Humans logo

Why I'm Forcing Everybody I Pay to Vote For My Candidate - Deyemi and Mercy Johnson Argue

What do you think?

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actor Deyemi Okanlawon was the latest guest on actress Mercy Johnson Okojie's Youtube cooking show, Mercy's Menu. During his appearance on the show, the two thespians got on the topic of voting and well, let's just say that it led to a very interesting conversation and a little argument between Mercy and Deyemi. Here is what was said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Mercy Johnson Okojie and Deyemi Okanlawon on 'Mercy's Menu'

Here is how the conversation about voting went between Mercy Johnson Okojie and Deyemi Okanlawon on 'Mercy's Menu':

MERCY JOHNSON OKOJIE: Have you gotten your PVC?

DEYEMI OKANLAWON: Yes I have.

MERCY JOHNSON OKOJIE: Are you going to vote?

DEYEMI OKANLAWON: I am going to vote.

MERCY JOHNSON OKOJIE: Have you encouraged every single person around you to do same?

DEYEMI OKANLAWON: Everybody that I pay their salaries and I give allowances, they are going to vote exactly the way I am voting.

MERCY JOHNSON OKOJIE: You're not going to compel them to vote your choice but you're going to ensure that they -

DEYEMI OKANLAWON: No, as long as I am giving you money, you will vote my choice. Yes you will.

MERCY JOHNSON OKOJIE: But they have a right to pick who they want to vote for

DEYEMI OKANLAWON: The truth of the matter is this. Nigeria needs to change. We have allowed people to vote the way they want to vote in the past, we have seen where it got us. Right? I believe it is time. While this is partially a joke, but I believe it is time for us to be a bit more serious and a bit more deliberate. That is why in my community, what I am trying to do now is to start doing some kind of empowerment schemes where we are providing at least for some of the lower class guys, seeing if we can provide at least a meal over the weekend. One meal. If somebody else does any other thing, you can add it to that. When the time now comes, you see because we have given to them, we can now go and say "we that have given to you, can we now encourage you to vote our way". So that's the idea. But again, my family is my family. When it comes to my family, I can say guys, this is the way we are going, let's go!

MERCY JOHNSON OKOJIE: Yeah, like my husband is also running for office and he just says let's follow this line, we're following that line.

DEYEMI OKANLAWON: Exactly, so I think it's so important that we all get involved.

MERCY JOHNSON OKOJIE: Yes, like I always say, if you do not vote, you do not cast your vote, you do not have a right to complain.

What do you think about what both Mercy Johnson Okojie and Deyemi Okanlawon said about this topic? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.