Humans logo

Why I Was Secretly Happy Tyla Won Grammy Over Ayra Starr, Asake - Tiwa Savage

Tiwa opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 29 days ago 3 min read

Nigerian singer Tiwa Savage is one of the biggest musicians out of Africa, and one of the biggest female acts. As one of the top women in the industry, Tiwa has seen and experienced a lot, and during a new interview with BET, she opens up about being pitted against younger female artistes, the challenges female artistes face, and how she really felt about Tyla winning Grammy over her Nigerian peers. Here's what Tiwa Savage said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

First, speaking about how she's always being pitted against new female singers, Tiwa Savage said:

TIWA SAVAGE: Any new female artiste that comes up, it's like "oh, she's coming to take her throne," and I would go out of my way to make friends with them because it's not a competition. The real competition are the male artistes, because when we, the women, do something, we do it bigger.

Then, speaking about the challenges female artistes have to go through, Tiwa Savage said:

TIWA SAVAGE: I've got stories of female artistes for days. They get overlooked. You can't do soundcheck. Like initially, when I first moved back to Nigeria, I would turn up at a show and they would say I can't perform because my outfit was too risque. Even some of my first videos were not played on national TV. They banned the music videos, and I'm literally wearing like a catsuit. It's not even like a bikini or anything. But I'm very stubborn, so I was like my dress is going to get shorter, my tops are going to be more revealing. It was just getting worse as they were bashing me. And then, it was funny because the females were now secretly loving me. So then they couldn't deny my followers, my fanbase was growing. So they had to put me on shows. They had to play my music, because there was a demand for it.

Finally, speaking about how she felt when South African artiste Tyla won the Grammy for "Best African Music Performance" over Nigerian nominees Ayra Starr, Asake, Burna Boy, and Davido; Tiwa Savage said about it:

TIWA SAVAGE: I was secretly happy. Don't tell them that, but yeah. I was singing "make me sweat" (lyrics from Tyla's song "Water") [laughs].

What do you think about what Tiwa said?

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • EileenWhitaker29 days ago

    Making every month extra dollars by doing an easy job Online. Last month i have earned and received $18539 from this home based job just by giving this only mine 2 hrs a day. Easy to do work even a child can get this and start making money Online. Get this today by follow instructions on this website................. www.worksprofit1.com

Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.