Humor logo

60 Seconds

Last Minute Check

By Ning Van DamPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Like
My packed suitcase 🧳

Last minute check is just that, isn’t it? One last minute before departure. Yes, all 60 seconds of going through a list previously created with military precision to make leaving for a much needed holiday as seemless as possible.

Clothes -tick ✅

Footwear - tick ✅

Toiletries - tick ✅

Food/snack - tick ✅

Plants for neighbour to water - tick ✅

Ask another neighbour to take bin out on collection day - tick ✅

Tell bird/cat/dog sitter where pet food is stored - tick ✅

Bring house key -tick ✅

Bring ID/passport-tick ✅

Bring plane tickets - tick ✅

Bring some money -tick ✅

Order Uber taxi - tick ✅

Switch off TV, radio, digital clock & appliances bar fridge & freezer - tick ✅

Throw away fruit & vegetables into worm-farm bin -tick ✅

Feed tadpoles with ample dead lettuce leaves for 2 weeks - tick ✅

Hmmm ……. Anything that I’ve left out unchecked?

Nope! All is taken care of.

Beep beep …… Oh oh ….. my Uber driver is here!

Adeptly I zip up my suitcase, put on my sunglasses, pick up my handbag and hand luggage and lock my front door before stepping out into the footpath to get to my taxi.

Passing my front veranda I spot a scarf drying on a special clip-hanger by the rafter end. So I grab it and squeeze it into the front pocket of my hand luggage.

That’s it! All is packed and ready to go. Or so I thought!

Waving to my Uber driver, I smiled at her. She gets out of her car, opens the boot and helps me with my suitcase and hand luggage. I hop on the front passenger seat. None of that sitting on the rear passenger seat for me. Basically I want interaction with my trusted driver. And then she drives off, with me sitting contentedly next to her.

And …….. oh no!

Forgot to tell my neighbour to collect my mail from the mailbox!

Never mind! I’ve both their phone numbers: I shall sms one once I am at the airport and ask her to take care of my mail. They’re probably only bills! Who needs them, right? They can wait till I return.

Before long my driver reaches our destination. I paid her and off I go to the check-in counter after my Uber driver helps me with my luggage.

So far it’s a walk in the park! Phew! Modern technology is great! If it works! Oftentimes there are glitches! Then everything comes to a crashing halt! Checking in has to be done the old fashion way: ticking passengers’ names off a printed list on paper. Thank goodness for the printed paper. Nothing beats them when it comes to expediency!

Before long the loudspeaker announces my flight ✈️ departure, and it’s time to get onboard.

Boarding pass in my hand, I follow other passengers walking through the tunnel to enter my flight.

Easy peasy!

Three hours later I’ll be in Fiji 🇫🇯. In my hotel room, putting on my bikini and then have a dip in the hotel swimming pool. Unpacking my suitcase can wait. Or not at all! I’ve lived out of suitcases before and none is the wiser. And I was as happy as a pig in mud! Seriously! Just like I am now.

It only takes 60 seconds to get through my check list. I know as I set my phone stopwatch to test my speed. As it does to decide when I need a break. The rest is relaxing for 2 weeks. All paid for by my hard earned dollars. My blood, sweat and tears!

Wait a minute! Where is my cell phone?

Oh bummer! I’ve still my Australian SIM card! May need a Fijian one while there. Do I, really? Nope!

I’ve decided no need for a Fijian SIM card. I can do without online contact for 2 weeks. Surely nobody is going to miss not getting sms from me.

I bet you my bottom dollar on that!

Happy Travel!

General
Like

About the Creator

Ning Van Dam

Born a Horse Child in Chinese astrology I’m identical to the animal: confident, strong, elegant, indipendent, intelligent, hardworker, loyal, proud, wilful.

Being Cancerian, my traits are: despite a tough carapace its all sweet meat inside.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.