Humans logo

Zhou Hua in Yu Minhong's eyes

Zhou Hua in Yu Minhong's eyes

By Berard JacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Zhou Hua is my college classmate and roommate. He was the first person I saw in the dormitory on the first day I entered Peking University.

Today's Zhou Hua has the charm of a mature and successful man. But at that time, Zhou Hua was just a little boy from Nankou Town, Changping, Beijing. He was full of dreams, but he did not know where to settle his dreams. He was the son of a military compound, so he was most often seen in his old military uniform.

For Zhou Hua, my deepest memory is in the first semester of university. One day, I was sitting on the edge of my bed, staring out the window. Coming from the countryside to Peking University, I could not speak Mandarin well and couldn't keep up with my academic performance. When autumn leaves fall from the window of the poplar, my heart is full of sadness, can not help but sigh: I miss home! I want to go back to the countryside! Zhou Hua happened to be in the dormitory, silently handed me an apple, and said: the bread will have, everything will have!

There are two things about Zhou Hua that I remember most clearly from my college life. For one thing, he is always reciting an intermediate English textbook named "The Man Who Escaped", and unavoidably reciting and reading aloud, resulting in a familiar degree. As a result, he gradually became one of the best oral students in our class. I later began to recite the New Concept English textbook, partly because of his influence. The second thing is that he can play the violin. Therefore, when the class party or the department party, there is always his performance. This also let me this any instrument does not know how to hold a person full of envy. At that time, our dormitory building and the girls' building were very close to each other, and the window in the corridor was only a few meters apart from the window in the east of the girls' building. Zhou Hua often goes to that window to play the violin. Probably trying to get a girl's attention, but I don't think it's been very successful. Sometimes, will be shouted at by girls: can not pull! At that time, it was once popular to play and sing with a guitar at Peking University, so Zhou soon switched to the guitar. Finally, he became a master of fashion trends.

At Peking University, I am a person who goes with the flow. My grades are not excellent, and I don't have much motivation to pursue excellence. But Zhou Hua is different. He has great self-control. When he sets a goal in his study, he must try to accomplish it. He went to bed and got up regularly. He practiced everything he wanted to learn with great concentration. As a result, his English level soared in college. When he graduated, he was the best English student in our class. After graduation, he was the first person in our class to study abroad (except for the female students who married in other countries). Moreover, he showed outstanding talent in literature and art. I even in the Peking University shoes do not know how to wear, he can be very good in and out of the weekend of Peking University each dance, to use beautiful dance to attract the eye of many beautiful women.

By the time of our senior year, China had begun to open to the world rapidly, and the power of material life began to penetrate college life. As I recall, one of my classmates got a walkman with stereo headphones from Japan. It was the first time we had ever seen such a small headset. The student is very generous and put the earphones into each student's ear. The beautiful music flows from the earphones to our ears, and we are all surprised by the sound of nature. Peking University is one of the Xanadu, the students in addition to the library, every day talking about Nietzsche, Schopenhauer, and pure love. But with the penetration of material life, people's eyes began to peer out. We learn the English language, so we are in a good position to talk about material things. I remember once in the dormitory, I said my biggest wish is to have a brand new permanent brand bicycle. Zhou Hua says his wish is to own a Porsche. I remember reacting with a gaping, gaping feeling that this was a dream that would not come true for several lifetimes.

Now, after 25 years of struggle, Zhou Hua not only owns a car but also owns Bentley, which is higher in price and quality than Porsche. Of course, he owns a career that is more valuable than cars. Today, although I have never bought a Porsche or Bentley, I have a platform for my struggle -- "New Oriental", a place where people are excited and full of expectations.

After college, we went our separate ways. Zhou Hua and I didn't see each other much except occasionally. Everyone is busy with their careers and families, driven by the desire to succeed, work hard, and look for opportunities.

I always thought Zhou Hua's growth would be smooth, because of his talent, and of his ambition. After reading his book "From Bicycle to Bentley -- the Road to Wealth of a Peking University Student", I can not help but hide the book sigh. First of all, I didn't think that his road to success was also full of hardships. He could have developed within the Chinese diplomatic system and become a good diplomat or ambassador abroad with great success and dignity. But he quit and started his own business. In Australia, where he had no friends and no connections, he sold insurance, did direct sales, and even had no money. But in the end, he finally made his way out and became one of the best real estate entrepreneurs in Australia. Secondly, I did not think that what he promised himself in college was not a lie, but a true expression of a dream in his heart. The dream has been with him for so many years and never faded. And still drives his life forward today. Of course, his dream has been upgraded to a Boeing 737 business jet.

It is not the money that matters, nor the journey from poor to rich, nor the flaunting of wealth. Zhou Hua embodies an unyielding spirit. This spirit has been in his heart since his college days and continues to this day. Zhou Hua often says, "If you change people's thinking, you change your life." He helped many friends find a better life and increased their confidence in themselves. He also used to say that when you change your brain's programming, you change your behavior. He changed, and so did I. Our looks have aged a little, not changed much. What we change is our thinking, our brain programming.

Zhou Hua likes a saying: Someone to love, something to do, something to look forward to. He was loved by his parents, brothers and sisters, his wife and children, and they all loved him; He had something to do and unlimited faith in the success of the company he had founded; He was looking forward to the day he could run his business from his corporate jet. I waited for the day to come when I, too, would fly around the world in his private jet.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Berard Jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.