Humans logo

Why This Generation Has Made Me Scared of Marriage - Lilian Afegbai

The answer that's causing conversation

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Lilian Afegbai is a celebrated actress who has starred in such movies as My Wife & I, Fate of Alakada, and Road To Yesterday. She was also a contestant on Big Brother Africa.

Lilian Afegbai

Now, Lilian is 29 years old and one thing she gets constantly asked about despite her many career achievements is when she is going to become a wife and mother, and if she considers this. Lilian is alone in this - a lot of women have complained and still continue to complain about the constant barrage of questions they get from both well-wishing and non well-wishing people about marriage and child bearing. Lilian in an interview with The Punch newspaper addressed the question but in doing so might have rubbed some people who do not agree with her, or finding problems with her thoughts, the wrong way.

Here is what Lilian said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

When asked about marriage and her thoughts about it, Lilian Afegbai answered honestly telling The Punch:

I do not look at people’s marriages or people’s lives. I believe in individuality, I believe that people should not look at people’s lives to judge others. It does not make sense. But naturally, I have a fear of marriage. My cold feet have nothing to do with the Internet. I am now learning to draw close to God. I have the mentality that as a Christian, I will enjoy the good of everything. It means that if I get married, by God’s grace, my marriage will work out. But it still does not mean I do not have cold feet. I am at the point where I leave everything to God. I love family, I love kids, I want an amazing husband. But at the end of the day, I want what God wants for me.

I have my cold feet because of the generation we are in now. This generation does not take marriage seriously as before. We don’t understand what marriage is. So, it takes the grace of God to get there. Any little marriage issue this generation wants a divorce but it is only normal to have issues in marriage. If not for the social media age, the settlement will be quicker. I am not saying one cannot leave when one is not happy. Of course, one can leave when it is affecting one’s peace of mind. I will not lose myself and happiness for love. I will only attract people who are comfortable with my lifestyle. However, I can compromise certain things that do not affect my peace for love. Imagine I meet a man who does not like me going out every day. I can reduce my going out for the sake of love but I won’t stop going out totally

After Lilian's interview was posted on The Punch, people took offence with two major parts of her answer:

  1. When she said, "This generation does not take marriage seriously as before", and
  2. When she said, "it is only normal to have issues in marriage"

Some people said that her saying that this generation doesn't take marriage seriously perpetuates a wrong stereotype about young adults these days that paints them as nonchalant towards marriage and not taking it as something serious when they in fact do. Some people also said that we shouldn't normalize issues in marriage as issues in marriage are "nothing that should be seen as normal". On the other hand, some other people saw no issue with what Lilian said and agreed with her sentiments saying that the rate of divorce these days shows that this generation doesn't in fact take marriage seriously and that problems in marriage are something that is inevitable.

Well, what do YOU think? Do you agree with what Lilian said or do you think she's perpetuating wrong stereotypes about this generation and marriage in general? Join the debate and let us know what you think by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.