Humans logo

Why I Disappeared From Nollywood - Nonso Diobi

Nonso Diobi speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nollywood actor Nonso Diobi is one of the most recognizable faces in the Nigerian movie industry. Over the years, Nonso Diobi has starred in a number of blockbuster movies and has really established his name in the movie industry. But in recent times, Nonso Diobi seems to have disappeared from the Nigerian movie industry. During a new interview with Hip Tv, Nonso Diobi finally explains why he took some time away and disappeared from the movie scene. Here is what the star Nollywood actor had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about why he disappeared from the Nigerian movie scene, Nonso Diobi explained saying:

NONSO DIOBI: So basically I put it this way. I always take time off to acquire more knowledge, to become something else in entertainment, and also to keep giving my fans what they want. And basically that's why I've been off the scene for a while and I am coming back with a bang. Right now, I have two movies in the works and I will be making it known to the public pretty soon. At the moment, I can officially tell you that I am a filmmaker also, not just the regular Nonso Diobi movie star that you know. So I'm also into directing now. I'm producing my own movies, and very soon, the fans will really understand why I took some time off. Because entertainment is my life. This is how I started from day one and I have been going on and on consistently, and I will always want to become something else. I will always want to offer my fans, Nigerians, and everybody that loves me, I will always want to offer more. So that's why I've been off, but I'm back okay. And pretty soon, we will be announcing the cinema dates, the streaming dates, the premiere dates, and you guys should watch out. I will say that everything about Nonso Diobi has always been God's plan. I actually started from my church choir where I was a drummer and also a singer. But from the same church choir, we were able to start a drama group. So I don't know how it happened, but then I saw myself doing so good in acting, in church dramas, and what have you, and at that point, a pastor in my church told me "look, you're going to do great in the mainstream industry" and that is what changed my life. I started pushing on to acting, but a part of me still loves music. A part of me still wants to give my fans, one time or the other, an exceptional music. I don't know how soon that will be coming through, but watch out because I will still have to give you that piece of me in the near future.

Well, we all look forward to seeing what Nonso Diobi has in store for us now that he is back in the Nigerian movie industry. What do you think about what Nonso Diobi had to say, and are you excited to have him back? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.