Interview logo

Center Stage with Gina C.

A creators in the limelight series

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago โ€ข Updated 11 months ago โ€ข 10 min read
Top Story - February 2023
58
Created with CanvaPro

Welcome to the Center Stage: Creators in the limelight series. I'd like to take a quick moment and explain my vision for these mini interviews before getting into the chat session I had with my lovely guest, Gina C.

I had the idea a few weeks ago that I wanted to know more about some of my favorite creators. I always love a behind-the-scenes peek into the creative or technical process of just about anything, whether it's a documentary, interview, or biography. This center stage series seemed a natural extension of my general curiosity.

My end goal is to give a small glimpse into what makes up these amazing creators through a fun and informative format. I've left the interview method up to them, either through facebook messenger chat, audio call or video call. I've also asked creators to come up with a question or two for themselves as this is to aim the spotlight on them. I hope you enjoy this new series!

* * * * *

My very first and thankfully willing guest is the wonderful Gina C. I first 'met' Gina through some Vocal-related facebook groups and quickly came to love her work. Over the last few months we've gained an online friendship, and I'm confident in saying she is a true gem. Not only is she an amazing poet and storyteller, she's also a supportive reader and a very active member of multiple facebook groups.

You can feel her passion and care in every piece she writes from the beautiful word choices she uses, to the amazing afterwards she includes in almost every piece. Please consider taking a look at her profile and subscribing so you won't miss a thing.

For Gina's interview, we went with a facebook chat session. I hope you find it as engaging as I did.

H: So, I plan to ask you a question and then we chat back and forth about it. When you feel done with your answering, we'll go to the next. Sound ok?

G: Yeah, sounds great!

H: Awesome! Question 1: What is the most difficult part of your writing process?

G. ...

H: There is no wrong answer :)

G: Ok so I kinda wrote my whole process here and then realized I needed to pick one, so here is the toughest part ๐Ÿ˜…It depends on if I'm writing a poem or a story. If I'm writing a poem, it's the puzzle work of putting my rhymes together - and choosing rhymes I like. (I don't like to use words JUST because they rhyme).

H: That makes a lot of sense.

G: If it's a story, it's definitely the plot.

H: Yes, plotting is a completely different kind of thing. I find it interesting that though both rely heavily on pacing, poetry and storytelling.

G: Yes, definitely. Also, lately, a lot of my poems "tell a story," which overlaps the two challenges. ๐Ÿ˜…Here is the rest of what I wrote for the poetry process and then deleted it, LOL: Each word is very carefully selected. Then, there is also the creation of the flow. I write free form - which is wonderful because it gives me endless, well, freedom - but it can often feel like TOO much freedom. Then, there is deciding on the structure. Many of my poems have "song like" structures - containing semi-repetitive stanzas - and others do not. Then there is the highlighting and bolding of words that I oddly do, which I started doing as a way to create rhythm.

H: Thank you for those additional notes. Do you write the piece first and then go back and choose the bolding and highlighting and such or is it a part of the writing?

G: I'll usually write a few lines and then go back and decide where I want the emphasis to be. So I work on it as I'm creating the poem.

H: I find that so fascinating and a wonderful part of your work :)

G: Thank you โ˜บ๏ธ

H: You're welcome! Are you ok to move on to question 2?

G: Yeah! I think I was just going to add that the rhymes and "style" can be fun and also very frustrating. But, in the end, I usually feel really proud of the work I put in...even if it's not the best ๐Ÿ˜…

H: I love that! You should be very proud.

G: Thank you! ๐Ÿฅฐ

H: Great! Okay, I'll ask the next question and then after we can go to one of your questions. How have you seen your work change at different stages in your life?

G: I can't exactly remember when I first started writing poetry. I used to always try to write stories but I felt I was not good at it because I didn't have much life experience. Around 15 years ago, I wrote a poem called "Silent Warrior" that was pretty much the birth of the style I use today. Sadly, I have lost that poem, but my poetry has always been pretty uplifting as a way to inspire myself to keep moving forward with life. Recently, I've been incorporating some darker elements into my work, which I'm really quite enjoying. I would say that as far as stories go, my writing has improved from joining the Vocal challenges and also just finally having that life experience.

H: Wow, it's been some time then since you've found this as your creative outlet. I find that wonderful. I don't find it coincidence that the older you've gotten the more the dark elements have more of a draw. I think it's a natural thing as you experience more life. I love that the Vocal challenges have given you more opportunities for growth.

G: Yeah and also what I've enjoyed about the darker shades is that people relate to them more.

H: Yes, that is very true. I know I do. Anything else you'd like to add for this one?

G: I don't think so, I think that's good.

H: Great! Okay, so time for one of yours then.

