Interview logo

A Peek At L.C. Schäfer’s Vocal Writing Life

Mariann Carroll’s 23rd Vocal Blog interview

By Mariann CarrollPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
15
L.C. Schäfer’s at home writing space photo

L.C. Schäfer join Vocal in May 2020. She has written over 81 stories. She has over seven Top Stories, won two runner up stories on Vocal’s Challenges and the first to receive the $2o.oo first place winner for Vocal Bonus Leaderboard.

Fun Facts: Moss her family dog is on her profile picture because she's got the best cheesy grin!

L.C. Schäfer : Hi, DMing as requested!

Mariann: Thank you 🥰

L.C. Schäfer : You're welcome

Mariann: What’s the best time to interview you ?

L.C. Schäfer: I'm not sure. What time is it now for you?

Mariann: How do I address you? I am on eastern time. It’s 7:50 pm here. Where are you from ?

L.C. Schäfer: I'm in the UK, so GMT. I'm not sure what our difference is 😁

As for how to address me, I hadn't thought of it 🤔 However you like! Most on Vocal just call me L.C. which I'm happy with 😁

Mariann: What does L.C. stand for?

L.C. Schäfer : It doesn't stand for anything. They're just two initials I pulled out of the air.

Mariann: Are you married?

L.C. Schäfer : Yes I am

Mariann : Any children ?

L.C. Schäfer : I have two teenagers. A boy and a girl 😁

Mariann: Where do you live?

L.C. Schäfer : I live in Shropshire. Have you heard of it? It's a beautiful place.

L.C. Schäfer ‘s Town

I grew up near the Stiperstones, which has a lot of history and stories 😁

L.C. Schäfer beautiful town Photo

Mariann: When did you realize you wanted to write?

L.C. Schäfer : I started early, and I wrote all kinds of nonsense 😅 I liked poems a lot. Any kind of wordplay. Usually the stories involved adventures with animals 😁.

I can't remember a time when I didn't want to. Before I could write, I'd scribble ones and zeros on things and tell myself stories.

The first novel I read was The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. I was probably about four. It blew my tiny mind. I remember. Reading the bit where his mane grew back and thinking, That's what I want to do. Make stories like that.

Mariann: How long does it take you to write a story?

L.C. Schäfer : Do you know, I have no idea. 🤔 I've got half finished drafts that I've been sitting on for months. My most recent one (Amber's Cove), I knocked that out in a couple of days. Scott Wade gave me an idea this afternoon, and I pretty much finished that one already.

Mariann: What is your real life schedule and how do you fit your writing in it?

L.C. Schäfer : I'm self-employed. Sometimes I'm working my tail off and I say, "I don't have time to write". It's collywobble, but I say it because it feels true. I try to write whatever I can whenever I can. If that means a notes app on the bus or train, then that's what I do. I prefer to use my laptop at home, though. I usually write more in the evenings and at weekends.

Mariann: What does your writing space look like?

L.C. Schäfer: I have a comfy spot on the sofa where I sit with my laptop and annoy everyone with my clicky clacking.

Mariann: What do you like most about writing?

L.C. Schäfer : I think finding out what the characters are going to do next.

Mariann: If you were a book , what title would you give yourself and why?

L.C. Schäfer: Possibly CANTANKEROUS. I know it's a grumpy sounding word but I love it 😁

It would be in caps, just like that, in jagged and angry red script across the cover

Fun Fact : L.C. Schäfer is a pen name, she wanted her writing life separated from her everyday life. Using a pen name, makes her more creative.

Mariann: Who are your favorite Vocal writers?

L.C. Schäfer: Brenton F is one, Em and Stephen Kramer Avitabile is another 🤔

Mariann: What vocal Facebook group you belong to?

L.C. Schäfer: I'm in lots of Facebook groups. Vocal Social and Vocal + Assist are probably my favourites. They're active and everyone is very supportive.

Fun Fact : L.C Schäfer was recently invited to be an admin in Vocal+Assist

Mariann: What do you like most being a wife and what do you like most being a mom to your children?

L.C. Schäfer : My children are great people. They are smart and resilient and sarcastic. They can cook. Objectively, anyone would love being their parent. 😁 Being married is great. I can't believe so many people are so down on it, or believe husbands and wives loathe each other. The series recently out on Netflix called Inside Man, have you seen it? A character says something quite insightful about that. That usually people love their spouses. It's true.

Moss , L.C. Schäfer’s family dog/ profile muse picture on vocal photo fun fact

Mariann : Do you used Vocal Discord app ? What do you think about it ?

L.C. Schafer: I don't use the Discord app. I don't have the time at the moment. It's on my todo list 😁

Thank you, L.C. Schäfer for fitting me in your busy schedule. It was a great pleasure to interview you . ❤️🎉Congratulations on winning the first place on Vocal Bonus Leaderboard .

Authors
15

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer10 months ago

    Really enjoyed this one

  • Nice ❤️😉I really enjoyed reading this Interview, Thanks for sharing and letting us Get to know another Awesome Creator❤️❗

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved getting to know L.C. and added a new British word to my vocabulary!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    What a wonderful town and L.C’s dog. Town looks like a fairy tale. 😍👍 I must catch up on your interviews Mariann, I think I’m a couple behind. Thanks for sharing this one.

  • Another good interview, Mariann. Thanks for helping us get to know L.C. a little better.

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    Another brilliant interview!

  • Awww, Moss is so adorable! I didn't know L. C. Schafer was a pen name. Also, I'm Professor Cantankerous! But it's okay, since I don't own the word, she can use it too 🤣🤣🤣 I enjoyed reading this!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Nice job! I love the Cantankerous title haha 🤣😁😁

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    L.C. is great. Lovely interview 💖

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Great interview, you both. L.C. enjoyed getting to know a few fun facts, I always enjoy your works. Adorable pup, too.

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    Great interview 😁. It was nice finding out more about L.C., her stories usually has interesting plots and they're really fun to read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.