Humans logo

Why I Was Shocked at How Tiwa Savage Treated Me When I Met Her - Amaarae

Amaarae talks meeting icon, Tiwa Savage

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

There is a popular saying that goes "Never meet your idols" and this saying is so popular because for many people, when they eventually end up meeting people who they idolize, they are often disappointed by the result. This was not the case when singer Amaarae met with iconic Nigerian singer, Tiwa Savage.

As you may know, Tiwa Savage featured Amaarae on the hit song of her most-recent EP, Water and Garri, called "Tales By Moonlight". Now, during a new interview with 92.7FM, Amaarae is opening up about her collaborations in general, that specific collaboration with Tiwa Savage, and why she is still surprised by how Tiwa treated her. Here is what Amaarae said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Amaarae during interview

The conversation started when Amaarae was asked how she feels about collaborations. She responded saying:

AMAARAE: My favorite thing to do. Like when I think about collabs like Stonebwoy, I have fun with stuff like that. When I think about working with Blaqbonez from Nigeria. Ruger and I did a record and I actually ended up doing like two records with him, and he does like very grassroots Nigerian music. For me I love stuff like that cuz people really underestimate how diverse my music taste is and how diverse I am. And it's very important for me to pay homage to like, home roots. And outside of that when I collaborate with people outside that make a different kind of music from me, it's always just an opportunity for me to showcase my diversity. So like I take pride in that and it's one of my favorite things to do.

Then when she was asked what she considers when picking artistes to feature, she opened up about her experience with finally meeting Tiwa Savage saying:

AMAARAE: What do I consider? Uhmmm, that I like their music. And that they are respectful and are actually like, nice people. I think that's very important [beyond the music]. One of my favorite people that I have ever worked with is Tiwa Savage. Like I was shocked by the level of respect and humility and kindness. Tiwa Savage paved the way for me so I'm like coming to work with Tiwa Savage thinking "Okay like let me just be on my Ps and Qs, what ever I get, I will take." And God, the grace! You know Tiwa has come out to support me. Anytime I've done a show. Whether she is in Ghana, Lagos, London, "oh you're doing a show? I'm coming.", "Oh do you want me to come on stage with you? Okay, cool I'll be there." And it's never an okay what am I gonna give back to you, it's always so sweet and always so nice. She checks on me, checks on my mum. Like really such a sweet human being.

Wow! It's good to hear such a good report about Tiwa Savage. Often, the stories you hear of celebrities like this can be very unpleasant, it's good to hear such good things about Tiwa Savage. What do you think about what Amaarae said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Queen of Forgiveness™about a year ago

    I love the way you made it look like Tiwa was about to be rude to Amaarae. I am so glad to hear that Tiwa Savage is a gem. She is one of my favorite artists. Ase, Jide.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.