Humans logo

Why It's Time for Gov. Wike to Check Out - Tonto Dikeh

Tonto talks campaigning and Wike

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

At this point, it is not news to anybody that Nollywood actress and philantropist Tonto Dikeh is running for the position of deputy governor along with gubernatorial candidate, Tonte Ibraye under the African Democratic Congress party. The news came as a shock when Tonto announced it many months ago, but since then, the actress turned politician has been on the ground doing the work of talking to the people and campaigning for the position.

During a new interview with ace interviewer Chude, Tonto Dikeh opened up about how it has been on the ground campaigning and talking to the people of Rivers State, as well as opened up about her thoughts on current governor Gov. Nyesom Wike and his administration so far. Here's what Tonto Dikeh said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During the interview, Tonto was asked "How has it actually been on the ground speaking to the youth of Rivers about wanting to represent them. What has been the reaction?" to which she said:

It's been overwhelming. I didn't expect it honestly even if I knew that an average Port Harcourt or Rivers person just loves another person who is from Rivers State. We have our backs. Even if I knew I had that mentality, I just was still overwhelmed by the reception, the love. And not just the reception and love, the idea. When I went back home, everybody, every traditional ruler that I was going to see that I knelt down to or I laid down for, almost half of them were my agemates. These were people that I went to school with, I played under the rain with, I was so proud to be back home. And they were so proud to see me back home doing the same thing they're doing and on different levels and at different capacities. It was just a proud moment of the youth. You know, you could walk into the room and you could feel everybody's heart for change. And that was so beautiful. It was the best thing I've felt in two months.

"What do you think about the performance of the present governor?"

Well I always believe that everybody tries their best. Whether your best is enough for us, that's on us and that's on you, but everybody tries their best. I think he [Gov. Wike] has tried his best and it's time for him to check out. It's just natural that when you're celebrated into an office, you have to celebrated out too. So that's about it. So we thank him for what he's done so far but we want more. It's not enough.

"Are you a fan of him as a person? Like, he planned to run for president. Would you have supported him?"

If he was, no I wouldn't have. Because I don't identify with him. I have to identify with you. I have to trust you before I will be able to give you my vote because my vote is my voice. I wouldn't have done that.

What do you think about what Tonto Dikeh said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.