Humans logo

WHY I DECIDED TO GET THE COVID-19 VACCINATION

IS IT RIGHT FOR ME?

By Meloney SalvatoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
COVID-19 VACCINE

When I first learned that a vaccine for COVID-19 had been developed I had mixed emotions about it like many people. In the past year my family and I have been fortunate enough to have escaped the virus but I know many close friends and family that have not been so fortunate and after seeing and hearing their stories I sure didn’t want to play Russian roulette with this virus or vaccine any longer than I had to. The decision to receive the vaccine or not weighed heavily on my mind still so I sat down and made a list of what I felt were important factors to help me make an informed decision one way or another.

KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THE VACCINE

MY EXPOSURE TO COVID-19

ANY HEALTH RELATED ISSUES

KNOWLEDGE ABOUT COVID-19 VACCINE

I did not know anything about this vaccine other than what I had heard. There were so many concerns about the vaccine; ranging from the side effects of receiving it, to the ingredients in the vaccine being made from the virus itself, to the government placing microchips in the vaccine as a means of tracking its citizens😕, and of course the biggest concerns being how quick the government came up with a vaccine. With all these concerns surrounding the vaccine how could anyone make the right decision? I didn’t want to make a decision based on the biased opinions of well meaning friends and family and I sure didn’t want to be swayed by the media frenzy that was feeding much of the public.

I decided to do my own research about the vaccine. I turned to trusted organizations such as the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), National Institutes for Medicine (NIH) and the World Health Organization(WHO) to name just a few. I learned the ingredients in the vaccine do not contain the virus itself and that the advancements in technology have made it easier for scientists to develop a vaccine so quickly.

EXPOSURE TO COVID-19

Like many Americans besides myself for the past year of this global pandemic I have been careful to limit where and when I am in public. I have practiced social distancing, been diligent in wearing a mask when out and use hand sanitizer throughout my day. My biggest exposure to COVID-19 comes from working outside the home. I work for the Department of Health and Human Services for the state of Texas. Due to the protocols in place for wearing masks and other appropriate PPE my job seemed a fairly safe environment. While I took every precaution available to maintain social distancing and etc at work, there were occasions that I had to be without a mask to perform certain job duties, as well as my coworkers. These occasions placed me at a higher risk, because while I was diligent about social distancing and personal hygiene, I didn’t know the daily habits of my coworkers especially outside of the workplace. I had to assume they weren’t as diligent as myself.

HEALTH RELATED ISSUES

I have asthma and other respiratory complications, I suffer with sleep apnea and I am also overweight. All of these are factors that place me at a higher risk of catching the virus compared to someone of the same age and gender with no health issues according to the studies I had read in my research. Maybe I need to quit putting my Fitbit watch on the dog’s tail when he goes outside, and hit the treadmill myself!!!!😏

I took one last factor into consideration before making my decision and that was the welfare of my husband if I didn’t receive the vaccine. My husband works from home and his greatest exposure to the virus would be through me. While I could ignore the risk associated with my own personal health, I was not willing to place him at an unfair disadvantage. We both have the opportunity to receive the vaccine, however, due to the nature of my work I qualify to receive it sooner than he does. With no clear idea when the vaccine would be available to my husband, I felt it would be selfish of me to knowingly jeopardize his health any more than I already was.

Having considered the above factors I was confident that receiving the vaccine was right for me and today I received the first of two doses of the vaccine. So far I show no side effects other than soreness at the injection site on my right upper arm. In three weeks I will return for the last dose and I will share with my readers, any changes, side effects and thoughts. Stay tuned!!!!

Have questions about the COVID-19 VACCINE? I have provided a link below to a University of Michigan health blog where you can read for yourself about the vaccine.

https://healthblog.uofmhealth.org/wellness-prevention/not-sure-about-covid-19-vaccine-get-facts-then-decide

STILL HAVE QUESTIONS read the following FACT SHEET about the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 Vaccine provided by the FDA

https://www.fda.gov/media/144414/download

science
1

About the Creator

Meloney Salvato

Discovering myself and 2021 is my year. I am going to write my year!

I am mom to the best three children any mother could hope for and they are my strength, joy, purpose and soul.

https://twitter.com/Lonelyauthor11

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.