Humor logo

You'll Miss Me

When I'm Gone

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
12

"Oh, boy! How many times have I told you about doing this to me, Estelle?" Dent' sighed in a hushed tone. "I'm really getting tired of this, you know," he continued. (But who was he kidding, she never listened. This wasn't the first time she had tossed him around.) "Stubborn old woman!" he yelled. But he was correct, she wasn't listening. She wasn't even in earshot of him. In fact, she hadn't even missed him. "But she will soon enough," he reminded himself. "She'll come looking for me when she needs me, like she always does," (he comforted himself in that thought.)

Dent' thought about how happy Estelle was to first meet him. They had been perfectly matched and everyone thought they would fit together quite well. In fact, when they had gone out on the town and made their relationship known to close friends and relatives, they had all commented on what a beautiful smile Estelle had on her face. "Yes, he recalled, he had made her very happy in those early days together."

But as time passed, the relationship seemed to lessen. Quite frankly, Estelle had been neglectful of him. She never even dreamed of polishing up her act and thinking about his feelings. No, she just cast him aside most of the time...until she needed to make an appearance and then she looked him up. He tried to play hard to get, but she would always find him in the familiar places they had met before. It was so hurtful! Yet he always jumped right back in.

Recently, at a dinner party, she had even given him the brush off. They made their initial appearances and Dent' thought the night would go well, but Estelle was sneaky when she wanted to be. Halfway through the main course, she excused herself from him, and left him at the table holding her napkin. The others pretended not to notice, but they knew. He had been horrified at the ill treatment. They didn't speak for days after that, but he gave in, as he always did. "He was made for Estelle, his heart had spoken," he argued against his better judgment.

"But this time, I will show her who the boss is. I'm going to be even harder to find," he resolved. He stayed hidden for almost two weeks. And Estelle went out of her mind with worry. Little did Dent' know, but Estelle had enlisted the help of her great grandchild, Kylie in the search. Together, they looked high and low. But to no avail. Estelle said she would have to face the grim fact of living without him. Remorse overwhelmed her.

The next day, Kylie busied herself in child's play, chasing the cat around the house. The cat, a crafty soul, hid under Estelle's bed. But Kylie followed. Suddenly, Kylie brought something wrapped in a paper napkin to Grandma Estelle that she had found underneath the old lady's bed. As Grandma Estelle reached for it, she began to shriek in pure joy, "Oh Kylie! You found my dentures!!"

And Dent' was once again, happily back where he belonged, reunited with his Estelle. Hopefully, she would take much better care of their future relationship. He didn't honestly like hiding from her, not even for a minute!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

True story! My mother, (Estelle) was notorious about taking her "teeth" out and misplacing them. She would take them out and wrap them in a napkin, and then put them "up." Somehow, they accidently got knocked off her nightstand and got pushed under her bed. And Kylie, my young grandchild, along with the cat did find them...

Family
12

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 28 days ago

    Wow, this is so clever and unusual. Great mystery of hilarity!

  • Gigi Gibson4 months ago

    This was hilarious Shirley!! You had me in suspense the whole time. I never would have guessed who Dent' was. Great job!!!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Love the post script! I can so.agine being like this!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Poor old Dent'! Made me laugh! I was helping to clear out my husband's grandfather's house and in the kitchen, I reached into one of the higher cupboards and pulled out a set of false teeth. I think I'd have rather found mouldy food.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Ha! you got me with this one! I was like - hmm.. Dent is an unusual name! Great story! Love the fact it's a true!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I would never have guessed this was dentures! And I'm just tickled pink that it was a true story 😁

  • I don't know which is funnier, Dent' as in dentures being the misplaced item or the fact that this was based on a true story! Hahahahahahahahahahhaha🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Wait, did it not say submit to Fiction...Yep. You are in Humor.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Who knew Dent was Estelle's denture. Very clever Shirley. I was going through the list of what dent would be. You got me. Kudos.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.