Humans logo

You Will Not Last

If you don't die

By Om Prakash John GilmorePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

You Will Not Last: If you don't die

John W. Gilmore

“In a time before time things were a lot kinder. People would get along. Everyone would help the other make their dreams come true, instead of hindering them so only they could live out their dreams.”

“In a time before time hope was just an illusion because there were so many possibilities we didn’t have to have hope. In a time before time love, instead of fear and competition, was the driving force for humanity,” Leila said.

I just shook my head. I couldn’t imagine any such time. It was all just a fantasy. I looked around at everyone listening with rapt attention like little birds eager to be fed by their mother, and just shook my head. At that very moment I looked up and saw her staring straight at me. She frowned, but continued with her teaching. I knew I would hear something about it later.

After thunderous applause she stood by the sanctuary door greeting us all as we passed her by. I came by last. I had waited inside hoping that she would get tired and head out before I got to her, but she had waited. As I approached she flipped her long braids back over her shoulders. I looked into her eyes. They were gentle, dark brown eyes. Her cheek bones were high and she was often smiling. She opened her arms to me, which was a surprise. I hugged her and she whispered, “I will kill you yet. You are such an unbeliever,” in my ear. I drew back. She smiled pleasantly, and then I walked out wondering what that had meant. I had never seen her touch anyone.

The day was beautiful. There was a gentle breeze. It was so soft and pleasant that the clouds just seemed to hang there, puffy, white, against a clear blue sky. The sun was warm and toasty to the skin. I made my way down the hill, alone, as the Gathering, as they called themselves, went in the other direction to the picnic area. As I got farther away the noise of the chatter began to diminish until I found myself standing in front of a small pond. A fountain had been placed in the center to keep the water moving was bubbling. All I could hear was a gentle, gurgling sound.

I sat and watched the water. I looked up at the sky. It all seemed so peaceful. I wondered why. We were at war again, but we were far away from the front lines. I wondered about that. How could we be in this beautiful place talking about spirituality when the world seemed to be dying? That would have to wait. I sat back and began to enjoy the quietness when I was interrupted. Leila was standing over me. Seemed that I had fallen asleep.

“I hope you had a good nap,” she said. She lowered herself to the ground and sat beside me. “Beautiful out here, isn’t it? It is as if all nature has no idea of what the human animals are doing to it, and to each other.” She sighed. “But you know, don’t you? You can’t get it out of your head. I think you have to die. I really do.”

“That’s easier said than done. I’ve been coming here for years and nothing has happened.” I laid back and looked at the sky. “I’ve been hearing the same thing for years and it doesn’t seem to make a difference.”

“I will help you die.” She reached into her tunic and pulled out a blade. In one swift move she brought it across my throat. I tried to speak, but could only gasp for air. “Don’t worry, it will all be over soon,” she said. She laughed to herself. “Maybe next life.” I could feel my life slipping away and then I woke up. I was sitting in the back of the room as she was doing her lecture. I had nodded off. Was it all a dream? She looked at me knowingly and then continued.

After the lecture I hung around inside, hoping she would be gone by the time I left. She wasn’t. Everyone else had left for the picnic area. It was very awkward. I was the only one in the room and she was just standing there at the door waiting. I tried to pretend as though I didn’t notice her and she just stood there. I finally began to walk out. She flipped her long braids back over her shoulder and opened her arms. We embraced. This time she didn’t say anything, but when I attempted to pull back she held me for a moment and looked right into my eyes. I felt as if I was floating in space. I saw stars, planets, nebulae, all of the things that made up the cosmos. She let go and I staggered out. The beautiful blue sky quickly changed right in front of me.

It was suddenly dark and cloudy. It began to rain hard. I tried to go back into the sanctuary to escape the downpour, but the door was already locked and she was gone. How did that happen? I stood under the eve’s of the building to avoid the cold rain. I couldn’t imagine how the weather had changed so fast. I could swear that I heard laughter carried on the winds. I looked up. A face appeared in the clouds. It was a woman laughing. It quickly turned to a mask of fury as lighting began to hit the ground near me, too close for comfort.

I squeezed as close to the building as I could wondering what the heck was going on, when the whole sky seemed to split open. And there, right in the air, like something on a movie screen, stood three women and two men wearing black armor. Flashes of lightning seemed to erupt all around them, as if it was coming from no discernable place. In a blink of the eye they were standing there in the field about 100 yards in front of me. They began to move toward me. I turned and ran like crazy hoping to find safety anywhere. I dashed down the hill toward the pond. I saw Leila there, squatting in front of the pond looking at the water.

“Look out Leila! There are demons or something!” I shouted. “The whole sky opened up and these things just came out of it.” She stood and looked at me unperturbed.

“You have seen. Those are not demons they are the five elements of your planet and unless we come to terms with them, they will tear this Earth apart.” I looked around and noticed. It had stopped raining. It was sunny. The ground was dry as if it hadn’t rained there at all. She nodded. “Yes. You are finally getting it,” she said. “The unnatural behavior of the humans have been noticed by the gods and elementals and now they will be brought back into balance whether they want to or not. This is the end of human free will and the taking over our planet by those who know to do better. Wake up, Brent, or you won’t last.”

literature
Like

About the Creator

Om Prakash John Gilmore

John (Om Prakash) Gilmore, is a Retired Unitarian Universalist Minister, a Licensed Massage Therapist and Reiki Master Teacher, and a student and teacher of Tai-Chi, Qigong, and Nada Yoga. Om Prakash loves reading sci-fi and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.