Humans logo

Why My Friendship With Basketmouth Is No Longer What It Used to Be - Bovi

Bovi opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Recently, we have been hearing conversations about the beef between AY and Basketmouth. Now, during his interview with Chude, Bovi was asked about his own relationship with Basketmouth and the alleged feud between all three. Here is what Bovi had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Bovi during interview

During his interview, Bovi was asked "People have made a song and cry over the alleged or supposed conflict between some of you in that industry: yourself, AY, Basketmouth. Do you think that that friction, as has been confirmed by at least two of you, led to the breaking of a community that would have been stronger if you guys were completely in sync over the past few years?" He responded:

BOVI: When it comes to standup, it is such an individual sport. But also, they say when you travel together, you go further.

"But you talked about Basketmouth MCing one of your shows in the past, so it's that kind of community."

BOVI: Right, but don't forget at the time, Basketmouth is a brand - an established brand. If we had to pay him, we would probably have had to rob a bank. But there was this friendship, this symbiotic friendship, but he was more visible because he's a brand. You put Basket's name on anything, it's going. So I think over the years, my mission was to become a brand as well, a big one. And there is a stage where brands grow to, the room becomes too small. So you will have to basically [separate], that now allows room for more people to come on board.

I will like to speak for me. I decided you know what, it's time to grow your brand and focus on you now. So I will take responsibility for that. We are human beings, there will always be skirmishes. I mean, it's also part of pop culture. We were young and restless and stuff like that. I just realized that the biggest service you can do to yourself is to push yourself. If you wait for somebody to say "come, let me take you", you might wait forever. Also, there is a limit to how far certain people can take you. You have to get up and move to break new ground.

"Okay, but do you miss the friendship you had back then?"

BOVI: Oh, we're still cool [laughs].

"But do you miss that energy of that friendship that you guys had?"

BOVI: I think that energy was a phase. I think it was a phase. So now, we're on to new phases. That's it for me. Priorities change as we grow everyday. Right now, I just want to happy. I want to do the things that make me happy. And I want to make sure my immediate constituency is happy, which is my family, my children. So priorities change. Time was when I would spend probably six hours a day playing play station with Buchi maybe four times a week. But as my kids started to grow, it started to reduce. Stuff like that, that's just it basically. I can't say I miss it but I reminisce on them because it was a good time. So it's not like things collapsed, everybody got busy and priorities changed.

Hmm. What do you think about what Bovi said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.