Humans logo

Why I Still Feel I Deserved AMVCA Over Kiekie, others - Nasboi

Nasboi speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 10 days ago 3 min read
Like

Online personality and musician Nasboi is speaking again about the AMVCA not nominating him for Best Online Social Content Creator award. His colleagues like Isbae U, Tee Kuro, Steve Chuks, Edem Victor, Bimbo Ademoye, and others were nominated with Elozonam and Kiekie ultimately winning the award. Now, during an interview with Rubbin Minds, Nasboi is doubling down on why he still thinks he deserved a nomination over his colleagues. Here's what he said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During his interview, Nasboi was asked "You called out the AMVCAs last year because you weren't nominated for the Best Online Social Content Creator award [which Kiekie and Elozonam ended up winning]. Were you really hurt by it, and did you feel you deserved it more than the people nominated?" to which he said:

NASBOI: Yes. I'm so sorry, but yes. Because I put in work that particular year. I put in work more than the people that were nominated, I can't even lie. I don't care if they agree, because it's personal. That's why I can only rant on my phone, that's the only thing I can do. I can't go and fight anybody. I don't know why I wasn't nominated. But at the end of the day, I've got some awards too and I'm grateful for the awards that I've got. If I don't get an AMVCA, that's fine. And recently, my colleagues got nominated and I'm rooting for them. I already like someone there and he's my guy so I'm like "go boy, go boy!". So I don't even care. I guess I was quite emotional, but now I'm so grown now that I don't even really care. I like the people that appreciate my stuff, so an award doesn't really crown my effort, but it would be nice.

He was then asked "When you make statements like that, saying that you were better than people that were nominated, do you find that it affects relationships?" to which he replied:

NASBOI: I don't care. It's not like I'm better than the people, but at that time, that one year, I did a great job. I did a greater job. And they know, they know. This is not me washing. In that space, I was like the hottest creator at that time. I had some senior celebrities, everybody was here. It was this guy. So I feel like it wasn't fair. They should have at least nominated me.

Elozonam and Kiekie winning the AMVCA award last year

What do you think about what Nasboi said, and do you agree with what he said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.