Humans logo

Writing Dark Mystery Series Revolutionized My Life

The revelation of a book wizard whose magic saga you'd want to read

By Olya AmanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo from the author

Reading life straight through…

When a large enough supply of tears was forced into my eyes by some hydraulic process, my parents finally agreed to let me go to an evening after-school class for little tricksters. Many elders considered it a waste of time. And Victor (being a lean, long-backed, stiff-necked, with a great quantity of snow-white hair everywhere old weirdo, who had forsaken his daily respectable employment for a dubious occupation as a magic teacher) didn't excite a qualified approval from the majority of our villagers.

Victor was an old wizard, and I became his little assistant. It didn't last long, though. I used to always talk about being a Magician one day. My parents grew heated with angry desperation to bring me to a sober mind, and my desire grew softer till completely killed by the opposition.

I realized only a few years ago how I can make my childhood dream less chimerical.

I am a woman that turned over the leaf of her life to bring about a new happy page. I left my work after the death of a very dear person because I decided to fulfill my childhood greatest dream.

My life, although realized to the full contentment only at a dusk hour of it, is an expression of gentle and quiet happiness, organized in an orderly and neatly manner.

Wave the magic literary wand

When this person died even my boots started to creak in a very sad and lonely manner. I needed to restore the ruined space in my heart. Reading books became my salvation. Retiring myself from work, I had enough time to spend on things I loved and never prior to those days devoted myself to.

An enthusiastic approach to life can be achieved by turning the pages of the RIGHT book.

Enchant your mood

I have a strong appetite for science fiction, fantasy, and mystery books. And no one dares to talk about magic without due respect in my presence. I will put an injured look right away - this topic being my favorite.

I used these kinds of books to train my brain to the craft of diverting my attention from depressing thoughts. I started my literary journey of recovery with a mystery series by Max Frei, the pen name of Svetlana Yuryevna Martynchik, and her husband artist Igor Steopin, fantasy writers from Ukraine.

It was so natural for me to triumph over life difficulties by burying myself in the pages of a book that always made me feel good. Any time I felt like the world has been turned upside down, I grabbed that read of mine. It put the world right-side-up again and calmed my over-wrought nerves.

Stay delighted when in motion

I downloaded on my phone "Labyrinths of Echo", "Chronicles of Echo", and "Dreams of Echo", the best uplifting, funny, and peace-creating specimens in the literary world. I controlled the level of positivity by reading a little of each book at the right moment.

The intricacies of Max's life, the protagonist in this bestselling fantasy series, were throwing my thoughts into condition close to delirium. One day, driving in my car and listening to an audiobook about Max's adventures in a reality he created, an idea corrupted my mind. At that moment, I realized how I can grasp at happiness.

You never know beforehand when the great 'Aha' moment will visit you. So be ready to grasp at a notion of a life-changing idea even when in motion.

A faint glimmer of a big dream

I discovered that my daily renewed appetite for fresh sensation was always satisfied by bright, timid, and full of the illusions pages of the Echo series. The only problem was that the pages were limited.

I continued the tradition of putting myself in a fit of loving enthusiasm and excitement, but now, using my own crafty pen. This occupation cured my wearied heart and brain.

Whenever I felt like rocking my monotonous existence to and fro I bantered myself with the pages about life and trials of my creation, the disturbed protagonist of my mystery series. Mort with half-paternal attention was guarding my inner peace and wellbeing.

These days my employments are too numerous, my leisure hours - too precious, and that is the reason why I need to do my utmost to preserve the equanimity of my soul. Mort helps me to stay tranquil. He never tires or distresses me. He helps me to become a high-class expert in self-healing and -development techniques.

Writing this series is my elevating self-therapy. I found my own Scheherazade when I started to write about Mort. Life stops running helter-skelter and gets in a peaceful order when I tell a tale of unbreakable under the test of unbelievable trials spirit.

His life account was not originally intended to be made public. It is a way to express some passionate vulnerability of my inner state. Today I have 4 episodes published and I'm not sure I will reveal the rest.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Olya Aman

My pen is the finest instrument of amazement, entertainment, motivation and enjoyment, chasing each other across pages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.