Humor logo

Ventriloquism

and the best people doing it today.

By Jeremy WhitePublished 11 months ago 5 min read
1
Ventriloquism
Photo by Jez Timms on Unsplash

I am not a comedian. I know I am not funny. This article will not be about me making people laugh. It will be about one particular kind of performance and what makes people laugh. I am going to be talking about ventriloquism. Two people in particular, Jeff Dunham and Darci Lynn.

Jeff Dunham is the reason ventriloquism is what it is today and why people like Darci Lynn and Terry Fator can go on a talent show like AGT and win.

Jeff Dunham has been doing it a long time. He started when he was very young. His parents bought him his first doll at age 8. He has come a long way since then. He started performing for pay at an early age.

When he was in college it really ramped up. He was doing shows every weekend. He was doing a 100 shows a year. He was making 70,000 a year. He started gaining a following from performing in local clubs.

When he graduated High School he gave himself ten years to make it big. For him that was making it on the Johnny Carson show. He had an opportunity to get on the show at 26 two years before his deadline. The show that was going to be his audition did not go well. Almost 10 years to the day he made it on the Johnny Carson show. The rest is history. He has made millions of people laugh through the years and generations.

Let's talk about his characters. There is Walter, Achmed, Bubba J, Peanut and Jose Jalapeno. These are his main characters. He builds all his characters himself.

We all know a Walter. He is the old sometimes cranky guy that does not give a damn and has been married forever. He is funny because he is relatable. I will talk more about Walter and all the characters when I write about my experience watching the specials and seeing him live.

Acmed is the most unlikely character. Achmed is a dead terrorist. He is in the top running for most beloved character. He is funny for his catchphrase and the things he can talk about.

Bubba J is your typical southern redneck. If you are from the South, you will relate to him a lot. He is your typical beer drinking, Nascar watching southerner. He is funny because he nails the redneck vibe.

Peanut is Peanut. He is Jeff's only stuffed character. He is wild and wacky. He would be the crazy uncle. He is the other character that is in the running for most beloved character. Jose Jalapeno usually works with Peanut, He is on a stick. Their interaction is perfect.

My experience with Jeff and his characters started when I saw one of his comedy specials. It doesn't matter how many times I watch them I still laugh every time. It takes a lot to make me really laugh. Jeff and his characters can do it every time.

Walter makes me laugh mainly for his don’t give a damn attitude. He does the part of the show where they do a Q& A from the audience. That always makes me laugh because you never know what the audience will ask and you never know what Walter's response will be.

Achmed the dead Terrorist. Only Jeff could get away with a character that is a dead terrorist. The audience loves him. He is my second favorite character. I and everyone else is always waiting for him to say his catchphrase which is I Kill You. Everyone goes crazy when he says it. He can say some crazy stuff. His Christmas song is iconic. When he meets his son is another great moment.

Bubba J is relatable because I am Southern and growing up was a Redneck. Still am in some ways. Of the characters he is my least favorite. He is funny but the others are better.

We come to Peanut and Jose. Peanut is my favorite character. He is just so wacky and fun. He gets on Jeff's nerve which is hilarious. Peanut and Jose work well together. THe greatest act I have ever seen is when Peanut brought out a little Jeff ventriloquist doll. Peanut was making Little Jeff talk. That is the greatest skit I have ever seen. Jeff does all the voices really fast and perfectly.

The best part of seeing his live specials or seeing him in person is the screwups and the ad libbing. The specials were Achmed arms or legs come off or when Peanuts hair comes off. The funniest screw up is when he just throws Peanut across the stage. I haven’t laughed that much or hard in a long time.

When I saw him live, he mentioned a song. The next thing we knew he was looking up the song and playing and singing it. I wish I could remember the song. He did say that he will have to get the rights to use it. It was an older song. Those are the moments that make a show special and why he is still at the top of his game.

The second person I am going to talk about is Darci Lynn. She is incredible. She won AGT with a unique take on ventriloquism. She is funny, but her main talent is singing. Her characters sing. I have not had a chance to see her in person, but I would love to one day. Her characters are Petunia, Oscar and Edna. She won AGT at 12 years old. She is 18 now and has a great career that will keep growing .

I like that by using his Characters Jeff can get away with saying what he wants. He has had fun with this. He was trying to get them to stop talking. They looked at him like he was crazy because he is the one making them talk. It was funny

I hope you get a chance to watch Jeff Dunham live or watch his specials on TV and DVD. You can watch Darci Lynn's performances on YouTube. Welcome to the new Comedy Category Can not wait to read what everyone has to submit.

If you were at the Atlanta show and know what song it was please comment what song it was please.

Comedians
1

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.