Humans logo

Why We Don’t See More Nigerian Women in Action Films - Kate Henshaw

Kate and other Nollywood stars get candid

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Do you remember the movie The Set Up? It starred Adesua Etomi, Kehinde Bankole, Dakore Egbuson, Jim Iyke and more. Did you watch it? If you didn't and you want to, it's on Netflix but that's not the point.

A part 2 of that movie is coming out and it is promising to have more action in it. While premiering the movie, a number of Nollywood stars on the red carpet were asked questions about how they felt to see women being the ones leading the action in the movie.

Stars Stan Nze, Uzor Arukwe, Kehinde Bankole, and Kate Henshaw gave their thoughts but by far, Kate's answer is the one I for some reason found the funniest and just had to show you. Here's exactly what everybody said and at the bottom of this article, I have also attached the video of the interviews if you want to see it yourself. Here's what they said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Kehinde Bankole

Speaking about if she got any injuries while starring in the action movie, Kehinde Bankole said:

I didn't have bruises but people, a few here and there, the ones I witnessed, nothing so terrible. Nothing terrible. But for me, no. I didn't have [any bruises]. So yes, when you say am I looking forward to doing more action, it means you're saying am I looking forward to training more? Am I looking forward to putting in the work? It's another kettle of whatever entirely. So if you're ready to apply yourself, yes you can. I am willing to train more. This was just an introduction into what it could be and we're like "oh this is nice, more of this." So we'll train more, we'll do more of what we need to do.

Uzor Arukwe

Speaking about having women as the stars of a Nollywood action movie, Uzor Arukwe said:

I feel like it's amazing. As long as it's art. One thing I say is we're all actors whether male or female. So I hardly say actresses, I would say male or female actor. Our female colleagues are in the forefront of this particular film, I'm all for it. It makes too much sense to me.

Stan Nze

Also speaking about how it is to have women as the stars of an action film, Stan Nze said:

Nollywood has gone so far to create really genuine stories. I mean, it's good for you to have an agent movie like this and a female is the lead. A female is doing the bad ass stuff, jumping from cliffs, functioning in fighting sequences. I think it's amazing and we're telling stories that resonate with people and that show women strong and that shows Nollywood is strong generally.

Kate Henshaw

Finally, speaking about why we don't see more Nigerian women doing action movies, Kate Henshaw said:

You cannot do action if you are unfit. You have to look a certain way to be able to carry out action moves. To be able to fight in the first instance. Cuz it takes all of your energy, all of your tactics, and everything. Training, you have to be able to train for those scenes. You can't just come and be slapping hand up and down. A lot of people are unfit! If there are more fit females, we'll have more females doing lead roles.

I don't know why but when I tell you that Kate's answer took me OUT! I was dying of laughter because which kin stray bullet did everybody just come and catch? Wahala for who no dey fit o! 😂

What do you think of what Kate and the other said? And why do YOU think we don't have more Nigerian women in action movies? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.