Humans logo

Why Solitude Made Me Realize That My Mum and My Dad Were Useless - Bolanle Ninalowo

Bolanle talks hardest times and solitude

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actor Bolanle Ninalowo is one of the better known actors in Nigeria today. During a sit down interview with Chude, Bolanle opened up about his massive struggle when he first came into Nigeria. He talks about how it affected his marriage, his mental health, and what solitude revealed to him about even his parents. Here's what Bolanle Ninalowo said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Bolanle on #WithChude

Speaking to Chude, Bolanle Ninalowo said:

I didn't know anybody when I came to Nigeria. I had a bit of cash and you know with money, you will know people, you will get people to use you. So I said when I was in America I always wanted to do films. I had a dream of that, I was writing a script then. I said look, how about I produce this script? I had a bit of cash. So I made the film Rebirth and it was an epic failure. I was duped and a lot of things. But it was the beginning of my journey. It was the beginning of the success I am today. I say that the seeds of my success are buried in my failures. I did that, after a year or two of depression and losing money not knowing what to do, I still had a bit of cash and I said you know what? Another thing I like to do is music. So with music, I discovered a few talents and I became an executive. Doing another thing I had no idea, no experience doing. And you know I've never been scared of that. I actually believe that hands-on experience is greater than being taught. I failed so many times in life to people but they didn't realize I was only failing forward. So I did that, that failed. Then I did the music thing for about 4 years, spent all my money doing that till I had nothing again. We still haven't blown, I haven't made a dime from that. Then depression set in, family issues set in. My wife couldn't understand me anymore. I wasn't there for them as they needed me to be because one of the craziest things you could ever do is dating a dreamer. So that set in more depression, more problems, a lot of friends were gone. I had nothing left. Nobody. But then I went into solitude and solitude opens you up to grace. So solitude made me realize or discover who I needed to speak with. It made me realize who was useless and who was useful for the situation I was in. Solitude made me realize that my dad and my mum were useless and made me realize that God was the only thing I needed that was useful. Because you know as human beings and as Nigerians, we are very dependent on our parents growing up. We are not trained to be leaders, we are trained to be followers. So every problem we have is daddy or mummy, those are the people. So then I picked up the Bible and started reading and I got so strong spiritually and in my belief of faith and God. At that point, I said you know what? It's time for me to put God to the test and start again. So at some point when I just couldn't go anymore and I had become strong spiritually, I said look it's all over now. My wife I can't even reach her anymore too because I've messed up everything. I said "if there's no road in the front, you go back".

Left: Bolanle and wife; Right: Bolanle's parents

What do you think of what Bolanle Ninalowo said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.