Humans logo

Why I Hate Being Compared With My Husband - Simi

Simi opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian singer Simi is opening up during a new interview about how she feels about the new wave of female singers dominating the scene, and also speaking about why she hates the comparisons often made between her and her husband. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking first about the rise of other female artistes in the Nigerian music industry, Simi said:

SIMI: I have been doing this for a while, you know, but there are women that have come before me as well. Women who inspired me, those who started the music industry, you know. Women who have worked hard to damn the status quo. So, I won’t give myself much credit than due because I also benefited from other women who came before me. Ultimately, I am proud of this new generation of singers. And I feel like their success is their own. I mean, it’s not a secret that I am pro-female, and seeing women win will always make me happy.

Speaking about why she really doesn't like constant comparisons between her and her husband, Simi said:

SIMI: The fact that I am married to an artist, people then take my life, my music, and compare it to my husband, the father of my child, which in all honesty, I feel is a little ignorant because we are not the same. No one is comparing me to another woman in the industry, but instead my husband. It’s not just very inspiring. We might be a match, but our roles are different. When we had our baby, she was in my stomach, not his. I was the one breastfeeding. But that doesn’t make his role as a father any less. I don’t know if you understand the trajectory of this analogy, but all I am trying to say is that the comparisons between me and my husband, although expected, are somewhat shallow, you know. But at the end of the day, these are the things we as public figures sign up for. So I tend not to get too irritated these days.

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 13 days ago

    I SO AGREE WITH SIMI! THIS IS AN ISSUE EVERYWHERE.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.