Humans logo

Why I’m Now Trying to Focus on Petroleum Engineering - Victony

Victony talks music, studies

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Victony who is most popular for his hit songs and features including "Apollo", "Holy Father", "Soweto" and more is now talking about how even though he is doing very well in music, he is now also trying to balance it with get this: trying to secure a Petroleum Engineering degree from the Federal University of Technology in Owerri.

Speaking about trying to get his petroleum engineering degree and how it has been balancing it with his music, as well as what it means for the future of his music, here is what Victony had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about his career and what he's focusing on now, Victony said in an interview with Grungecake:

VICTONY: I started music professionally in 2016. I started off as a rapper on SoundCloud. Where I dropped freestyles and different mixes. In 2020, I put out my first body of work; ‘The Saturn’ EP. I came into the limelight in 2021 when I got featured on ‘Holy Father’ off the ‘Back In Office’ project by Mayorkun.

I’m currently studying for a degree in Petroleum Engineering at the Federal University of Technology Owerri.

Speaking about how it has been balancing his music career with trying to get a Petroleum Engineering degree, Victony said to The Fader:

VICTONY: I feel like they're really separate worlds. You have to be two different people. Doing both, being very active in both, has been a struggle, honestly, because sometimes I literally have to forget I am Victony just to put maximum focus into studying and tests, exams, and all that stuff. I don't go to school as often as I used to, but once in a while, I have to go to school to do some stuff. Sometimes we have presentations. So I have to be present for stuff like that, but other than that, I've been doing everything from home.

Even though Victony is now focused as well on trying to get his petroleum engineering degree, it doesn't mean that he is giving up on music. Speaking about what fans can expect from him in the future, Victony said:

VICTONY: I'm really excited because I feel like the next set of songs that I'm going to be releasing are going to be pretty interesting compared to the Outlaw EP that's already out. It kind of has more depth with the sound, so I feel like that's one my fans will be looking forward to. And so it excites me that I'm going to be introducing something new, kind of an evolution in a realm they are already really familiar with. So that's really exciting right now, I can't lie to you.

Wow! It takes a lot of determination and energy to pursue something as challenging as a petroleum engineering degree while being one of the biggest Afrobeats artistes currently in the country. What do you think about what Victony said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.