Humans logo

Why People Get Shocked to Hear My Real Age - Ebuka

Ebuka opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like

Very successful Nigerian media personality, Ebuka Obi-Uchendu, is opening up about his age and why people get surprised to hear it - as well as speaking about why he said 2012 was the hardest time of his life, and comparing it to the current hardships of 2024. Here's what Ebuka had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Ebuka during interview

First speaking about why he said 2012 was his hardest year, and comparing it to the hardship of 2024 currently, Ebuka said:

EBUKA: I started working on TV in 2006. I hosted a few shows between 2006 and 2010. And then I went to the United States to get a masters degree. I had this bright idea to get this intellectual property law degree, then come back and set up this entertainment law firm and be the greatest entertainment lawyer in Nigeria at the time. Then I came back and I had spent all my money in school and I didn't have a job. So 2012 was hard because it was at a time when people had sort of "forgotten" me. Cuz I was off the scene for two years and Nigerians they don't waste time to say we've moved on the best next host. Because I had been off the scene for a while, I didn't have the money to set up the entertainment law firm anymore. People didn't even believe in entertainment law that much at the time. So nothing I planned sort of worked out eventually. So I spent about a year and half unemployed basically. And a good chunk of it was in 2012. So I just remember that year being extremely confusing, depressing, and I had already started considering maybe I was just carry this my degree and go and look for a 9 to 5 job since this dream might not necessarily work out. So it was a very tough mental year for me.

Comparing it to 2024, of course they're on different levels because this one everybody is going through it at this point. It doesn't mean I'm not having a tough time like everybody else. But I think I'm at a stage in my career, and age-wise as well, where I've planned better and understood that you just don't get up and assume the world is going to wait for you.

The interviewer then asked "I have to quickly check your age. Are you early 40s? Gen Z?" to which Ebuka responded:

EBUKA: I'm a young man [laughs]. I don't know what people think. People who know me or who have followed my career for a while understand that I'm not Gen Z or a young millennial. But at the same time, there are people who are still surprised that I'm 40, I'm going to be 42 this year, so I don't know if that's a good thing

How old did you think Ebuka Obi-Uchendu was and did you think he was a Gen Z or early millenial too? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.