G: Ok, should we do the music one? I also think I had a good response for the favorite drink. I wish I could have thought of a more creative one ๐Ÿ˜…

H: LOL, people just like to know other people! Do both if you want :)

{What kind of music do you like to listen to while writing?}

G: Ok, so regarding this music - this is really weird - but I really love listening to "ambient space music" ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… when I write. There are some tracks on YouTube by Julien Mulder that really get me into an ethereal, mysterious zone, and really spark my creativity.

H: I love that!! Do you have a link to one? I kinda want to listen to it :)

G: Sure! Let me grab one...This is one of my favorite ones. It has both an enchanting but also eerie feel. There are a few others that I use for slightly different vibes. There is a brighter sounding one that I used when I was writing "Lilith of the Valley."

H: Oh that is soooo soothing.

G: Yeah it really gets me in the feels ๐Ÿฅฐ

H: I find this so fascinating as I've seen your work described as ethereal and floating, magical even. And this music gives those feels. How cool! Thank you for sharing.

G: I'm so glad you like it.

H: Well this may lend well to the next question if you're ready for it. Do you have a certain writing routine or environment that you like to work in?

G: I am definitely at my most creative in the early morning. We're talking 4am with a cup of coffee. I've always enjoyed the early morning (even though it's hard to wake up) and taking that time for myself before work. I think it's an introvert thing. After work - which is very EXHAUSTING since I'm a teacher and it requires me to be an extrovert - I come home and try to write, but it's never the same. The early morning is definitely my most creative, peak hours. And it's always on the couch, in my jammies, with a big ass cup of coffee ๐Ÿ˜…also with the space jams.

H: Ahhh, I love that! I feel that each of us has a part of the day that is our 'it' time. Where we're at out best creatively. I agree with you on the big ass cup of coffee, but I tend to be a night owl. I know quite a few teachers that consider themselves introverts and NEED that downtime when they get home. I appreciate that you get that time before work and make it a priority. Ok, so how about another fun one or two and then one more serious one? What is your favorite thing to drink? What/who (lol) is your spirit animal?

G: My favorite thing to drink is definitely coffee, although I've been trying to cut back lately. I've been trying this stuff called "mud water" which is like a coffee alternative and I've gotten used to it as an "afternoon coffee."

H: Oh, I've heard of that!

G: Yeah the mudwater is pretty good I think... it tastes like chai when you put creamer in it.

H: Creamer makes everything better, lol

G: I feel like my spirt animal is horrifically cliche, but it's a butterfly. I'm really into the metamorphosis concept and it is embedded in a lot of my work. I also have a really poetic, true story about butterflies, which I plan to write about someday.

H: Metamorphosis is such a wild concept. I've seen the butterfly influences in your works and love that it means that much to you. I look forward to hopefully reading that story someday.

G: It's honestly kind of an embarrassing story but also an inspirational one โ˜บ๏ธ

H: I'm definitely intrigued to know more as embarrassing and inspirational sound like a fun pairing!

G: I'll write it soon.

H: I look forward to it. Alright, last question...I'll let you choose which one to answer: What does literary success mean to you? How do you picture it? OR What would you most like readers to know about you as an author?

G: Hmm

H: You can answer both if you really want to. I don't mind.

G: I think the second one, just thinking of my answer.

H: Perfect! I'm listening to the uplifting one now. {An additional music link she shared with me.}

G: It starts off kinda mysterious then gets brighter โ˜บ๏ธI guess what'd I'd like readers to know about me is that although my pieces tend to come out very "other worldly"...or as I often say "ethereal," I am actually very human. I mentioned that a lot of my work can be considered inspirational. The reason I write that style is because I'm actually talking to myself and reminding myself there is a bright side despite the darkness. Although my pieces with notable darker elements I think many times tend to be more relatable, my uplifting stuff is coming from a place of doubt and insecurities.

H: I love that you can use your work to both inspire yourself and also others and at the same time write out your dark side too and connect with those same people in a different way. Beautiful.

G: Thank you so much ๐Ÿฅนโค๏ธ

H: I have definitely felt both when reading your pieces, so thank you for that.

G: Yay I'm so glad ๐Ÿฅฐ

H: As we finish up here, are there any last thoughts you'd like to share with readers?

G: I don't think so, other than saying thank you so much for reading and the support!

H: Wonderful, thank you for taking the time to do this with me! I appreciate it so much.

G: Thank you for giving me the opportunity! This has been really fun and exciting.

H: You're welcome. I had so much fun!! And the listening music was great. It just ended. Perfect timing.

G: I love that you love the music.

I hope you enjoyed this glimpse into Gina's world. I highly encourage everyone to check out her amazing work. Here is one of her pieces that I fell in love with:

~

Take a look at the next article in the series with guest, Paul Stewart!

Creators
58

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Congrats on your top story last February! ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰ I will be looking for more such stories. I find the interviews very interesting.๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’•

  • Abigail Penhallegonabout a year ago

    This is so great! Heather, thanks for doing it, and Gina- I didnโ€™t even realize how long youโ€™ve been a part of all this, and it makes it so much more meaningful to me that youโ€™re always so supportive of this newbie. I think the music and especially the butterfly just make perfect sense after reading your work! Keep it up, both of you.

