Humans logo

Wuthering Heights Quotes

The Best Quotes From Emily Brontë's 'Wuthering Heights'

By Lauren Writes AustenPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
Wuthering Heights Quotes
Photo by Gülfer ERGİN on Unsplash

Although the Brontes stories are often tortured and upsetting, perhaps most of all Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, and no matter how much I personally dislike Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, I will admit that the Brontes were good writers. Even in the most distressingly bad story they still managed to create some beautiful paragraphs and passages. Here is just a small collection of my favourite quotes from Wuthering Heights.

The Quotes

Starting off strong with perhaps my most favourite quote from the novel. Maybe it is because I love the countryside, I love the vast nothingness of rolling hills and empty feilds, or maybe it's because I sometimes dream of finding my own "misanthropists heaven".

"This is certainly a beautiful country. In all England I do not believe I could have fixed on a situation so completely removed from the stir of society. A perfect misanthropists heaven" (Brontë 1).

Out of context of the story I really like this next quote. It seems dramatic but pretty harmless, right? It's about not being able to live without the person you love, and that's lovely. But within the context of the book... I've said it before but I'll say it again, everyone in this book is so miserable and it's really just because Kathy and Heathcliff don't end up together (spolier alert? I don't know? Like the books been out for over 150 years, so), and it sucks. Anyways, I digress...

"'Be with me always- take any form- drive me mad! only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! It is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!'" (Brontë 178).

(The next quotes I don't have page numbers for, unfortuately, only what chapter they are in).

The next two quotes are from the same converstation that Kathy has with Nelly about her love for Heathcliff versus Lindton. Although Kathy and Heathcliffs relationship/love for each other causes pain and suffering for almost every other character in the story, I do find the general statment that Kathy makes very beautiful. If only it was about a different man...

"'So we shall never know how I love him. And that not because he's handsome Nelly, but because he is more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine, are tha same. And Lindtons is as different as a moonbeam from lighting, or frost from fire'" (Chapter 9).

"'My love for Lindton is like the foliage in the woods, time will change it, I'm well aware, as winter changes the trees. My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rock beneath'" (Chapter 9).

The final quote that I have is simple, just a line, but I think it is a perfect quote to encapsulate Heathcliff.

"'Is Mr. Heathcliff a man? If so, is he mad? And if not, is he a devil?'" (Chapter 13).

For more Wuthering Heights and Brontë things in general, you can check out more like my Wuthering Heights Review, Jane Eyre Essay, Jane Eyre Adaptations, and On Charlotte Bronte and Jane Austen.

I've been on a bit of a Brontë's kick for the past little bit, but I'll be going back to more Austen centered content soon, and just other bookish pieces in general. HOWEVER, that does not mean that I am done with the Brontë's by any means. I'll be back for them, and I think my next and final target is Anne (althought I've heard that she is supposedly the best Brontë and I'm holding out hop that I'll like her writing better).

listquotesliteraturebook reviews
1

About the Creator

Lauren Writes Austen

A dedcated creator to all things Jane Austen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.