Humans logo

Why I Loved Acting as Mami Water - Linda Osifo

Linda Osifo opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

If there is one quintessential Nollywood storyline that we have seen for many decades now, it is the mami water or marine spirit storyline. These movies often feature women who are light skinned and very attractive in the roles of the mami water, and for actress Linda Osifo, it is something she was more than ready to change and once the opportunity presented itself, Linda jumped on it very quickly.

In her new movie, Pretty Evil, Linda Osifo took on the role of a mami water in the film. During an interview with popular radio station, Inspiration 92.3FM, Linda opened up about why she took on the role of the mami water, and why playing that role was important for her. Here's what Linda Osifo had to say about playing the role of a mami water.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Linda Osifo during interview

Speaking about playing a mami water role and why it was so important to her, Linda Osifo said:

LINDA OSIFO: So 'Pretty Evil' is a very special movie to myself and the whole production. When I got the call, it was my first time working with the producer, and she made a statement that was so sensitive that gave me the ginger that I needed. She said I want to show a different dimension of a story, so of course, it's the general storyline that we all know. Mami water and what mami water spirit can do. And you know, we're being honest. For those who believe and those who don't believe. We're African. Part of our theories whether true or not, we all know that Willy Willy, just believe am like that. She wanted to give that visual from a different point of view which is from a dark individual, a black skinned girl. There is this perception of when you think of mami water, you think of light skin, very fine girl, tall, and that whole stereotype. But she wanted something completely different and this was why she reached out to me. I'm all about trying something different. I never play mami water role before oh! Abeg o. Make them hear o. Abeg o, na film o! [laughs]. But I just wanted something so different, and something so unique, and something that would be out of my comfort zone. But most importantly, something that was sort of in my comfort zone because it was all about taking it to the next extra mile which you wouldn't normally take, and that's where we are now.

It is actually true that most mami water depictions in film have always been light skinned. It's good to see Linda and the makers of this film coming together to break the stereotype and give another type of face to such an iconic character trope. What do you think about what Linda Osifo said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Queen of Forgiveness™about a year ago

    I love keeping up with all things Nigerian. I am following you on Facebook and love catching up with the Niga-pop culture. Ase, Jide.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.