Humans logo

Why I Started Doing Comedy Videos Just to Meet Davido - Nasboi

Nasboi explains why he used to mimic Davido

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian skitmaker, comedian, and now musician Nasboi who is popularly known for his viral skits and his very spot-on impression of singer Davido, is now entering the music industry himself with the release of his latest single titled "Lover Boy".

Of course a comedian entering into music comes with a little hesitation from fans, but Nasboi is now opening up about why for him, this has always been the goal. In fact, during a new interview with City 105.1FM, Nasboi explains why it was because of music, he started mimicing Davido. Here is what Nasboi said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Nasboi on City 105.1FM

During his interview, Nasboi was asked "I heard that before you started doing comedy, you were actually an artiste and you were trying to do music but you weren't getting the kind of attention you deserved so you went into comedy?" He responded:

NASBOI: So the funny thing is the comedy thing, it's not like I went into comedy because I wanted to do comedy. So I started to mimic Davido, the intention was actually getting his attention for my music. Yeah, that was just the intention but when I got attention, it started looking like this guy was joking so I decided to continue.

"Oh so it's not like you planned to be a comedian or you planned to do comedy on Instagram. It was to get Davido's attention to listen to your music?"

NASBOI: That was all, trust me!

"When you got his attention, did you say 'boss, check out my music?'"

NASBOI: No. So I started looking like a comedy guy, I started looking like a funny guy so I felt like talking about music would be strange. So I decided to let it go for now.

"You started off mimicking Davido so I'm assuming both of you have a relationship. Do you guys talk?"

NASBOI: Yeah we do actually.

"Did you send him this song?"

NASBOI: No. No. Right now, it's not the time for that. We're letting David to rest. When he comes back, we can now continue. But I'm sure he sees.

"So when you got Davido's attention, what did he do? Did he invite you to the house?"

NASBOI: You got it right! So he invited me to the house first. So I linked up with Peruzzi first cuz Peruzzi invited me over. Like ah, this guy. So at that point, you know I was really scared because I was always disturbing Peruzzi shouting "Peruzzi how far!". I was always disturbing Peruzzi so I was scared that this guy is going to beat me up. So when I got to his house, it was all love. Then videos popped out. Internet people started shouting "Ah you finally met Peruzzi", and David said "oya come, bring this guy to my house". So I went to see David the next day, it was all love. It was fun. And since then, anywhere me and David catch, na major love.

Davido

What do you think about what Nasboi said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.