Humans logo

Why Wicked Visa Officer Almost Banned Me from America For Life - Bovi

Bovi reveals

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

In 2020, Bovi made a tweet saying "The US embassy rejected my visa application this morning. These Titans are everywhere!" which went viral. Now, the comedian is finally opening up about the full story during his new interview with Chude, where he talks about how a wicked US visa issuing officer tried to ban him from America for life. Here is what Bovi said, and the reason why the man did it.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

AY on #WithChude

Speaking about what happened with the US visa officer, Bovi said:

BOVI: The long and short of it is I think the visa issuing officer I met was very unfriendly. It blew out of proportion. Like, the way everything went, it escalated in the news. They started to have different versions. 'Oh Bovi got in a scuffle with a visa issuing officer', 'Bovi is banned from the USA', and in my mind, how do you even have access to a Visa issuing officer? They are protected by a glass wall. So I was really embarrassed when people started to spin the story.

So if I remember correctly, all I did was that I asked him, "do you see how many visas I have gotten in the last ten years?" Because in the last ten years, I have always had two American visas: one for work, one for holiday, at the same time. And his response was "well, there's a new sheriff in town", and pushed my passport and my wife's back, and he leaned back and picked his jug, drank. A black guy for that matter. That was the ending part of the Trump era so the denials were crazy at that point in time.

"So you were not banned from the US?"

BOVI: Well, if you want to go by the definition of it, that is what it turned out to be. 'Ban' is kinda an appropriate word. Because when I went back in 2022, the lady who interviewed me and my wife again kept looking at the computer, left to probably see a senior colleague, came back, typed, looked at it, left, came back, and said "well, there truth is she's going to deny us again but that she's giving us a waiver and that we should just keep checking our emails". So she ticked a box, gave us our slip. So when I left, I checked it. So I reached out to my friends in the embassy and explained. Then they were like oh, now they know what happened. That whoever interviewed us in 2020 gave us a non-waiver which is like permanent ineligibility, but the reasons for doing that didn't justify it. So since the latest interviewer gave a waiver, they will review. And uhm, maybe 2 weeks later, they called back and said you know what? Just bring your passport back. So they were sorry and they said instead of going through the whole process of re-applying, just bring your passports back. So we just took our passports back and got the visa.

Wow! Which kind of bad belle officer was that? It's good Bovi had friends in the embassy otherwise that's how he would have now been banned for life just because somebody wanted to feel like an oga. Nawa.

What do you think about this story? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.