Humans logo

Why Marriage is Overrated - Chidi Mokeme

Chidi Mokeme opens up about marriage, being complete

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Shanty Town co-stars Ini Edo and Chidi Mokeme got together to do a joint interview for Media Room Hub, and during their conversation, the topic of being a 'complete' woman, and if marriage validates people came up. Here is what both Chidi Mokeme and Ini Edo had to say about the subjects, and also why Chidi Mokeme believes marriage is over rated. Here is what he had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Chidi Mokeme and Ini Edo

The conversation started when both Ini Edo and Chidi Mokeme were asked "Who is a complete woman?" Both actors responded:

INI EDO: A complete woman? Who is even complete woman? I think how you feel completes you as a human being, if you have the conviction in your heart that you have achieved or you have gotten to the peak of your career, maybe life journey or if you feel your life is beautiful and you think that it is complete then it is complete. I don’t think there is anything that measures who is complete, it is relative.

CHIDI MOKEME: I think you don’t have to achieve anything materialistic for you to feel complete. A lot of times contentment makes you feel complete and happy with life.

INI EDO: Yeah, Chidi is right, some people are very contented with where they are, whether they have achieved or not they are just good, you know it is relative especially when you have peace of mind.

CHIDI MOKEME: Be comfortable in your skin, know yourself and who you are.

Then the interviewer asked both Ini and Chidi, "Do you both think marriage validates a woman?" to which they both responded:

INI EDO: I don’t think marriage validates even the man not just the woman

CHIDI MOKEME: l think again that takes us back to the society that we are in . The society places marriage on that level of importance, it also treats women very unfair with the impression that the women place are in the kitchen. A lot of women gets desperate to become wives because they feel that’s the only way they can feel fullfilled about life. Marriage is overrated over rated and it never validates anyone.

INI EDO: I mean we are all happy for those who find joy and are genuinely happy in their marriages. We are happy for them. Your piece of mind and happiness is all that matters, is not really about what anybody feel or think of you, it is about how you feel about yourself. I mean for me my own happiness is the most important thing to me anytime.

CHIDI MOKEME: So if the guy start sounds like Femi Fernandez and ends up like Scar, pack your bags and run.

What do you think about what Chidi Mokeme and Ini Edo had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.