Humans logo

Why I Converted After 40 Years, and How I Feel About It Now - Mercy Aigbe

Mercy opens up about big decision

By Jide OkonjoPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress, business woman, and influencer Mercy Aigbe surprised fans when she announced her marriage to current husband, Kazeem Adeoti, but then went on to further surprise fans when she revealed that she had also converted and was no longer Christian.

Now, during a new interview with The Nation, Mercy Aigbe opens up more about why she converted and how she feels about that decision today. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about why she converted and how she feels about that decision today, Mercy Aigbe said:

MERCY AIGBE: I just converted. The journey just started for me as a Muslim. I was a Christian for 40-something years of my life. I just became a Muslim some months back and the journey for me has just started. But the thing for me is that I have always been open-minded when it comes to religion and I believe that we all serve one God but the medium is different and that is why I have found it easy to actually blend because before now, I have always had Muslim friends, they invite me for events, Ramadan lecture and growing up, I have followed some of my friends to the Madrasa, where I learned the sura-al Fathia, so I have always been in tune with Islam so converting to it was easy because I have always been very open-minded.

Let me tell you something, when I married my husband and I saw the way he prays and his way of life, I got influenced. You know at times, when you get close to someone, you start to do things that they do without even knowing it. So, when he’s praying, unconsciously, I am listening to how he’s praying when I am talking, I started using his frequent words like Alhamdulillah, and Bismilahi, and at some point, I thought to myself maybe I would start to learn how to practice Islam and if it’s not difficult, I will convert and that was what I also told him and Alhamdulillahi, God almighty has made it easy for me, it has been easy for me, even when we decided to go for Hajj and I was hearing a lot of things, I just decided that I will go and serve and pray to God and God made it easy for me with the support of my husband and I believe going forward, God is still going to make it easy for me Insha Allah.

What do you think about what Mercy Aigbe said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

If you want to follow me on social media, I am also on Facebook and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ethan Runn8 months ago

    Hi Jide, my name is Ethan from Nigeria. I just read your story, and its really cool. Good job. Pls, I would like to ask you a few questions, kindly provide me with details on how to reach you. Thanks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.