Humans logo

Why I Don't Like Being Called 'Veteran' - Gloria Anozie-Young

Gloria Anozie-Young talks privacy, being a 'veteran'

By Jide OkonjoPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

For so many people who enter into the Nigerian movie industry, their dream is to at some point in their career be referred to as veterans in the industry. Being a veteran means that you have spent a lot of time in an industry and have garnered a lot of experience, which most people want to do, but for actress Gloria Anozie-Young, she doesn't yet think that she is deserving of that title despite being in the industry for a long time.

During a new interview with The Punch, Gloria Anozie-Young opens up about why she doesn't like being called a veteran, and also speaks about how she has dealt with losing her privacy because of fame. Here is what Gloria Anozie-Young had to say about these things.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about celebrities losing their privacy because of fame, Gloria Anozie-Young said:

GLORIA YOUNG: It depends on what they are doing in their privacy. It is already a given that one doesn’t just walk into people’s houses, whether they are famous or not. My house is where I have to be myself. On losing my privacy, I think I have gone beyond that. I think it is the singles that are more focused on that. I have never had an issue with that. I don’t like people noticing me. I go to the market and the sellers charge me more once they know it is me. I already have specific people I buy things from. What some people do not understand is that when one is a celebrity, it is a huge responsibility. One has to be on one’s best behaviour at all times.

Speaking on why she doesn't think she's a veteran, and the newer generation of actresses, Gloria Anozie-Young said:

GLORIA YOUNG: Some people think I am a veteran, but I am not. I met people like Joke Silva, Taiwo Ajai-Lycett and Olu Jacobs in the industry. If one calls that set of actors veterans, will I also be called that? Is it because of my age or because of how long I have spent in the industry? Those people have been there longer. I will actually say that I am in between. One of the things I ‘met’ in the industry was that they were very professional. They were focused on getting things right. For them, it was more about the passion for the job, rather than the money. Now, people focus more on money. I guess it is because of the state of the economy. We all have to eat. However, this is the time for certain things and everyone needs to step up to those things. We need all segments of Nollywood to be more professional and understand that it is not all about glamour, make-up, and looking beautiful.

Gloria Anozie-Young with other long time actors

So Gloria Anozie-Young doesn't think she's at the same level as Joke Silva or Olu Jacobs so isn't yet deserving of being called a veteran. Hmm. What do you think about this, and do you agree? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.