Humans logo

Why My Father Kept Sending Police to Arrest Me - Davido

Davido opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

For many parents, especially back in the day, a career in entertainment was not met with the warm embrace that many children of today are receiving. Back then, leaving school in any way to focus on a career in entertainment brought with it a lot of repercussions, and one performer who experienced that at a very extreme level but then went on to become one of the biggest stars out of Africa, is Nigerian musician Davido.

Speaking about how his father used to arrest not only him, but even people who attended shows that he did, Davido opened up about that experiencing while appearing on Hot 97 FM in New York. Here is what Davido had to say about that experience and how it eventually stopped happening.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Davido during interview

Speaking about why his father kept on sending police to arrest him, Davido said:

DAVIDO: My father didn't want me performing, at all. He sent police to get me. Like he'll see a billboard for example, ‘Davido performing, Wizkid performing’. He would send police to arrest everybody – the show promoter, if you’re there, if we're backstage and we're chatting it up, we're gone.

When asked, "arrested for what?" Davido responded:

DAVIDO: I gotta go back to school. So I'd have to go back to school. So after a while, he kept on doing it, and then there was one time - This was when I knew that ‘Oh I’m lit!’. They [the police] came and got me and then I’m in the holding cell place. Then the dude that got the keys, his phone rings, and it’s my song. I said 'that is me, that is me!' He said 'you’re Davido?', I said ‘yes!’, and he let me go. BOOM! I said it's over.

And then I dropped a record after that, it became like the biggest record in Africa. Like the president was messing with it, the president was playing it.

Speaking about when his father finally stopped sending police to arrest him, Davido said:

DAVIDO: Once I finished school. But like I had to like a part-time type of stuff. It's not that he hated music, he just wanted me to go to school. He likes music. I feel like he just wanted that whatever I'm gonna do, I had to be like successful, not just do it [anyhow]. I had to be like over successful. He's very proud today.

Wow! Talk about an extreme way to go to make sure that your child takes their education seriously and finish doing it, well. Also, talk about an extreme way to go to make sure that your child became the best at whatever thing they wanted to do in life. Eventually, it's good to see that it all worked out for Davido and that he is today, one of the biggest Afrobeats artistes in the world. What do you think about what Davido had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Queen of Forgiveness™about a year ago

    I love this story. His dad somehow inspired Davido to catapult his career. I love Davido's music. Thanks for sharing excellent stores. Ase, Jide.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.