Interview logo

Boston Hiphop is on the Radar!

Artist "Lib" is creating new waves! Read below to learn more!

By NewWaveLLCPublished 4 months ago 7 min read
Like
Lib at "ITSLITBOSTON" Podcast.

Lib has been on our radar for a year now, his style is one to pay attention to! Every single he drops or songs he's engineered solidifies the fact that he simply loves music. We are excited for this in depth interview to better understand this " Music Machine" and what it is like repping the Boston Scene.

Since Lib was a child hes always been a musician no matter what instrument he was playing or what lyrics he was always writing, Lib said " When I was teen I wanted to rap to turn my introverted thoughts into relatable songs". In terms of entering the hiphop scene, he started going to open mics, basement parties and cyphers when he was 19 years old. Since then he traved to multiple major cities to perfom and create with artists at a large scale than him, which has only broadened his horizons and soundscape.

Lib said "The City of Boston is incredibly diverse in genres, each and every genres all respect and enjoy each other's works". Hes been apart of the hiphop scene and producer- engineer which has given him opportunities to work with artists in RnB, Pop, Hip-Hop/Jazz fusion and even rock music. Which has been influencing the latest songs he added to his valt aswell as the finest pieces of mixing in his engineering catalog. Lib said " Boston also has a rumored aggressiveness to it, which at times can be true depending on the situation. You’re a lot more likely to get into a fight than you are a Twitter beef, so that in-your-face feeling definitely shows itself in my more energetic and aggressive raps".

As we asked Lib what unique elements does he bring to his music that represent his city and culture, Lib said "Boston is so diverse and accepting musically, and also because I’m an openly emotional person, my music can be like a canvas with no direction until the paint’s already dried. I usually don’t enter the creative process with an idea of what I’m going to do, I just start and go. Boston has a fast pace to it, living or working in the city can at times put you in a rush which I like to show in the pockets of high energy my songs contain. Being respected and appreciated by artists from all different spaces and genres in the community only adds to my diversity musically, so I’m reciprocal of that appreciation by not fitting myself into a box musically, and always striving to innovate as a musician from Boston".

Lib's latest album "Bermuda" have been receiving positive reviews! We ask Lib what message does he hope his fans take away from it, Lib said "It’s awesome that Bermuda is still receiving love, looking back I feel like I’ve drastically improved from that in every way. I sometimes forget that all of my music is able to be appreciated no matter how I feel about it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s conceptually incredible and I still haven’t heard much production like the production of Bermuda, and I truly believe it’s gonna be a cult classic among my fanbase as I grow. That was the only time so far that I’ve sat in the same room for months to a year crafting an album. It felt like I was world building the whole time, that album is my baby. When my fans hear that album, I hope they take the importance of mental health with them as the album ends". We also asked Lib what was his creative process behind it all, Lib said "Bermuba is a location I’ve never actually been to, but it looks beautiful in all its photos, that right there is the concept; imagining paradise and a sanctuary in a place you’ve never been to…until you make your own mind that place. “Keep your eye in the sky ‘cause it all belongs to you” as I say in the very last words of Bermuda".

Collaborations have become a significant aspect of the music industry. Lib has worked with people at his caliber and above his caliber in the city of Boston, with the likes of Julian Mendoza, L.ucas, Nigel Skyworth, GetMoneyManny, Gigi K, and so many more. All those experiences expanded his network and enlightened him to take more risks in terms of genre.

Lib told us he is looking to convery in his music but one thing he has always made prominent and will always discuss is mental health. Just a year ago he was diagnosed with anxiety and depression, Lib said "Strangely enough it was one of the best things that ever happened to me; knowing what’s wrong with you instead of always asking “what’s wrong with me?” is an answer many people my age would find relief from nowadays". Since his diagnosis he become more self aware and able to help others. Lib quote "I don’t see my issues as a burden; I see them as a chance to get to know myself better and love myself in the ways I need, which can be felt in my music. For my fans and listeners, I’m the voice I always needed". 

We ask Lib does his music address social issues and advocate for change like some other hip hop artists, Lib said " I do want to speak on in the future, I’m not only an advocate for mental health, but I’m also heavily about equality in all aspects, especially as a mixed man from a multicultural area; Boston and Greater Boston. Growing up with a single mother and still having a supportive father in my life taught me to be a gentleman and protective of women, so I’ve been working on reducing words like “b*tch” or “h*es” in my music to welcome the ladies into my fanbase more". Lib also said his biggest helping hands now is his girlfriend and fellow artist/ producer A'maria Imani, who has been producing a good chunk of his latest songs and many more! Lib said " As a loyal man I believe it’s very important to maintain respect for your woman and for all women in the public eye, so my future music will definitely be a beacon for that".

The journey to success in the music indusrty can be challenging, as we dive more into what it is like, we ask Lib what were some of the obsacle he faced along the way and how did he overcome them. 

Lib said " Becoming self sufficient and critical about how my time is spent. It’s so easy to get side tracked by other people in the industry especially when you’re known for wearing multiple hats; you have a skill everyone needs. For example, recently my audio engineering career has been getting a little more serious, so I had to cut out the projects that weren’t paid and raise some prices. Another crucial thing to note is your strengths and weaknesses. Whatever my strengths are, I keep sharpening that iron. Whatever my weaknesses are, I reach out to someone who can help who has my weaknesses as their strengths. That way I’m not overworking myself or wasting time, because I’m not on top just yet. I open myself up to learning, which is something everyone should be doing".

Boston Hip hop scene is known for its diversity but no matter what the genre is, Lib is always himself. Lib said " I don’t like to create stories, I like to speak from stories I’ve lived. In terms of the sonics, I stay aware on what songs need a gentle vocal delivery, and what songs need more voice projection, and that applies to both my singing and rapping". Lib's performances have garnered a reputation of high energy and engaging stage presence, we asked Lib how does he prepare for his live shows.

Lib said " I over-rehearse. I don’t rehearse until I know the songs, I do it until I feel like I’m already on the stage. I like to picture myself in an arena rather than a bar or club, that way I’m preparing myself for more eyes, and also manifesting them" We wonder what he enjoyed the most about connecting with his audience, Lib told us he enjoys the most is when his fans eyes are glued onto him. Lib said " I can tell their attentive to what I’m saying and how I’m saying it. Some of my choruses don’t use too many words and are very easy to learn, so when they end up singing that last chorus word for word I feel like I’m ascending. Nothing about performing beats that".

Boston has produced several notable hip hop artists, we asked Lib how does he see himself contributing to the legacy of Boston's music scene. Lib responds "As a musician of many hats, I’ve already been told that my name is seen everywhere. My contribution to that would be strengthening that with my artistic and global growth. I want to be known as that multitalented artist who helped dozens of local artists perfect their sound, and is now the biggest artist out representing Boston, Greater Boston and all of their glories".

As this interview come to an end we are pleased to have a better understanding on what it is like repping Boston music scene and what it means to him, Follow him for more of his journey!

Musicians
Like

About the Creator

NewWaveLLC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.