have no idea what may be happening in someone else’s life and it is not our place to add any more hardship to their journey.

Trivia

Travels: It’s been a while since we’ve been anywhere exciting but one of my favourite places is New Zealand! Tyler and I rented a caravan for our honeymoon and travelled from one end to the other. Italy and Switzerland are two other favourites 🙂

Music: Country music used to drive me crazy when I was growing up, now it’s what I listen to most often. I’m turning into my mother. We listen to a wide variety of music at home though and I love to have the kids listen to the oldies. The Dock of the Bay by Otis Redding is my favourite!

Bad Habits: I’ve been a nail biter since I was little. What is especially hard now is trying to discourage the habit in my son.

Memorable Moments: the birth of my 3 kiddos, bungee jumping, and skydiving. Those high adrenaline moments really stay with you.

Early bird here. I’d rather wake up and get a jump start on the day. Once the kids are in bed I’m done for haha.

Hidden Talents: played the alto-saxophone in band (with Les) in highschool! (No...we aren't sharing photos :p )

Finale*

Q: If you had a theme song that played when you entered a room, what would it be and why?

Les says, Breanne really struggled with this. At one point, I suggested asking the kids. Their answers:

Riley said, “Wheels on the Bus.”

Logan said, “Love You Forever” which I sing them every night.

Blake said “Johnny Hammers” because he thinks of me working and doing all the jobs

Eventually, it was decided Breanne's song would be "Better Together" by Jack Johnson. She hadn't realized at the time that this is both the motto of The Chronicle and a line from my new book, Owl in a Towel! So, of course, I mailed her a free, signed copy. <3

She chose her song because...

"Life isn’t always easy and there may be a million things I have to do but I wouldn’t want to do it without my crazy crew by my side. I also like that the vibe of the song is just cool and laid back. That’s how we roll around here…amidst the moments of chaos, haha."

And this concludes the interview of the charming, humble, gem of a human being,

Breanne Patten.

~~~

Previous interviews in this series include:

About Les & Why She Writes Her Column

"Understanding each other is the foundation for many of the great causes in the world. I can’t champion them all, but, like Dr. Roshdy states, I can make a difference by starting with one. Telling one person’s story, starting small by bringing their passions, frailty, hopes and humor into the world, is a way I can make a difference to many." -Call Me Les

~CLICK HERE TO RETURN TO MAIN MAGAZINE~

*This question is dedicated to the memory of Les' writing partner, the late Tom Bradbury.

First published December 3, 2021 by Call Me Les for The Vocal Creators Chronicle.

Humanity
5

About the Creator

Call Me Les

Aspiring etymologist and hopeless addict of children's fiction.

If I can't liberally overuse adverbs and alliteration, I'm out!

Instagram @writelesplaymore

Vocal Spotlight

~&~

She/Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.