  • Vivian R McInernyabout a year ago

    Great idea for a series!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I was motivated to read this because I found myself happily lost in a bunch of Gina's poetry this morning. LOL! It's nice to be able to see how she works, what motivates her, etc. She has such a style that's all her own and none of her pieces have ever disappointed. (Neither have yours). This was awesome! Thanks for posting this!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Wonderful interview! This interview flowed well. Love the mystical quality in Gina's work and you captured her spirit beautifully. โค๏ธ

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Wonderful idea. Great insight. Good luck on your new venture. Congrats on Top Story.

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Very well done. It felt like I was at a coffee shop listening in on a conversation. It was great to get to know a little about one of my favourite writers.

  • sungsoo-kimabout a year ago

    Congratulations. Thank you. It's fantastic and I feel like I'm walking in a dream. There's this magical power to concentrate

  • Interesting and Sweet Interview! Great flow and is very natural to read!

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    What a lovely and fantastic idea! Great interview and wishing Gina all the best! Thanks, Heather, and congrats on Top Story ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ™‚

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    Congratulations on the top story. Nicely done!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the well deserved Top story

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Omg I LOVE this Heather! Agree with Gina, morning is my best time too hehe ! Congratulations ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    This was fun to read and insightful even though I wasnโ€™t yet familiar with Ginaโ€™s work. This was a nice idea to give deserving creators a spotlight and help them get exposure! Off to read some of Ginaโ€™s work now

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Such a great idea, and what a wonderful first choice, some one I have not had the pleasure of reading their work. Now I have and wonder how i have not seen Gina C creations earlier.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Thank you so much - again! - my dear friend, for the amazing opportunity to be in the limelight. ๐Ÿฅนโค๏ธ You are a natural interviewer (and, of course - an incredible writer!) and this was such a fun experience for me! I am so thrilled to have had the chance to provide insight into my odd little creative process. โ˜บ๏ธ You are definitely helping to inspire other writers through this series. You are amazing, brilliant, and soooo incredibly thoughtful and kind. ๐Ÿฅนโค๏ธ Thank you so much for doing this! โค๏ธ

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Wonderful interview and congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Interviewing is an art and you have shown that you are an artist. Well done

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story :) I think talking about our processes and putting it out there makes others who are struggling with an aspect or two less alienating. A really great concept!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Lovely interview with great insights! Congratulations on top story!

  • Both of you noblewomen are excellent innovators ๐Ÿ“โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ™

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Woop woop. Ring the Bell. Another TS for Hubler. Well done. Felt it probably would get TS anyway, but it is very much deserved!

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    The music selection does sound like Gina, naturally, authentically, and all too genuine. I tend to listen to music like that when I want to meditate or be calm. I like how she explained the bolds, italics, and brackets in her poems are for expression of emphasis. I know that when reading lyrics for songs some lyrics will often be wrapped in parentheses. So, it makes sense, however when I'm reading her poems and there's a shift in format or grouping I tend to read it in a different voice. For my mind spaces tend to hold the flow more dominantly than others aspects. Plus, I get the early riser stuff. When I really want to make something good or just record a dream I'll get up and send a text message or open up Google Docs as needed. Regardless, I'm more of "give me my X hours of sleep and I'm fine." It's still odd knowing that Gina's an introvert and chose an extremely extroverted job, especially with the most extroverted people, children. Children lack no filters except when they want to get something they know they shouldn't have. So, my hat's off to her. I sort of never saw her spirit animal as a butterfly, but the metamorphosis bit does make sense. Regardless, lots of animals and insects go through some sort of change. Lots of salamanders for instance start out as larvae like tadpoles with gills and fins in place of limbs. When I thought of an animal for Gina I went along the lines of the Jellyfish. It transforms at different stages of its life, and sometimes reverts to earlier stages when things get to hostile. I sort of thought of that in reference to how an introvert needs to recoop after a long day out amongst people to recharge. She is right about gravitating to the darker elements. I remember when I was a kid I got in trouble with a teacher for writing an ending to a story that had a very dark theme and she was like "How could you write this?" My mom read my work and she told my teacher "You told him that he could write whatever he likes and it led to his conclusion very logically. He's just not slapping stuff together. He's writing it together and writing it well." Only reason why I didn't get an A on that assignment is because I made the theme darker, which made me kind of annoyed. "If you don't want me to write about anything, then don't say I can write about anything. Make up your mind people." The space jams are jamming though, I got em' blasting as I type this comment on my phone. Gina (and You btw) does seem like the person to try something different than traditional coffee. Either way, this was a fun read and I can't wait for my interview. Thanks Heather!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    This is such a cool idea. I love learning more about the creators I support! Can't wait for the next interview :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.