Interview logo

An Invitation to Writers, Authors and Artists

Interviews, book reviews...

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2023
44
An Invitation to Writers, Authors and Artists
Photo by Sam McGhee on Unsplash

Are you an author, writer, or artist? If so, I would love to hear from you and help you promote your work.

I am not sure if I have mentioned this on Vocal. (Apologies if I repeat myself!) I used to be a digital journalist and art critic. For many years, I interviewed hundreds of independent artists from around the world and reviewed their work. Unfortunately, the magazine for which I wrote my stories closed overnight, and much of my content went down the drain in the process.

Last year, I restarted my interview series on Medium and Vocal, and since then, I have had the opportunity to spotlight several incredible creatives.

(If you are interested in checking them out, scroll down the page for links.)

I offer several options:

  • Author / Artist interviews
  • Book reviews
  • Reviewer / Interviewer database - Click here to access that specific information.

All types of creatives (authors, writers, photographers, painters, sculptors, filmmakers, etc.) are invited to apply. While I would prefer featuring people who are at least 17 years of age, I would be more than happy to make an exception for younger artists. But make sure that you follow my guidelines. 😉

If you are looking for publication opportunities, I also provide that option. Check out Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Mug of Cozy for more information.

Main Rules

  • Submission does not equate acceptance.
  • Please follow my guidelines to a T. It will save me time and help speed up the process.
  • Your work and message must be family-friendly. This means: clean language + zero erotica or nudity. Occasional swear words are ok, as long as they are mild.
  • I am particularly interested in topics that people struggle to discuss, such as mental wellbeing, bullying, grief, suicide, and our connection to nature.
  • Politics and religion are acceptable, as long as there is no proselytizing involved. Your arguments must be backed up by solid, documented facts.
  • I have no patience for gaslighting, bullying, trolling, racism, misogyny, homophobia, biphobia, transphobia, etc. Also, if I publish your words and discover that you act differently from the way you portrayed yourself to me, I will delete your spotlight without any warning.
  • Applications for book reviews must include press kits (example here). Otherwise they will be rejected.
  • Reviews are not guaranteed.
  • Genres I love: poetry, flash fiction / short story collections, cozy mystery, theatre, visual art, photography, and historical nonfiction.
  • Genres I might consider: children’s books, sci-fi, romance, fantasy, and thrillers.
  • Even if your book has not been published yet, I expect it to have been proofread and edited before you send it to me. I will automatically reject it if it reads like a draft rather than a polished product.
  • My average reviewing time is 2 months after receiving a copy. I will publish my full reviews on my blog, Medium, and Vocal, and promote them on social media.
  • If you are a cozy mystery author, please submit here instead.
  • Ready to Submit for a Potential Interview or Review?

    Awesome! I cannot wait to read you. Please click the link below and you will be able to apply.

    NB: This is a Google Form. If you are unable to fill it up, send me an email containing my questions + your answers + necessary files as attached documents. Only ONE email, please!

    Submit for a potential interview or review

    An Important Note

    While I understand that submitting for a potential interview or review can be stressful, I encourage you to do it anyway. Forcing yourself to be in the hot seat will help you to build your self-confidence and to take your work to places you may have never imagined possible.

    How do I know? I have been interviewed more times than I can count. I am an introvert and English is not even my mother tongue. 😉

    My Most Recent Interviews

    That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

    ---

    Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

    Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

    PhotographersFilmmakersCreatorsAuthorsActors
    44

    About the Creator

    Cendrine Marrouat

    Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

    "The Train: A Short Story" is out!

    Website: https://creativeramblings.com

    Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

    Reader insights

    Nice work

    Very well written. Keep up the good work!

    Top insights

    1. Expert insights and opinions

      Arguments were carefully researched and presented

    2. Easy to read and follow

      Well-structured & engaging content

    3. Masterful proofreading

      Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

    1. On-point and relevant

      Writing reflected the title & theme

    Add your insights

    Comments (15)

    Sign in to comment
    • This comment has been deleted

    • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

      I don't think I'm interesting enough to interview, but I lo e the idea!

    • MANOJ K 9 months ago

      Masss classic mam

    • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

      Hello, Cendrine. I do not wish to overlay info on this post, but I just wanted to make sure that the form I sent in via Google form was received for the book review request, as I sent it in I believe over a month ago. I don't usually use Google forms so I worried I did it wrong! Thank you💕

    • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

      I submitted some info, I just noticed JJ Barnes from the table read was listed on the site. I remember her, I had an interview for one of my novels there a few years ago.

    • Novel Allen11 months ago

      Wow! You have a really admirable portfolio. You present a very interesting gift to anyone who choses to work with you. Congrats and good luck with your endeavor.

    • Heather Hubler11 months ago

      A wonderful way to support other creators! Congratulations on Top Story, Cendrine :)

    • Heather Lunsford11 months ago

      What a cool thing you are doing. I don't think i fit in the category you are going for but I look forward to checking out the brave souls who step foreward.

    • Marilyn Glover11 months ago

      What a beautiful gesture, Cendrine! I will not allow nerves to get the best of me and accept the invite.

    • Cheryl E Preston11 months ago

      Keep up the good work

    • Ashley Lima11 months ago

      Really cool, Cendrine. Congrats on Top Story!

    • Gina C.11 months ago

      Such wonderful work you're doing to help out other writers, Cendrine! Very admirable ☺️ I have my thinking cap on as to how I could fit into this somehow. Thank you so much for the opportunities! 🥹❤️ Congrats on a well-deserved Top Story!! 🤗❤️❤️

    • Dana Crandell11 months ago

      You've done a great job with his, Cendrine. I hope it generates lots of interest. Congratulations on Top Story, too!

    • Donna Renee11 months ago

      Love how clearly you spelled this out for everyone, hopefully you get some great submissions! :)

    • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

      What a terrific behind the scenes with you! I enjoy knowing more about your talent this way, since your writing provides tantalizing glimpses not here and on Medium. I hope you get many requests!

    • Thanks for this sure it will be great exposure for a lot of people

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.